Smoked Olive Oil

A Napa Valley couple creates this award-winning olive oil, using their own innovative process to infuse the extra-virgin oil with wood-smoked flavor without exposing it to light or heat. To enjoy its bold, distinctive taste, drizzle the oil over everything from steaks and chops to grilled vegetables and fresh crusty bread. An aromatic extra-virgin olive oil, infused with natural wood-smoke flavor. The exclusive, patent-pending process does not expose the oil to light or heat, thereby preserving the oil's freshness and shelf life. The extra-virgin oil is taken from the first pressing, which provides the purest olive flavor and aroma. Partners well with everything from meats and poultry to vegetables and fresh bread. 6.7 oz. Made in California's Napa Valley by The Smoked Olive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smoked Olive Oil
Review 1 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cynkee
July 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Make excuses to use it!
July 2, 2013
This oil is pricey, but worth every penny and every drop. Light, natural smoky flavor, great basted on meats and vegetables on the grill, wonderful to saute with, it will now become a permanent part of my pantry!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 2 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CherylF
,Muscatine
,IA
December 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved Smoked Olive Oil
December 18, 2012
We have used the olive oil several times since receiving it. Has a very good flavor and has complimented what it has been prepared with.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeslieMac
,Cherry Hill
,NJ
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best olive oil ever!
November 25, 2012
I encourage any home-chef to have this olive oil on hand. It is pricey, but well worth the flavor & versatility that it provides.
The smoky flavor of the oil (naturally added rather than a "fake" smoke flavoring) is both subtle and effective. I use it on roasted vegetables (potatoes especially), steamed green beans (with salt & pepper), in risotto, and in salad dressing or sauces (sub 1/4 of total oil for a pesto for example).
Also makes a great gift for any friends who are trying out the Paleo diet - which requires all natural flavor additives to food.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 4 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
May 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great all arounder
May 21, 2012
I find I have to ration my use of this since I can only get it while I'm in the US as it doesn't ship internationally. Otherwise, I'd use this on pretty much everything. But my favourite uses are: Stir-fry greens, roasted potatoes, risotto, roasted chicken and my surprising favourite - bolognese sauce when sautéing the shallots and beef.
Also, a little goes a long way in terms of flavour, so I sometimes mix it with regular virgin olive oil if I need a lot of oil for a dish. You seriously can't go wrong with this. A must have in any kitchen that loves a smokey flavour.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 5 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JRNelson
Texas
November 8, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my favorite oils
November 8, 2011
The smell is awesome!! I used on a steak and a sandwich. I really love that smoke flavor.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 6 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
foodfreaks
,Seattle
,WA
October 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than I imagined -
October 15, 2011
I tried this oil with trepidation, as I 'd tried another brand once that was very disappointing. The Sonoma smoked olive oil exceeded all expectations! The quality is exceptional and the smoky flavor is perfection on everything we've tried it on. Leave it to Williams-Sonoma!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
baltimorelady
,Baltimore
,MD
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! Olive oil at a new level
September 8, 2011
This stuff is incredible. I received it as a gift and went through it (too) quickly and have ordered more. Highly recommend paired with fresh basil and tomatoes. The smoky flavor adds so much depth to the dishes I have tried it in. Also highly recommend it in olive tapenade.
Enjoy!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boxster
Oregon
June 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product
June 30, 2011
I used this in place of regular olive oil to grill asparagus and green beans. It is a really rich and flavorful olive oil. Highly recommend.
Review 9 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookingman
oklahoma city, ok
May 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing on most anything
May 31, 2011
Although a little pricey to cook with, I can't help but grab it nearly every time I require Olive Oil. Absolutely fantastic! I will always have a bottle (or 2) of this on hand from now on.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CharmaineB
Santa Rosa, CA
May 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smokin' hot olive oil
May 28, 2011
I've been using this olive oil since it was first created. I give it as gifts and everyone absolutely loves it! Check out the "Smoked Olive" website for some fabulous recipes. I especially love the asparagus recipe and the Hummus recipe. Nummy!!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeslieMac23
Cherry Hill, NJ
April 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing flavor - add the perfect hint
April 19, 2011
I purchased this mainly b/c of the great reviews so I had to write my own rave of the olive oil.
The flavor is amazing and I have used it several different ways - lightly coating fingerling potatoes to roast in the over and also I added a tablespoon or so to a rosa sauce which was also perfect.
My only regret is that I didn't by more than 1!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 12 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
csgosset
Clovis, CA
April 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Olive Oil
April 14, 2011
The Smoked Olive Oil is by far the very best I have ever tasted! Great for simply dipping or, if you spare a bit and cook with this cherished oil you will be amazed!
