Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin

Tom Perini of the Perini Ranch in Buffalo Gap, Texas, is justly proud of this spectacular tenderloin. Each cut is individually selected, hand trimmed and rubbed with a signature blend of freshly ground pepper and herbs. Then it's roasted to medium rare and mesquite-smoked using the traditional style of cooking that Texas settlers introduced in the 1800s. Delicious and versatile, it's ideal for entertaining whether sliced thin as an appetizer, piled on hearty salad, or presented as an impressive main course. Approx. 2 lb., 4 oz. (2 pieces). Serves 6-8 as a main course, 16-18 as an appetizer. Shipped frozen. Product of USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
24 of 29(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
Review 1 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lollieb
,Bowling Green
,ky
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed
December 27, 2013
Meat was really just fair. It was so peppery that I had to really wipe it off before i served. Also the tenderloin are very small. It would be ok to serve as appetizer, with other options, but nor as main dish.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining
Cons: Flavor, very small
Review 2 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WestCoastMom
,Whittier
,CA
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!!
December 27, 2012
I just had to try this for our Christmas celebration this year and I'm so glad I did. I served it as an appetizer by cutting it in chunks and serving it with a ginger sesame dipping sauce. It was out of this world good! Will become a permanent part of my Christmas menu as long as WS offers it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 3 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ckm90
,West Fargo
,ND
January 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OK ,but small
January 4, 2012
This meat was tender and flavorful. However, there is no way it would feed as many people as stated. When I wanted to order another one the item was unavailable, so we added another item to the holiday menu.
Pros: tender
Cons: pricey
Review 4 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RobinGSC
,Titusville
,Fl
Titusville, Florida
December 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent and tender
December 30, 2011
This may be the most tender beef I have ever eaten. I thought it was weird to serve beef at room temperature, but I followed the instructions and did so. This is really fantastic beef -- I highly recommend!
Pros: so easy to prepare -- just take out of the freezer
Review 5 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MiataGirl
,Philadelphia
,PA
December 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Convenient, but much too salty
December 30, 2011
I really disliked this product. The beef looks lovely and is very tender, and it certainly was convenient to thaw and serve, but the spice rub is unpleasantly gritty and very salty.
Cons: salty, gritty texture
Review 6 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mare0103
East Hampton, CT
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
February 3, 2011
All I can say is that I took a chance on this item and I now keep coming back for more. From having it as a Christmas appetizer served over greens and accompanied with Manchego cheese to enjoying it on a summer evening with friends....you simply cannot go wrong with this one. Served at room temperature brings out the burst of flavor in the seasonings and accentuates the tenderness of the beef. ENJOY!
Review 7 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobettaStone
Chicago, Illinois
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best beef tenderloin I never cooked!
January 4, 2011
This is the best beef tenderloin I have ever purchased! Just follow the directions & enjoy!
Review 8 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CaroleP
Scottsdale, AZ
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Melt in your mouth good
December 28, 2010
This was the hit of my Christmas buffet and, given everything else took hours to make, that's saying a lot. So tender, juicy, and delicious! Follow the directions exactly, just bring to room temp, and make the garlic horseradish sauce recipe that comes with it. My family was fighting over the leftovers the next day.
Review 9 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durga
Maryland
December 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Tenderloin
December 10, 2010
I have served this on Christmas Day and at a party for my husband's office on at least 6 occassions. It is always a big hit. My husband (who rarely eats beef) has requested we serve this again on Christmas Day. I always cook one other main dish in case someone doesn't want beef, but no one, to this day, has turned down a chance to eat this Tenderloin.
Review 10 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
susieq6103
Hunntington, WV
November 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Stress!
November 6, 2010
I have cooked fresh tenderloins myself a few times and spent almost as much $ as this only to be scared to death I'm going to overcook it. No worries here! I bought this last year and WOW...thaw it to room temp and it's perfect!! I'm buying another one today for this year's Holiday dinners.
Review 11 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mje15
Appleton, WI
January 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Christmas Staple
January 21, 2010
My family loves the Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin and always requests it for our Christmas Eve Buffet.
I have been very pleased with this product in the past- the beef is very tender and cooked to perfection. I placed 2 orders in December. The first package containing 2 small tenderloins was absolutely perfect as usual. The second package (order) contained one perfect tenderloin but the second one was heavily marbled with fat which meant cutting away quite a bit of of the meat. That was quite unusual and very disappointing. I will order it again next Christmas - hopefully we won't be disappointed. mje15
Review 12 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cjbneckman
Asotin WA
January 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy to serve but........
January 21, 2010
this item is easy to serve and makes a great presentation but.........it is mushy in the mouth and without texture. No one asked for seconds.
Review 13 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gfoodie
Philadelphia, PA
January 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow!
January 20, 2010
This is absolutely amazing! We served cold at Christmas with the recommended homemade horseradish cream sauce. I wish I could afford to eat this more often. It is to die for!!
Review 14 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seckzthing
Hillsborough, NJ
January 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Succulent, juicy, flavorful, soft meat
January 3, 2010
I liked this so much I ordered it again. My husband can't stop talking about this. And all you have to do is thaw it out and serve it at room temperature. It's firm enough to slice easily, yet melts like butter in your mouth. Try pairing it with an excellent cabernet sauvignon. You'll be impressed.
Review 15 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DenverTiger
Denver, Colorado
December 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best part of Christmas
December 14, 2009
I look forward to receiving this every year. My dad sent it to me 4 years ago and I raved about it so much he's been sending it ever since. I had no idea it cost so much but it's worth it for a party or as a great gift.
If you don't absolutely love this steak than you just don't like steak.
Review 16 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Seattle
December 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
December 14, 2009
This beef has become a holiday tradition for our family. The flavor is absolutely delicious. I love that I can slice it and serve it and enjoy the holiday with family instead of in the kitchen preparing food. It is truly special and always a hit .
Review 17 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mcdaniel
Massachusetts
October 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Fabulous!!!!
October 20, 2009
This beef tenderlion is fantastic. The meat melts in your mouth!! I have served this tenderlion for the last 3 years at our holiday party and our guests rave!!! What a treat this is!!!
Review 18 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boom
Philadelphia, PA
March 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peppered precooked meat
March 3, 2009
I bought this after reading the reviews on line. I was surprised at how not good it was. I was very disappointed particularly given the price. Too peppery, too rare and too much like cold cuts. It should be more of an appetizer than an entree. And I served it as was instructed. Very surprised! We decide not to serve it to our friends since we did not like it.
Review 19 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seward
St. George Utah
February 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pefect if you follow the instructions .
February 10, 2009
Great! It was a gift from our daughter. We will
order it sometime in the future.
Seward
Review 20 for Smoked Peppered Beef Tenderloin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nana1
duncan,ok
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
for holidays
February 5, 2009
the tenderloin was very tender and had a great flavor!!! would order it again!!
page1 2 next