Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Simplex Rapid Boil Tea Kettle

A harmonious blend of Victorian design and 21st-century technology, this English kettle is handcrafted, featuring a coiled copper-wire base that harnesses the heat of gas flame to achieve peak performance. A whistle alerts you when the water has reached a boil. 2-qt. cap. Heirloom-quality tea kettles are handcrafted of copper, with a gleaming chrome or traditional copper finish. Solid-copper kettles are lined with tin; chrome-plated copper kettles are lined with nickel. Designed for use on gas burners only, both kettles have a coiled copper wire base to ensure rapid heating. Wide mouth makes the kettle easy to fill and pour. Made in England by Simplex, famous for fine tea kettles since 1903.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Simplex Rapid Boil Tea Kettle
Review 1 for Simplex Rapid Boil Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Newport
,RI
October 6, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Beautiful Kettle
October 6, 2015
I purchased this kettle 8 years ago when we renovated our kitchen. I wanted a stove top kettle (no counter space for electric) that looked nice since it would be on display. We have used this kettle pretty much every day for tea and french press coffee - no problems with leaks, loosening bolts, or scratches. Since it lives on my stove, it does tend to get caked with grease - periodically I scrub it with a baking soda paste and it comes off leaving the pot looking like new. The wooden handle really does stay cool enough to handle bare handed and I've had no issues with awkward pouring. This is truly an heirloom meant to last a lifetime and I believe it will - or until I get sick of it!
Review 2 for Simplex Rapid Boil Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Woodside
,CA
September 13, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect Tea Kettle!
September 13, 2015
I have had this tea kettle for about 30 years, and it is perfect! I have the chrome over copper, and it looks as beautiful today as when it was new, easy to clean. It boils water very quickly, pours easily, no problems! It is expensive, but it will last a lifetime, it is an excellent investment - don't hesitate buying one, plus it is beautiful!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality
Review 3 for Simplex Rapid Boil Tea Kettle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Kinnelon
,NJ
August 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Beautiful and Functional
August 26, 2015
We make tea several times a day. I was getting tired of my expensive kettles rusting after only a few months, so I splurged for this gorgeous tea kettle. The copper is high-maintenance, but it looks beautiful both freshly polished and with a patina. The kettle heats water quickly, and it doesn't rust, which thrills me.
The design could be better. The awkward angle of the spout makes pouring the water difficult. Also, the bolts that attach the handle loosen, and water will seep through when pouring, spilling onto the kettle and then the counter. While both these points annoy me, I do like the increased control of having an actual spout, unlike most of the kettles on the market.
Unfortunately, I recently made the mistake of attempting to descale the interior with a solution of vinegar and water, as I typically do with tea kettles, which destroyed the tin lining. So be very careful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Quality, Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 4 for Simplex Rapid Boil Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,pittsburgh
,pa
January 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Simplex tea kettle
January 4, 2015
I would highly recommend this tea kettle. I have had mine for 5 years and it heats the water quickly and it is beautiful. I have not had any problems with it. Everyone that comes into my kitchen remarks on how much they like the looks of it. This is also one of the reasons I bought it. Beauty and function in one!!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design
Review 5 for Simplex Rapid Boil Tea Kettle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
August 26, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
8of 15found this review helpful.
beautiful copper tea kettle BUT:)
August 26, 2014
This is a beautiful tea kettle. I chose it because it is manufactured in England. I have returned the first one shipped to me due to a ding on the top of it. Then the replacement that was sent had a ding in the area and small black specks on the top of the kettle. I have shipped it back and now I am waiting on the third to arrive. Hopefully, this one will not have any dings. I really want this tea kettle because of the copper exterior and the tin interior which will not rust. This seems to be a manufacturing issue in my opinion because both boxes that the kettle was shipped in was not damaged. Thus the reason why I am rating this product a 3 star.
Pros: Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Quality