This is now at the top of my list for gifts to share as well. I purchase an olive serving tray and place a bottle of this smoked oil inside - tie it up with a ribbon and my friends are treated with something very special.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 13 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Sausalito, CA
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Oil Ever!
December 26, 2010
This amazing oil is the cornerstone of our holiday gift baskets (and is a great go-to gift whenever it's appropriate to bring a bottle of something to a dinner party). I always enjoy watching our guests experience the first taste of this incredible product: their eyes widen, their mouths open slightly, and they give a little moan of surprised pleasure. I like to keep a few bottles around to give to friends and even to lay on the occasional chef at quality eateries I frequent. It's truly the best!
Review 14 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PMartin
Waukesha, WI
November 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic flavor
November 2, 2010
This olive oil has a fantastic smoky flavor, and I can see myself using this in just about anything. It's very reminiscent of bacon and would be a great way to add that smoky flavor in vegetarian cooking. I'll be ordering more soon, and WS, please stock the chile one, also!!!! Truly addictive product.
Review 15 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yuddi
Sonoma County, CA
November 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoked Olive Oil with Creamed Corn
November 1, 2010
I tried this dish at the Wayfare Inn, fabulous is an understatement. My brother is a terrific cook and I've turned him onto the Smoked Olive Oil products as well. Just readTyler Florence's new cookbook which has an article & recipe's. Last year for Christmas I gave gift packs to my friends.
This is a quality product worth every ounce!
Review 16 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandilla
Corte Madera, CA
September 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Go-To Finishing Oil
September 19, 2010
I have been using this product for about a year and am happy to be able to now find it online. I love using it as a finishing oil when I want that smokey flavor note. I don't always have bacon or andouille or chorizo sausage on hand and this solves the problem. A little drizzle of the smoked oil over a pot of pinto, black or white beans does the job. It's great poured over hearty soups, in Paella or Spanish Rice, as well as over chard, kale any any cooked greens and the smokey flavor without using smoked meat is appreciated by my vegetarian friends. We've even used in in German Potato Salad. It seems to be to be without cultural borders in the kitchen.
Review 17 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Confirmed
Santa Cruz
September 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Top shelf oil with distinctive smokiness
September 15, 2010
If I ever get around to one of my pet book ideas -- a cooking guide for the confirmed bachelor -- this oil will be included in the "tips and tricks" chapter. To surprise or impress a foodie date, you can't do much better than drizzling some smoked olive oil where lesser men would just drizzle any old lube . . . .
When all's said and done, one of the standout aspects of this product is the obvious high quality of the extra virgin olive oil they smoke. That's not to minimize the importance of the smoke flavor, though. People with refined taste will immediately know that this is not just the addition of some "liquid smoke" or other phony flavor to the EVOO. There is a subtle but very distinctive authenticity to the smoke flavor.
Unofficially, I give this six stars, but I may be biased based on the miracles it has wrought in my bachelor cooking.
Review 18 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brucecooks
Connecticut
September 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious oil. A must buy for every pantry
September 11, 2010
Drizzled on top of pizzas, this oil makes them taste like they were made in a wood oven.
Drizzled into hummus and other middle eastern dips give them a smokey flavor that is unbeatable.
Or just dip your bread into this as a snack with a glass of wine before dinner.
Turn your friends onto this oil, they'll thank you for it.
Review 19 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Merrimax
Petaluma, California
September 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Taste-Bud Explosion
September 10, 2010
"The first time I used Smoked Olive oil on broccoli I thought , "Wow - this is great!" I've always liked broccoli, but I REALLY like now! It's also wonderful on asparagus, scrambled eggs, artichokes and so many other dishes. I keep a bottle on my condiment turn-table so it's handy whenever I want it. Whoever dreamed this up had a fabulous idea. I predict this product is going to change the way a lot of chefs prepare food!"
Review 20 for Smoked Olive Oil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GeckoMama
Mill Valley
September 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm totally addicted!
September 10, 2010
I am so happy that Williams Sonoma in Corte Madera is carrying smoked olive oil! I used to buy it at our local farmers market... when it closed and I ran out, I drove all the way to Santa Rosa for my "fix". Out of this world on grilled corn, our home grown heirloom tomatoes, BBQ'd rack of lamb, and drizzled on our wood-fired pizzas! There's no turning back. I truly am addicted. This will be my Christmas gift to all my foodie friends this year.
page1 2 next