simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can

All of the award-winning features of simplehuman receptacles come together in this striking contemporary design, crafted of high-quality fingerprint-proof brushed stainless steel with a removable polypropylene liner.High-grade brushed-stainless-steel exterior is treated with a fingerprint-proof coating.Reinforced foot pedal is fitted on a solid-steel bar that wraps around the front of the can for increased accessibility.10-gallon capacity.Patented air-suspension lid closes quietly.Eco-friendly carbon filter neutralizes odors and is removable for cleaning.Internal hinges allow the can to sit flush against a wall.Bucket-park feature lets you change bags without completely removing the polypropylene liner bucket.Use with simplehuman size-N liners or standard 13-gallon tall kitchen bags.
Average Customer Rating:
4.707 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
39 of 41(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
Review 1 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JustDoIt
November 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Trash can
November 19, 2013
Great trash can. I was hesitant to spend so much for a trash can, but it has been worth the money.
Review 2 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
padie
,Winchester
,KY
October 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great trash can!
October 20, 2013
So much nicer than other trash cans I have had. I had to wait quite awhile to get it, but I am so glad I waited.......best trash can ever, and I've had many through the years. It holds so much more than what I had originally thought, so that is a plus. Getting the garbage out of this can was a breeze. The bucket feature is nice. The button to make the lid stay open is hard to work, but hopefully over time it will loosen....or maybe I will use some WD 40 on it! Great can!
Review 3 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JEM45
,Lakeland
,Fl
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best trash can ever!
July 26, 2013
I have owned this trash can for a year and I absolutely love it! Easy to use and I love the way it looks. The lid lays flush with the can so my chocolate lab cannot lift the lid with his nose and go rummaging through the trash. Don't hesitate about buying this trash can. It's wonderful! You won't be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
slw23
,nv
July 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great trash can!
July 25, 2013
This is a great trash can. Love the looks, the easy steel bar step, and the quiet closing lid. Perfect size for the kitchen and keeps the odors in. A bit pricey, but glad we made the purchase.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 5 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mitzy
,Spokane
,WA
Spokane, WA
June 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!!
June 29, 2013
Wish I had ordered this a long time ago. I love this trash can! The lid is incredible; does not have a sensor, lid just closes slowly--GREAT feature. No special bag size, looks great in the kitchen, the lid can be propped open and the insert sits on a ledge for ease of getting bags in and out. Also has a filter on the lid which keeps odors to a minimum! For all you get, was a great value. LOVE IT!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 6 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chrross68
,Westford
,MA
May 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Functioning Trash Can
May 28, 2013
Love the looks of the trash can and the lid functionality is smooth and quiet. Very well built. The only fault I find with it is that it does not give you the option of being able to open it with your hands. You always have to depress the foot lever in order to open it (Unless it is overflowing and the lid didn't shut all the way. haha). That is the only reason I am not giving it 5 stars. It is something I am trying to get used to.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Design
Review 7 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momtofour
,Basehor
,KS
April 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Trash Can Ever!
April 3, 2013
I have owned this for 2 years and love it so much! We have a small kitchen & it doesn't take up much space & looks nice. I have a 2 and a half year old and he still can't open it. If you put something inside that smells, you can't smell it when the top is down. There is also a way to keep the lid open. I use regular 13 gal trash bags. To clean I just use stainlees steel wipes for the outside & have never needed to do anything more than wipe with a paper towel on the inside. My only problem is that I am now searching for a charcoal filter to replace the one that came with it, which WS does not sell or know where to buy. It does have two small dents on the foot pedal from something being dropped on it, so it can be dented. Also, don't set things that can scratch on the top of the lid as it will get scratched. Even with these very small problems I would buy it again even though it is is a little expensive.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 8 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mcos
,Berkeley
,Ca
Bay Area, California
July 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it ! ! ! ! !
July 16, 2012
Needed a nice looking, non-smelling trash can for small apartment. I love it. Works like a dream. Looks lovely. I get many compliments on it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 9 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bella113
Charleston SC
April 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Purchase
April 27, 2011
Functional and well built, works great in our space and takes so much more that emptying trash is much less a chore.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 10 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrillyFilly
Newton, Kansas
February 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely wonderful!
February 11, 2011
I purchased this "simplehuman™ Steel Bar ™ Step Can 10gal, Stainless Steel" about 3 years ago. Had never spent this much on a trash can before, so I was quite careful in my selection.
It is heavy enough that it doesn't slide around when the bar is stepped on, contains ALL odors so that even though it must be located in my small apartment just 5 feet from my kitchen table, no one smells a thing. Drawstring trash bags from the grocery fit perfectly.
I could not be happier with my purchase!
Review 11 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fortbeckfarms
Eagle,ID
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classy Trash Can
January 3, 2011
I know you're questioning the word "classy" for a trash can but this step can is truly an addition to the stainless appliances in your kitchen.
