This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack

Designed for maximum flexibility, this rack has tines and partitions that flip up to hold cups and plates then fold down to provide space for large items. A built-in bamboo knife block provides a safe place to dry cutlery, and an extendable plastic drip tray with pivoting spout directs water into the sink. Flexible design lets you arrange features to suit your needs: tines and partitions flip up to support cups and plates and fold down to accommodate larger items. Coated tines protect dishes and keep them from slipping. Fingerprint-proof coating minimizes smudges. Includes removable utensil basket with bamboo knife block. Durable ABS plastic draining tray has a pivoting drip spout to direct runoff into the sink. Available with white or grey accents.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
20 of 26(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
Review 1 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mrgoralsky
May 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Good, but some serious flaws
May 23, 2013
The size is great. It looks better than any other dish rack on the market ... it would be perfect...except that the way the water pools in the bottom tray it gets gunked up very quickly. To clean it you have to disassemble with a screwdriver then bust of some q-tips to get in all the little cracks and cervices. If this were easier to clean it would be perfect. For this reason I would not recommend it to others unless they don't might massive disassembly or gunk build up.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sharebeta
April 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Compact dish rack
April 23, 2013
I am satisfied with this purchase, I gave it 3 stars only because I was suprised with all the plastic that was used in this dish rack. It does say steel frame only. I guess I was comparing it to the previous Simple Human all steel dish rack that I had, and which I used for almost 6 years before it gave up on me.
Overall I like the compact design and it looks good on my kitchen counter.
Review 3 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kitchenlady05
,Monmouth County
,NJ
April 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Overall Poor Design; Too Pricey
April 20, 2013
I've had for over 2-yrs. Do like the layout, but it is very hard to clean; especially in white. Drains great. If each section came apart, probably would not be an issue, but it doesn't. I don't like to see stains especially along its edges.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 4 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TTFN
,Montana
February 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great steel frame dish rack
February 11, 2013
First purchased for student when setting up her first dorm four years ago, rack doubles as storage for dishes making transfer from dorm room cupboard to the "community kitchen" easier. I have, also, used my new rack to drain washed produce--maybe opt for the black dish rack due to appearance of stains. Wish Simplehuman would make ALL steel rack for dish / produce duality purpose, with additional steel rack /insert with small openings for "colander" use. Wish Simplehuman would offer option of retractable steel feet for easier storage; and increase clearance between overhanging cupboards and plates stacked in the dish rack. Sadly, this dish rack does not fit inside my sink basin, which might be an alternative to others who experience competition from low-hanging kitchen cupboards. Even so, I love this dish rack.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 5 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChuckieH
,West Orange
,NJ
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Nice but pricey dish rack
January 2, 2013
So far the dish rack is working well, is sturdy and drains the water into the sink.
My only complaint is that it sits a bit too high off of the counter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: sits too high off the counter
Review 6 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grannyjan
,ft lauderdale
,fl
December 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
the ultimate dish rack
December 26, 2012
I searched the internet for quite a while to find a stainless steel dish rack as a christmas gift for my daughter. She just got a new kitchen. your store is the only one that carried one. It is just beautiful and cleverly practical. we all love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 7 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Donbw
,San Diego
,CA
November 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Design is Poor
November 2, 2012
Metal rack in bottom rusted in less than six months use. Causes stains on bottom of rack. Very difficult to clean.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Review 8 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ConnieO
,Macungie
,PA
Summerville, SC
October 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This dish rack is strong and efficient
October 18, 2012
Very nice. Larger than I thought so messure the space you have. Drain turns either way so you can change directions. Love the knife space!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 9 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poppies
,Dripping Springs
,TX
October 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Dish Rack Ever
October 9, 2012
This is by far the best dish rack I've ever owned. Not only is it functional, but it also looks nice on my kitchen counter. I really like the way the water drains into the kitchen sink instead of onto the counter, too. My only complaint is that it only comes in white, and all my applicances are black so it would have been nice for continuity. I highly recommend this dish rack.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Cons: white only
Review 10 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
townclerk
,Inlet
,NY
October 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
best thing ever
October 6, 2012
I just love my dish rack. It really holds alot of dishes and the design of the drain board keeps my counter dry. It was like Christmas when it arrived.
