simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can

Made of fingerprint-proof brushed stainless steel, this can is equally useful for trash and recyclables. Designed to slip into a narrow space in your kitchen, it has a center-opening lid, allowing for maximum clearance under countertops. Slim design with butterfly lid fits in tight areas and under most standard-height kitchen counters. Space-saving split lid opens wide enough to admit a gallon-size milk container yet gives the can a total height of only 30 1/2" when fully open. 12-gallon capacity. Plastic liner removes for easy emptying and cleaning. Steel foot pedal allows neat, convenient no-hands opening. Lid closes automatically, slowly and quietly. The brushed-stainless-steel finish resists fingerprints and wipes clean easily. Use with simplehuman size-K liners or standard 13-gallon trash bags.
Average Customer Rating:
4.952 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
21 of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
Review 1 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skinnyhen
,Edmond
,Ok
Denver, CO
September 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Sturdy for Family Life
September 16, 2013
Who knew I'd ever write a review stating how much I love a trash can? I couldn't believe I spent so much when a simple plastic one is so cheap, but it's been worth the splurge. It opens easily, looks great, is easy to get the liner out for changing the bag, and can't be dumped over by pets and small children. The best part, in my opinion, is the hands-free part! No touching a swingy lid with egg shells in my hands or other yucky stuff! It cleans up easily on the outside, and the liner; however, it's a pain to clean inside the actual can itself with the liner out. I have three kids with lots of friends, so this gets a TON of use. Stuff sometimes falls into the bottom of the can, below the liner. That is NOT a fun project, but it doesn't happen a lot as the liner fits very snugly in the can.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 2 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best we've ever owned
July 30, 2013
We've owned ours for a year and a half now. Still works beautifully and looks brand new. Highly recommend!
Review 3 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LocalSF
,San Francisco
,CA
June 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Quality - Highly Recommended
June 18, 2013
I own two of these simplehuman trash cans. I placed them side-by-side in the kitchen between two built-in cabinets. I use one for trash and the other for recycling.
The 12 gallon size works out very well for two of us. I don't have to take the trash/recycling out more than once or sometimes twice a week. They fit nicely in my kitchen both in size and aesthetics. The foot petals are very handy and everything is very sturdy and easily cleaned!
I've had mine for four years and counting at this point. I just don't think about them anymore, which is the mark of great design.
Pros: attractive
Review 4 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SHANN0N
,Boston
,MA
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Trash Can... especially if you have dogs
December 17, 2012
Our labrador loves the trash unfortunately I don't love cleaning up the mess he leaves behind. I ordered this trash can a year ago because of the butterfly opening design. It's fantastic and proves to be dog proof. If needed you can easily lock in the open position which makes chaning the bag super easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design, Weight
Review 5 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeloErin
,Danbury
,Ct
CT
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Puggle Proof
August 13, 2012
Never thought I'd spend this much on a trash can. Worth every penny! We had such a problem with our puggles getting into the trash. We had to put heavy items on top of the can to keep them out. This solved the problem and looks great. No clips or snaps, just step and open. Their little noses and paws don't stand a chance! Store listed the can at $20 more so I purchased online with reserve shipping.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 6 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom2HDandDD
,Plano
,TX
Plano, TX
February 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for those with small, curious toddlers
February 3, 2012
I splurged & bought the Butterfly Trash Can when my 1st child was learning to walk. I'm so glad I did! It was the only trash can I found that couldn't be operated or manipulated by a toddler. It's sturdy & stable; has no removable "lid" on top that little ones can push or shove off; the butterfly doors on top are completely flush with the unit, so that little fingers can't wiggle in/around/between to pry up the doors. The design is great, sleek, looks good......and 7 years later, it still works fabulous!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 7 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MickATL
,Atlanta
,GA
December 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific addition to our kitchen
December 18, 2011
We have owned this garbage can for almost two years now and it has worked flawlessly. We don't have much room. Under the kitchen sink so p,acing a garbage out in the open presents it's own challenges. We have had several Rubbermaid style kitchen garbage cans in the past but there is a huge negative to seeing your garbage out in the open.
They way the lid opens,we were able to put this can between a microwave cart and the kitchen counters. It fit perfectly in the opening and is very attractive.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 8 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BassClarLady
Lake Orion, MI
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Trashcan I ever bought!
