Sloppy Joe Starter

Our time-saving starter puts a fresh spin on the sloppy joe, a classic American sandwich that has been a family favorite since the 1930s. Simply heat the sauce with sauteed ground beef or turkey and serve on soft white buns.Our starter sauce combines vine-ripened tomatoes, savory veal demi-glace, extra-virgin olive oil, sweet red bell peppers, garlic and spices.Ingredients are slow-simmered for hours to achieve rich, complex flavors.1 lb. 8.5 oz.Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sloppy Joe Starter
Review 1 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOLDENGOOSE
,PITTSBURGH
,PA
June 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT ONE DISH MEAL
June 30, 2014
ADD 2 CANS RISNSED BLACK BEANS & ABOUT 3 CUPS FROZEN MIXED VEGETABLES (MICROWAVED & CHOPPED). A GREAT 1 DISH MEAL. IS SLIGHTLY SPICEY. CAN ADD SOME MARINARA SAUCE OR KETCHUP
EDG
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 2 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FLLBomber14
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
May 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Flavor!
May 21, 2014
I can't say enough good things about this sauce. If W-S ever opts not to carry it, I will be completely despondent. I thoroughly enjoy the ease of preparation and the flavor of this sloppy joe starter. It does have a *slight* kick, but I don't mind that at all.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoyalWSguest
,MN
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this sauce!
November 30, 2013
I'm a huge fan of this sloppy joe starter. I've made it a few times now and every time I do my friends and family beg for the recipe and then are delighted to know they can buy this and make the same thing!
For all of those that say this is too spicy I have to disagree. However, "spicy" is a relative term since we all have different levels of tolerance. I suffer from acid reflux and this didn't give me any problems so it's just up to each person!
Don't let the level of heat scare you off from trying this because if it's not too spicy for you you'd be missing out on a delicious recipe!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 4 for Sloppy Joe Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NORMALNONSPICYPastaGirl
September 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TOO SPICY, GAVE ME REFLUX!!!!!!!!!
September 12, 2013
Again, another disappointing sauce from WS, why make everything so darn SPICY?? It made my husband burp every 3 minutes, and it gave me reflux! I DON'T EVEN HAVE REFLUX!!!!!!!!
AGAIN, take it down a notch, PLEASE WS!!!! I won't be getting any more sauces from WS anytime soon-truly if I want spicy food I will get Vindaloo, not SLOPPY JOE!
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor, a gerd patient's nightmare!!!!!
Review 5 for Sloppy Joe Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FionasMom
,Dallas
,TX
Dallas
June 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What's not to like?
June 20, 2013
Some said "too spicy, too sweet, not spicy enough, home made's better, too expensive." OK, to each her own. I thought it was a great, fast meal for that questionable frozen hamburger everyone has in their freezer. (You know it's there.) I've used half a jar for a pound of meat, making it less pricey. Top it with some pickles and a toasty bun.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kajones
,San Diego
,CA
September 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Your favorite childhood meal just got better!
September 16, 2012
My kids are picky eaters, but they love sloppy joes. We've tried all of the grocery store varieties (Manwich, Lawry's, etc.) but they all pale in comparison to this Sloppy Joe Starter! There is so much flavor that you will never have leftovers again! It's quick and easy and FINALLY a meal that the whole family can enjoy.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annapolis7280
,Annapolis
,MD
September 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Weeknight Family Dinner
September 9, 2012
This starter is an easy way to make a quick and flavorful meal that everyone will love! I use ground turkey as a healthy alternative to ground chuck, and this mix of tomatoes and spices zests up turkey so perfectly that no one will even know the difference! Serve it like the classic sandwich we all love with a dollop of sour cream or some grated cheddar on top and you will be in love! I have even served it in tostitio scoops as appetizers on game day and it is difficult to keep up with the demand! Give it a try, you will not be disappointed! And do not forget to let it simmer, the more time it simmers, the less bite it has so if you find it too strong a flavor, let it simmer a little bit longer and enjoy the goodness!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 8 for Sloppy Joe Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tbreds1
,FL
March 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy and flavorful
March 27, 2012
As is or add a pinch or two of smoked paprika for an extra kick...top with pickles. I spead some garlic butter on the buns and toasted them on a skillet...yummy...great for a quick, easy and most importantly tastey quick meal.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Sloppy Joe Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Duppy
January 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not very flavorful
January 24, 2012
I believe the point of this sauce is to be natural, without corn syrup, etc., but I found it to be bland. The taste of cumin, I believe, was very prominent in the sauce, and not in a good way. I guess I must like the old-fashioned way of making sloppy joes -- we use a recipe from America's Test Kitchen which is way better than this. However, if you want convenience and want a more natural flavor, you would probably like this.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor