The Smoking Gun(TM)

Quickly and effortlessly infuse foods and drinks with natural smoky flavors such as applewood or hickory without the extra heat. This tool adds a smoky flavor to foods before or after cooking. All the heat is contained in the anodized aluminum smoking chamber resulting in cool smoke at release. Gentle enough for use on delicate fruits and vegetables without changing texture or temperature. Compact and lightweight enough to be used with only one hand. 18" long flexible extender hose makes it easy to use with resealable bags and containers. Removable smoking chamber has a built-in filter. Can also be used to add flavor with teas or spices. Compact stand for convenient storage. Wood does not require any pre-soaking prior to smoking.
Average Customer Rating:
3.643 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
10 of 14(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for The Smoking Gun(TM)
Review 1 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChuckW
,Fairmont
,wv
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite toy.
March 11, 2013
the Smoking Gun is not only easy and fun to use, it actually works well, adding a subtle hint of cold smoke to any food or liquid.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 2 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alyawen
,NYC
December 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great gift for the budding mixologist
December 14, 2012
I purchased this as a gift for my husband. He uses it primarily for smoking ingredients used in cocktails. Works great and he loves it. He's also experimented using this on other edibles with positive results. It's easy to use--definitely recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 3 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
evjk
ME
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoke and mirrors
June 23, 2012
Use this gizmo for fun. Ex.: freshened the smoke of smoked seafood, presented on a mirrored tray under glass. Lifted the smoke filled glass dome for service. Now that's what I call fun (and just a little fabulous)!
Review 4 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dawnte243
Olathe, KS
June 8, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
2of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No! Save Your Money
June 8, 2011
Terrible. I actually returned it. Wouldn't smoke more than just a second or two, and made meat taste like an ashtray. Terrible!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 5 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefgal14
Minneapolis, MN
April 12, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoking Gun
April 12, 2011
This is a great product for those with experience in the kitchen. For $100.00 it is very well construsted and easy to use. The gun imparts a delicate smoke flavor to anything you can think of. We use garbage bags to cover the container of food and the gun to keep all the smoke in, it works great and keeps the smoke in the kitchen to a minimum.
Review 6 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexasMama
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the best gadgets from Williams-Sonoma!!
January 2, 2011
We have only had this gizmo for one week, but have already used it 5 times!! We used the hickory smoke on our Christmas Day turkey, and it tasted WONDERFUL! We have used it on sausage patties, ground beef for soft tacos... I can't wait to try it out on so much more!
Review 7 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jimboman
los altos
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I thought it was going to be Great !
January 1, 2011
I tried the product about 8 times. The first 4 or 5 times it worked as described, then next couple of times there was very little smoke coming out of the gun. The reason was the metal screen the chips sit on got plugged up so the air would not circulate through the chips and keep them smoking. I cleaned it out but still very little smoke. The other disappointment was they really need to supply a couple of containers one could place the item into be smoked, as it is difficult to get the gun fired up, point the hose correctly then cover the product. Too bad <> good idea but needs refinements !
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Dawnte243
Olathe, KS
Posted June 8, 2011
I wholeheartedly agree!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tigergal
Dallas, TX
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A fun addition to the kitchen
December 27, 2010
I received the Smoking Gun for Christmas and just tried it on cheese and veg. It works really well!
I'd recommend smoking your items in a covered dish and letting them absorb the flavor for (a minimum) 5 minutes or so.
As another reviewer pointed out, it does impart smoke from every opening. Use in a well-ventilated area. I also figured out a little chip goes a long way...The chamber doesn't need to be filled with very many chips at all.
Looking forward to using this more with seafood, cheeses, and veg. This makes smoking individual items much easier than having to set up the grill and go through all the work for small quantities. A fun addition to the kitchen!
Review 9 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mckeague
Kailua
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
7of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoking gun
December 24, 2010
I expected this to be new in box with tags. Received it opened withtout instructions. It appeared to have been used before as well. If I would have known that I was purchasing a used product, I would not have ordered it.
Review 10 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Patrickhrm
Naperville
September 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made some smok'in sashimi!
September 30, 2010
A great little specialty tool in the hands of a creative expert. My fiance made some amazing lightly smoked sashimi with a mango drizzle. Now we are having new fun in the kitchen!
Review 11 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Michael92122
La Jolla, CA
August 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
29of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Need Smokey Flavor...
August 29, 2010
I just purchased the Smoking Gun yesterday to make vegetable soup. My soup turned out well, but the Smoking Gun didn't do anything to impact the flavor.
Here is honest feedback: 1) You load the chamber with wood chips, light it and the smoke lasts for no more than 30 seconds 2) The smoke immensely emits from every opening and seam of the gun 3) Your kitchen must have a window where the smoke can blow away. The smoke detector in your home will go off if you do not vent a window while in use 4) Most recipes will require about 5 minutes of smoking to catch the smoky flavor. This device will not help because you will constantly have to load the chamber with wood chips, let alone dump the old ashes from the prior load.
Save your money. Williams Sonoma has great products, but not this one, especially at the price they are asking.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Dawnte243
Olathe, KS
Posted June 8, 2011
I absolutely agree! I returned mine!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Helenskitchen
Harwood, MD
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoke it and enjoy smokiness on cooked foods
August 18, 2010
As all tools the smoking gun has to be adapted to your style.. I have used it, for example, with grilled London Broil and boy was it excellent with a touch of smokiness. Yum!
Review 13 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexanChefWannabe
Texas
August 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
15of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Neat "Finishing" Tool
August 7, 2010
Works great! Neat little tool to finish off soups, beverages, salads, and fresh butters, cheeses, and veggies... This thing adds a punch of smoke without having to fire up your huge smoker. I could see endless applications. Smores smoked lightly with mesquite for authentic campfire taste; smoked olives, tomatoes, and cheese for a wine and cheese soirée, and delicately smoked collard greens with warm bacon drizzle. Excellent construction; super easy to use. If you love gadgets, get one. You'll have fun experimenting - I sure have!
Review 14 for The Smoking Gun(TM)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mrmrbill
San Francisco, CA
August 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-9points
13of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
smoky utility
August 3, 2010
an ingenious smoking utility, briefly light yet effervescent, with a taste that says "spring time"
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Guillermo
Posted January 5, 2011
Really?...
I'd be too embarrassed to own such a thing.
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)