Sloppy Joe Starter

Our time-saving starter puts a fresh spin on the sloppy joe, a classic American sandwich that has been a family favorite since the 1930s. Simply heat the sauce with sauteed ground beef or turkey and serve on soft white buns.Our starter sauce combines vine-ripened tomatoes, savory veal demi-glace, extra-virgin olive oil, sweet red bell peppers, garlic and spices.Ingredients are slow-simmered for hours to achieve rich, complex flavors.1 lb. 8.5 oz.Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.078 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
39 of 51(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sloppy Joe Starter
Review 1 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoyalWSguest
,MN
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this sauce!
November 30, 2013
I'm a huge fan of this sloppy joe starter. I've made it a few times now and every time I do my friends and family beg for the recipe and then are delighted to know they can buy this and make the same thing!
For all of those that say this is too spicy I have to disagree. However, "spicy" is a relative term since we all have different levels of tolerance. I suffer from acid reflux and this didn't give me any problems so it's just up to each person!
Don't let the level of heat scare you off from trying this because if it's not too spicy for you you'd be missing out on a delicious recipe!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 2 for Sloppy Joe Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NORMALNONSPICYPastaGirl
September 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TOO SPICY, GAVE ME REFLUX!!!!!!!!!
September 12, 2013
Again, another disappointing sauce from WS, why make everything so darn SPICY?? It made my husband burp every 3 minutes, and it gave me reflux! I DON'T EVEN HAVE REFLUX!!!!!!!!
AGAIN, take it down a notch, PLEASE WS!!!! I won't be getting any more sauces from WS anytime soon-truly if I want spicy food I will get Vindaloo, not SLOPPY JOE!
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor, a gerd patient's nightmare!!!!!
Review 3 for Sloppy Joe Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FionasMom
,Dallas
,TX
Dallas
June 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What's not to like?
June 20, 2013
Some said "too spicy, too sweet, not spicy enough, home made's better, too expensive." OK, to each her own. I thought it was a great, fast meal for that questionable frozen hamburger everyone has in their freezer. (You know it's there.) I've used half a jar for a pound of meat, making it less pricey. Top it with some pickles and a toasty bun.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kajones
,San Diego
,CA
September 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Your favorite childhood meal just got better!
September 16, 2012
My kids are picky eaters, but they love sloppy joes. We've tried all of the grocery store varieties (Manwich, Lawry's, etc.) but they all pale in comparison to this Sloppy Joe Starter! There is so much flavor that you will never have leftovers again! It's quick and easy and FINALLY a meal that the whole family can enjoy.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annapolis7280
,Annapolis
,MD
September 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Weeknight Family Dinner
September 9, 2012
This starter is an easy way to make a quick and flavorful meal that everyone will love! I use ground turkey as a healthy alternative to ground chuck, and this mix of tomatoes and spices zests up turkey so perfectly that no one will even know the difference! Serve it like the classic sandwich we all love with a dollop of sour cream or some grated cheddar on top and you will be in love! I have even served it in tostitio scoops as appetizers on game day and it is difficult to keep up with the demand! Give it a try, you will not be disappointed! And do not forget to let it simmer, the more time it simmers, the less bite it has so if you find it too strong a flavor, let it simmer a little bit longer and enjoy the goodness!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tbreds1
,FL
March 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy and flavorful
March 27, 2012
As is or add a pinch or two of smoked paprika for an extra kick...top with pickles. I spead some garlic butter on the buns and toasted them on a skillet...yummy...great for a quick, easy and most importantly tastey quick meal.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Sloppy Joe Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Duppy
January 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not very flavorful
January 24, 2012
I believe the point of this sauce is to be natural, without corn syrup, etc., but I found it to be bland. The taste of cumin, I believe, was very prominent in the sauce, and not in a good way. I guess I must like the old-fashioned way of making sloppy joes -- we use a recipe from America's Test Kitchen which is way better than this. However, if you want convenience and want a more natural flavor, you would probably like this.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 8 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DebLeah
,Vacaville
,ca
December 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Saves the day!
December 29, 2011
Can't beat this flavorful sloppy joe starter. It make meal time fun and easy. Can't live without it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Sloppy Joe Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kkeith
,Las Vegas
,NV
October 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Soccer night dinners
October 27, 2011
Was great and so easy! Perfect for soccer nights when we get home late.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 10 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HenryP
August 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This was good!
August 21, 2011
Pretty simple - this starter was excellent. The taste was a perfect blend for a sloppy joe. Nice robust flavor with all the seasoning notes in harmony. It recommends 1-1/2 lbs. of beef but the amount easily handles 2 lbs. This will be a repeat purchase.
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 11 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Puck609
Machesney Park, IL
August 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
August 10, 2011
My fiancee and I tried this on a whim, and it has not been a disappointment. Just the right amount of flavor with a bit of heat. Works great following the directions or does really well with chicken and shredded pork!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 12 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sassykitchen
Jefferson City, MO
May 2, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not your average sloppy joe!
May 2, 2011
The Sloppy Joe Starter is not your average, it is definitely above the rest! The starter sauce has great flavor!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 13 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
elizp
Bloomington, Indiana
April 24, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
an alimentary lure for feeding preschoolers
April 24, 2011
Sloppy Joe remains the sole form in which my three-year-old will eat ground beef. Thank you, Williams-Sonoma!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Review 14 for Sloppy Joe Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BCenter
Sherman Oaks, CA
March 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for me...
March 19, 2011
Sorry, but this tasted like BBQ sauce instead of sloppy joe sauce. It has great ingredients in it however, the blend of vinegar, sugar, tomato, and worchestershire lend this to taste like BBQ sauce. If that is what you are after then this is great, but it's not for me. High priced for the amount you would actually use as well.
Review 15 for Sloppy Joe Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WindyCityFoodie
Chicago
March 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too sweet and overpriced
March 9, 2011
I recently purchased this product and used half of it with ground beef and half of it with ground turkey. The sauce was too sweet for me (for both batches; the protein used made no difference in the level of sweetness).
If I want to save time and make sloppy joes again, I will turn to plain ol' Manwich because I think it has much better flavor than this overpriced starter. Or, if I have more time, I will just make the starter myself because I can make a much more flavorful and balanced starter for a fraction of the price W-S charges for this.
Review 16 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
novicecookinohio
Columbus, Ohio
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
February 24, 2011
I used half the jar with a pound of ground turkey and tossed in some onions and I must say this sauce is fabulous. I am new to cooking so I need all the help I can get. I will be purchasing this item again and highly recommend it for anyone who wants to make a quick meal.
Review 17 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bobsmommy
Hollywood, FL
January 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!!!
January 17, 2011
Mixed it with ground beef and used over wide noodles. Delicious!
Review 18 for Sloppy Joe Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nananator
St. Louis
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the money
January 7, 2011
This sauce was too salty and my family didn't enjoy it.
Review 19 for Sloppy Joe Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AndreaJ34
Burlington, NC
September 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good But a little expensive
September 21, 2010
Delicious but expensive for the amout that it makes.
Review 20 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mixedandpleased
New York, NY
July 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must add in a hint of your own spice
July 25, 2010
We added a hint of garlic powder and cayenne pepper mixed it with turkey it was the best sloppy joe I have ever had.
page1 2 3 next