January 1, 2011
Like most of the other reviewers, I hesitated purchasing this trashcan because of the price. However, I will not go back to any other type for my kitchen. The slim design is great and it stands at the end of my counter. The feature that I like the most is that the lid does not bang against the counter whenever it is opened. That alone has saved wear and tear on not only the counter but the trashcan itself.
Review 9 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CDMinMV
Mission Viejo, Ca
April 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple Awesome
April 21, 2010
I purchased my simplehuman butterfly trash can in 2001 after I remodeled my kitchen. It has served me well for the past 9 years - it always opens with great ease and closes without slamming shut or pinching fingers. Recently it stopped closing if we opened the lid to full vertical. I contacted simplehuman with my problem and they sent me the part to repair it within a week. Now it is like new again. My neighbor comments on it often because she loves it simple lines, great functionality and elegance just not its price tag, but I think it is worth every dime I spent on it. It is awesome!
Review 10 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VRolens
illinois
April 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Trash Can!
April 9, 2010
We absolutely love our new trash can! It fits great in the tight space between our refrigerator and baker's rack. It's stylish and sleek. It opens so easily, with a touch of your toe -- which is especially nice if you are cooking and your hands are messy and you need to throw something away! The best part is -- it's heavy enough and it closes automatically so our nosy puppy can't get into it OR tip it over!
Review 11 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexasCustomer
February 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great trash can
February 18, 2010
This is the best trash can I've ever used. It was a splurge because it's so expensive, but it's been worth every penny. The slim profile helps it to fit in a small space. The hands free function is essential in the kitchen, and the sturdy plastic liner that comes out is wonderful. It looks great in the kitchen. I only wish they still made it in white.
Review 12 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
North Platte NE
November 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It is beautiful.
November 8, 2009
I had space in my previous kitchen to hide my trash receptacle, my current kitchen I do not have the space and I do not like clutter sitting out. I splurged on this trash receptacle and it looks perfect standing beside my stainless steel refrigerator/freezer. The lid opens easily.
Review 13 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moorh
San Francisco, CA
October 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Echoing Five Stars
October 14, 2009
If you, like me, have minimal storage space, this is an excellent trash can. It looks sleek and matches the stainless steel on my appliances and cabinets. It opens seamlessly and quietly. It's easy to unload and clean so odors aren't a problem. Highly recommended if you can stomach the cost.
Review 14 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oceanswimmer
New York
July 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dog Proof!!
July 22, 2009
We have a dog that we could not keep out of the garbage can. We tried different garbage cans and ended up having to place a 2nd bucket on top of the garbage can to keep the dog out (she was afraid the can would fall on her so it kept her out). She's like Houdini getting into places where food is kept -- she gets into bread doors that are closed, etc. Our old garbage can broke and out of desperation we ordered this can (based solely on the review which said it kept dogs out). Best purchase we ever made --- after a month our dog hasn't been able to crack into the garbage can yet! Worth every penny!
Review 15 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IDTricia
Boise, ID
March 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great trash can
March 12, 2009
This is worth the price. Regular size trash bags work well and it's easy to empty because of the built in plastic liner. It looks very nice out in the open because of the brushed stainless exterior. We call this our "Cadillac" trash can.
Review 16 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
March 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Trash can
March 11, 2009
This is a great trash can, but what do you expect for almost $200? I would recommend it to anyone, as long as it fits your budget.
Review 17 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nell
October 29, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Product
October 29, 2008
This is a "must-have" for every kitchen. I put this purchase off several times because of the expense; now that I have it I don't know what I did without it. The lid works so smoothly, it's attractive and the kids don't even mind taking out the trash!
Review 18 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Columbia MD
September 27, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dream trash can
September 27, 2008
I've had this can for 5 years and it has been a delight. It is attractive, easy to use with it's foot pedal, dog-proof and I can use regular trash bags in it.
Review 19 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TVermill
St. Louis, MO
September 19, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT!!!
September 19, 2008
We bought this with money we received from our wedding and consider it one of our favorite wedding gifts! It glides open and closes slowly, so nothing gets caught in it. It's quiet, compact (we have the matching recylcler next to it) and keeps most odors at bay. HIGHLY recommend!
Review 20 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goldbug
Palm Desert, CA
September 8, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needed a trash can
September 8, 2008
Excellent product. I had purchased less expensive trash cans over the years but the quality did not last. The lids stopped opening properly and were noisy when opening and closing. The product arrived with a dent in the box and I later discovered a dent in the trash can but I decided "how important is it?" It's a trash can!
page1 2 next