thanks
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 11 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voldoll
,Saluda
,SC
September 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best dish rack
September 24, 2012
Bought this a couple of months ago and love it. Hand wash and drain dishes very often. Love simplehuman...best dish rack ever! The drain spout is adjustable and I really like the clearance under the drain because of the height.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 12 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VS0610
,San Jose
,ca
September 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Rusty dish rack
September 5, 2012
I received this for my wedding 2 years ago and loved it. Unfortunately, the metal pieces now have rust on them so I will have to throw it away.
Cons: Quality
Review 13 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kiawah22
,Helena
,AR
August 30, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
would buy it again
August 30, 2012
What can I say...other positive reviews are right. Glad i bought it and may get another for the office kitchen as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Review 14 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RML13
,Boston
August 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Not as advertised
August 21, 2012
I was really excited to get this dish rack because of all the great reviews. Unfortunately, it seems it no longer is the product that is shown and described here. There are NO FLEXIBLE PARTS at all- no movable tines that seemed to be the most useful aspect of this piece. It is still much nicer looking than other dish racks but it is simply not worth the money the way it is now. I had a friendly customer service rep call a store to see if they had one like what is shown but it seems that all they have is the new ones. I advise anyone thinking about buying this to realize that it is not at all what they describe here unfortunately.
Review 15 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cambro
,Fresno
,CA
August 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
JUST TOO BIG
August 15, 2012
Although I loved the product, it was just too big for our small counter, so I had to return it. The old one we have from Williams Sonoma is much smaller and perfect for our space.
Pros: Quality, Design
Cons: Size
Review 16 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SomeYhums
,Los Angeles
,CA
August 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Is It Wrong To Love a Dish Rack?
August 9, 2012
If everything in life were as smartly and thoughtfully designed as this dish rack, the world would be a better place. For now. let your kitchen be a better place. The knife block dryer is genius. So are the cup holders with the slide-out tray. Plus, the holders really hold my heavy Denby footed mugs securely. It's the Simple things that bring joy, and in this case, you can buy happiness.
Pros: Quality, Strength, Design
Review 17 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DebraK
,Bloomington
,IL
Bloomington, Il
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
not good for sink with lip
August 1, 2012
I had to send this product back because I have a porcelain sink with a lip and it does not drain at all because of the slant caused by the lip. Of course this completely defeats the purpose of this product. So if you do not have a sink flush with the countertop, do NOT buy this product.
Review 18 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
moozie
,sonora
,ca
sonora ca
July 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Steel Frame Dish Rack
July 23, 2012
Given as a wedding present and loved by bride. Said it was the nicest thing in her kitchen.
Review 19 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheLoo
,Juneau
,AK
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Dries Dishes So Quickly It Has Changed Me
June 26, 2012
The performance of this rack has far exceeded our expectations. So much so that I now have found myself doing the dishes by hand on occasions when I would have normally just put them in the dishwasher. The way this rack immediately drains any water drips into the sink and away from under the dishes and the way the rack allows for air to circulate around the dishes speeds the drying process to a level I didn’t think was possible in our humidity (I live in Juneau, AK which some say is technically a rainforest but whether it is or isn’t out humidity is very high.).
Please note that it can be a little complicated to put together but be patient and consider your time & frustration an investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, perfomance
Cons: Assembly
Review 20 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Frame Dish Rack
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cozie
,Crete
,IL
June 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Dish Rack System
June 14, 2012
This product is AWESOME!!!!
It does everything listed in the discription of the product and it's nice to look at. I don't know how I made it all these years without it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
page1 2 next