~ simplehuman products are a cut above & this item repels smudges & hand prints. If it seems expensive, think of it as an investment in furnishings!
Review 12 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melinda0412
Dundalk, Maryland
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Trash Can
December 31, 2010
The trash can fits perfectly in our kitchen. We have gotten so many comments on it over the holidays. We did have another stainless steel trash can (round), but was smaller and not near as nice . The bags that comes with it are much better than your normal trash bags like GLAD. We are very pleased with the can and thinks it is worth every penny we paid for it.
Review 13 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GeorgeandBuddy
La Jolla, California
October 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great trash can for anyone
October 10, 2010
My beagle was opening the cabinet and getting into the trash. It was driving us nuts and ruining the finish on my kitchen cabinet door. I love this trash can it solved the problem of having garbage all over the floor and house. The mechanics work great and it looks great in the kitchen. This trash can lid doesn't slam and has a charcoal filter for odors. I would recommend this product to anyone with a dog or looking for a great looking and working trash can. Buy this trash can it's worth every penny.
Review 14 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flattop1
Austin,TX
September 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Garbage Can for Life
September 24, 2010
I had been on the Simplehuman web site debating on which can to purchase. Not knowing that WS carried SH I went into WS to purchase dish towels and dish rags and I saw both of the cans I had been going back and forth on. I ask for some assistance and I tried each of them knowing that this was the one for my heavy foot. I purchased it on the spot and have never been happier. I love SH products and WS. They are the best. I am so proud of my new garbage can that whenever we have guest over they seem to always comment on what a nice garbage can we have.
Review 15 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
InvisibleMommy
Oklahoma
September 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not throwing your money away!
September 17, 2010
Members of my family thought I was a little crazy spending this much on a trash can, even saying I was throwing my money away. I admit, I was a little nervous, but was tired of my cheap smelly can. Let's face it trash is an unpleasant part of life. I've made it a lot less unpleasant buy buying a durable trash can that keeps the smell out of the rest of my kitchen. Cheaper metal trash cans just felt flimsy when you step on the pedal. This one opens with authority. I am certain this is the last trash can I will ever buy and I my kids are fighting over who will inherit it. Oh, and I've had it for over a year now and not a day has passed that I have not said "I love this trash can, best money I've ever thrown away."
Review 16 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BLHD
New Jersey
September 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Trash Can Ever
September 4, 2010
This trash can is not only convenient (access bar extends around three sides of the trash can), it is sturdy and expensive looking and I have received many compliments on its appearance. Although pricier than other trash cans, it was worth every penny.
Review 17 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mombazo
Boston, MA
August 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth every penny: DOGPROOF
August 21, 2010
This can has stymied our trash-hound (a 60 lb. black lab). Previously, we had a lighter weight SimpleHuman can without the charcoal filter. She destroyed two of those by tipping them over and denting them and breaking the plastic top and hinge. We are now three weeks into this one--- and nothing. She is baffled by it. Doesn't even sniff near it. Doesn't know what it is. It is too heavy for her to move. This is the BEST garbage can ever. I can't believe it, but a trash can has improved our quality of life. Thank you garbage can designer, whoever you are! BONUS: This shipped in two enormous nested boxes which our preschool and toddler age kids have made into playhouses. Everybody's happy!
Review 18 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moogi
CT
June 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dog-proof trash can
June 29, 2010
After years of labradoodle trash raiding, this is the one that stymies him - and the enticing smells are masked by the charcoal filter. Easy to use and dog-proof at last.
Review 19 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiannaB
Virginia
May 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Is it wrong to love a trash can?
May 12, 2010
Haven't had this that long - maybe a week, but it's already paid for itself. It has defeated my 13mo old. He enjoys tossing anything he can get his little fingers on and I was having to lift the wastebasket to the counter - which is a hassle and really just gross. He can't get into this and has really expressed his disappointment (banging on it with his hammer - which it has stood up to with nary a scratch. I use regular trash bags (mostly because we had a huge stock from Costco) and they work like a charm. Would definately recommend to anyone w/ a child or dog and who wants a wastebasket that looks stylish (it matches the appliances wonderfully.) would not bother buying the simple human bags - there is no need.
Review 20 for simplehuman(TM) Steel Bar(TM) Step Trash Can
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momma2
SANTA MARIRA ,CA
April 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
MY GUCCI TRASH CAN
April 11, 2010
LOVE THIS TRASH CAN.I CALL IT MY GUCCI GARBAGE CAN BECAUSE OF THE PRICE OF COURSE.MY BOXER DOG IS UNABLE TO GET IN THIS TRASH CAN.FINALLY A BEAUTIFUL LOOKING TRASH CAN ALSO PET FREE ALL WRAPPED UP IN ONE.BUY IT YOU WILL LOVE IT.
page1 2 3 next