Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan

Spooky celebrations begin with bewitching baking pan, which makes a Halloween dessert in the shape of a grinning skull. There's no magic required-simply bake the two halves of the cake, then press them together with icing to create the perfect party centerpiece. Makes a 3-D cake in the shape of a skull-great for Halloween parties and haunted houses. Durable aluminum construction ensures sharp detail and uniform baking. A premium nonstick finish guarantees your cake will come out of the pan easily-and ensures quick cleanup. Made in USA by Nordic Ware, a family-owned company famous for fine bakeware since 1946. Recipe Included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan
Review 1 for Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GiGiGirlBK
,NY
September 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Black sugar!
September 29, 2014
Just to let everyone know that buy's this cake pan that "Wilton's" makes black sugar crystals. They are sold anywhere Wilton's cake pans and decorating tools are sold. Only problem by me is that the bottles are small and it will take like 10 to cover the entire cake. I'l' most likely mix the sugar with sprinkles. Enjoy baking!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 2 for Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BantamChef
,NC
Charlotte, NC
September 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pan for the Halloween Enthusiast
September 25, 2014
Pan preformed perfectly. I used a Red Velvet cake recipe with a little added espresso powder to boost the cocoa flavor. For the icing I added a mixture of red, blue, green food coloring to Julia Childs Chocolate Butter frosting she used on her Queen of Sheba Cake. For added effect I topped the icing with black sprinkles for texture. Fun and easy! Nice and spooky for Halloween!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
triedit
,tx
October 31, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Didn't work for me
October 31, 2013
I must not be as good a cook as the other reviewers. The two pieces kept sliding apart. It takes LOTS of toothpicks to hold this thing together. I am giving my pan away.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: hard to work with
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CaliforniaWines
Posted November 2, 2013
Don't give up
Use skewers~two to three in different angles, if the skewers are too long just cut them. You can also frost and put the two pieces together in the pan (to keep it level) and refrigerate to harden before continuing to frost the cake.
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovescookingtoys
,Harker Heights
,TX
Leavenworth, KS
October 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wicked fun pan for Halloween
October 27, 2013
This pan is definitely sturdy & super easy to use. I used a cookie pan underneath in the oven & made a chocolate pound cake for the batter. It came out beautifully. We couldn't get the frosting black enough, so I used black spray icing to finish it off. We also made our own gummy worms to put around it in "dirt" (smashed Oreo cookies without the filling). Next time we will try using fondant to ice it. Very different & fun!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Shape, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kjrb2
,Reston
,VA
October 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
PERFECT!!!
October 24, 2013
I bought this pan to make for my son's 27th birthday.
He is a tattoo artist by trade, so we decorated it as a candy skull (Day of the Dead style). He liked it so well, we ate the back for his birthday and he took the decorated front to the shop to share!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 6 for Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TyeTheShoe
,Denver
,co
October 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
HUGE Success
October 21, 2013
I have bought other molds from other places and rarely does the cake come out. I followed the directions, but used a off the shelf cake mix, and when it was done, let it set IN the pan for 15 minutes, then inverted. The cake came right out! I was so thrilled. It looks awesome though I'm still working with ways to decorate it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BaltimoreTeacher
,Baltimore
,MD
September 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Such ghoulish fun
September 30, 2013
While I thought the black glitter skull cake on display at the William Sonoma was cute, I knew I could do better and turn this into something grotesque and wonderful. I've only baked one cake in the pan so far (we used a box poundcake mix and it only filled the front half of the face) but we had such fun decorating it! We put regular white frosting from a tub in a saucepan and stirred until it was thin like a glaze and turned the skull white before dripping it with some red frosting and accenting it with black buttercream and, of course, creepy gummy worms. Can't wait to try out more looks! So much fun! Please don't let my poor photography skills scare you off... it looks better in person!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChezMJ
Boston
Posted October 14, 2013
SCARY!
Ooh, Baltimore Teacher! Good job. But...so scary I wouldn't make for small children!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marygoo
,SF Bay Area
,CA
September 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+19points
19of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Halloween fun
September 29, 2013
I did a trial run today in anticipation of Halloween by making a red velvet cake from scratch. My recipe is enough for a two 9-inch round cake layers and it was the perfect amount of batter for this skull pan. For the geeky-OCD types, my recipe made 1450 grams of cake batter and I divided the batter evenly among the face and the back of the head. I baked the cake at 325F for approximately 70 minutes. The "feet" on the pan did sit on my oven rack quite stably, but I set the skull pan on a half sheet pan just in case.
Since I have used many other platinum line pans made by Nordic Ware, I knew that all I needed to do is butter the mold to make sure the baked cake would come out. Sure enough the cake slipped right out easily & without any sticking. I think the releaseablity might vary depending on the cake batter, so I will most likely spray the pan with cake release if I make a different cake.
This is a solid, well-made pan and I look forward to using it for many Halloweens to come!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CaliforniaWines
,Bakersfield
,CA
September 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First time a Success!!
September 28, 2013
I made a test cake to be sure my Halloween party cake will be problem free... using a scratch carrot cake recipe, the batter amount was perfect. Baking took approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes at 325 degrees. Unmolding was easy using W~S Bake Klene EZ spray and flouring the pan well. It came out effortlessly and perfectly. I'm very pleased with the pan and can't wait to bake a red velvet cake in it with black sugar decoration! The hardest part for me is figuring out where to store the pan. I will also use it to freeze an ice decoration for my punch bowl! So it can be a multi~tasker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 10 for Nordic Ware(R) Halloween Skull Cake Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
September 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+36points
38of 40found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Skull Cake Pan
September 18, 2013
Baked a cake in it two days ago (cake mix (chocolate), not the one on the package insert), and unlike many of these 1/2 and 1/2 pans, the entire cake mix batter fit and there was no spilling. I used Pam non-stick spray vice the Baker's Secret that NW recommends, and both halves came out beautifully (no sticking). The only problem (if you can call it that) with the pan that I encountered were the 'foot rests' (i.e. the stabilizers on the bottom of the pan). The pan was perfectly stable on the counter, but when I placed it on the oven rack, they 'foot rests' were spaced too close, and I thought the pan was going to tip over...no big deal, I placed it on a cookie sheet (which I have never had to do with any other Nordic Ware pan) and baked as usual. Kudos to the WS store in Savannah; I was wondering how to get the black sugar to 'stick' to the skull and the amazing staff suggested making a simple syrup (1/2c water and 1/2c sugar) and it came out beautifully! Grazie Mille!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
jiuzzolino
Somerset, NJ
Posted October 25, 2013
Black sugar on skull cake
I was wondering with the simple syrup do you have to ice the cake first or just spread the simple sugar on it and then spread sugar?
0points
Customer avatar
Bakingmommy
Cleveland, OH
Posted October 9, 2013
So the picture was just sugar dyed black?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)