simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can

Made of fingerprint-proof brushed stainless steel, this can is equally useful for trash and recyclables. Designed to slip into a narrow space in your kitchen, it has a center-opening lid, allowing for maximum clearance under countertops. Slim design with butterfly lid fits in tight areas and under most standard-height kitchen counters. Space-saving split lid opens wide enough to admit a gallon-size milk container yet gives the can a total height of only 30 1/2" when fully open. 12-gallon capacity. Plastic liner removes for easy emptying and cleaning. Steel foot pedal allows neat, convenient no-hands opening. Lid closes automatically, slowly and quietly. The brushed-stainless-steel finish resists fingerprints and wipes clean easily. Use with simplehuman size-K liners or standard 13-gallon trash bags.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
Review 1 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JanisM
,Fernandina Beach
,FL
August 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very pleased!
August 15, 2014
The trash can is perfect for my needs. Neat, takes up very little space and is very easy to use. I would highly recommend this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 2 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skinnyhen
,Edmond
,Ok
Denver, CO
September 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Sturdy for Family Life
September 16, 2013
Who knew I'd ever write a review stating how much I love a trash can? I couldn't believe I spent so much when a simple plastic one is so cheap, but it's been worth the splurge. It opens easily, looks great, is easy to get the liner out for changing the bag, and can't be dumped over by pets and small children. The best part, in my opinion, is the hands-free part! No touching a swingy lid with egg shells in my hands or other yucky stuff! It cleans up easily on the outside, and the liner; however, it's a pain to clean inside the actual can itself with the liner out. I have three kids with lots of friends, so this gets a TON of use. Stuff sometimes falls into the bottom of the can, below the liner. That is NOT a fun project, but it doesn't happen a lot as the liner fits very snugly in the can.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 3 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best we've ever owned
July 30, 2013
We've owned ours for a year and a half now. Still works beautifully and looks brand new. Highly recommend!
Review 4 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LocalSF
,San Francisco
,CA
June 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Quality - Highly Recommended
June 18, 2013
I own two of these simplehuman trash cans. I placed them side-by-side in the kitchen between two built-in cabinets. I use one for trash and the other for recycling.
The 12 gallon size works out very well for two of us. I don't have to take the trash/recycling out more than once or sometimes twice a week. They fit nicely in my kitchen both in size and aesthetics. The foot petals are very handy and everything is very sturdy and easily cleaned!
I've had mine for four years and counting at this point. I just don't think about them anymore, which is the mark of great design.
Pros: attractive
Review 5 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SHANN0N
,Boston
,MA
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Trash Can... especially if you have dogs
December 17, 2012
Our labrador loves the trash unfortunately I don't love cleaning up the mess he leaves behind. I ordered this trash can a year ago because of the butterfly opening design. It's fantastic and proves to be dog proof. If needed you can easily lock in the open position which makes chaning the bag super easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design, Weight
Review 6 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeloErin
,Danbury
,Ct
CT
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Puggle Proof
August 13, 2012
Never thought I'd spend this much on a trash can. Worth every penny! We had such a problem with our puggles getting into the trash. We had to put heavy items on top of the can to keep them out. This solved the problem and looks great. No clips or snaps, just step and open. Their little noses and paws don't stand a chance! Store listed the can at $20 more so I purchased online with reserve shipping.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 7 for simplehuman(TM) Stainless-Steel Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom2HDandDD
,Plano
,TX
Plano, TX
February 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for those with small, curious toddlers
February 3, 2012
I splurged & bought the Butterfly Trash Can when my 1st child was learning to walk. I'm so glad I did! It was the only trash can I found that couldn't be operated or manipulated by a toddler. It's sturdy & stable; has no removable "lid" on top that little ones can push or shove off; the butterfly doors on top are completely flush with the unit, so that little fingers can't wiggle in/around/between to pry up the doors. The design is great, sleek, looks good......and 7 years later, it still works fabulous!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight