simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler

Made of fingerprint-proof brushed stainless steel, this sleek recycler has two removable plastic bins for separating recyclables. Designed to fit in small spaces or under a kitchen island or countertop, it has a space-saving split lid that opens wide enough to admit a gallon-size milk container, yet gives the can a total height of only 30 1/2" when open.Slim design with butterfly lid fits in tight areas and under most standard-height kitchen counters.Two pull-out plastic liners allow for sorting and separating recyclables.10-gallon capacity.Steel foot pedal for neat, convenient, no-hands opening.Lid closes automatically, slowly and quietly.The brushed-stainless-steel finish hides fingerprints and wipes clean easily.Use with simplehuman size-D liners or standard 8- to 10-gallon trash bags.
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
Review 1 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lightfoot
,kilauea
,HI
July 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
well made and compact
July 10, 2013
I find this is much too small for trash and recycling.I have more to recycle...so I turned it into a plastic/glass recycling combo unit..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 2 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pamky
,Hebron
,KY
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recycling dream
March 26, 2013
The can fits in tight spaces - be sure to measure if you have a specific place in mind. Ours fits seamlessly between our cabinets and a buffet in the kitchen. It looks built-in and matches our stainless steel appliances. No noise upon opening or closing. Easy to separate types of recycling materials if that's an issue. If not, order the one without two inserts. The can could fit at the end of an island or countertop easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 3 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PJBran
,Port Saint Lucie
,Fl
February 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great looking trash/recycler
February 18, 2012
This product is attractive and is much bigger than I thought it would be. I love that it closes automatically and silently without banging.
Pros: Size, Design, Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
picassosfist
,New York
,NY
January 24, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Design, Great Quality
January 24, 2012
As with all Simplehuman products I've bought, I'm exceptionally happy with this purchase. It's sleek and basically as attractive a trash can as you can expect to have.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 5 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CookinCreole
Tracy CA
January 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good value-well made
January 22, 2012
I have looked at this garbage bin for sometime and to be honest felt the price seemed high...but after throwing out two $40.00 bins from a discount store decided it was time to invest in something better & the 10 year warranty was enough for me. The slim design & styling are wonderful. Operationally it is great, keeps an active one year old out & no finger prints...you have to love that. My only negative is I wish the garbage bin side was a bit larger...but I do like having a single bin that houses both the garbage & recycle items. I considered ordering the garbage only bin, but we recycle everything so I felt this was a better fit. The only trouble I have with the can is that from time to time the inner bins seem to take a little jiggling to get into place. A bit of an annoyance but I would buy this brand again. They are very well made. Wish I could give 1/2 stars, because 4.5 star rating is what I think it deserves.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, lid can be locked open when needed, easy hands free operation
Cons: trash bin should be larger for most families, bins sometimes need to be jiggled into place
Review 6 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JJourn
,Aurora
,IL
November 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best spent money ever
November 7, 2011
We used to have two separate trash cans for recycling & trash and the lids would come off the track constantly. I invested in this trash&recyling in one unit. It is absolutely worth the money. I love the slow closing lid, and the compact size of it - and it still fits all of our trash & recycling. The stainless steel does not get fingerprints ever so no cleaning required like our other stainless steel appliances. It's amazing & well worth the money. It looks nice in our place and works wonderfully.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 7 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amyps
woodstock, MD
August 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great dual can
August 23, 2011
Love the trash/recycle can! It is so nice to have one spot to do it all. It is very sturdy, easy to clean and looks great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 8 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KaraShoe
Venice, CA
March 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect trashcan!
March 3, 2011
We desperately needed a new trash/recycled system after our puppy learned how to knock our old trash cans over - what a mess! The simplehuman Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler is perfect! We generally have more recycling than trash and the large and long bin sizes makes it convenient for bottles, boxes, and paper (our recycling is comingled). Plus, it looks great! Very sharp and modern.
Review 9 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eyeronee
Berlin, MA
October 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for organizing the trash/recycling
October 25, 2010
Love this item! We've been using it for a month and are very pleased. The metal does resist fingerprinting & a simple wipe with cleaning solution cleans everything off easily.
The size works well and no more bulky recycling bin next to the trash container. The all in one trash & recycling buckets keep everything neat and tidy looking. Yes, smaller containers mean you'll need to empty more often, but that cuts down on order issues too.
Occasionally have to jiggle the containers around when putting them back in in order to get the fit correct so the doors close, but really not a big deal. Also love the feature that locks the doors open to help with emptying.
This product is a very good value & I would buy it again.
Review 10 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mtmiddleton
brooklyn, ny
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
attractive, efficient design
October 12, 2010
love this trash/recycle bin! my husband and i were looking for an all-in-one bin for our small kitchen and this is it! both bins hold more than would be expected. it is fingerprint-proof, but with the step can, you never have to touch the lid at all. the simplehuman bin liners are great, but regular trash bags can also be used. i would highly recommend this product!
Review 11 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lee11
Baltimore, MD
July 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
July 27, 2009
Exactly what is needed for combine both kinds of waste in one place. It has been VERY difficlut to remove the sticker; they should have used disolving glue!
Review 12 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DHcomp5
Westminster, CA.
July 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have for the enviromentally conscience.
July 3, 2009
Clever design by "Simple Human", Dual compartments, one for garbage, one for recycleables. Beautiful brushed stainless steel, all metal foot pedal, durable, very happy with this. Don't forget to order extra plastic liners.
Review 13 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stagelyric
Las Vegas, NV
May 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recycle
May 7, 2009
I really hate having those cans and things linger around on the counters and everyone is too lazy to take them out to the garage. This unit has solved the problem. It is easy to use. . they don't have to touch it. . it closes quietly and fits great under the extension of my island countertop. Do they have one for socks?
Review 14 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
penny1
San Antonio, TX 78230
April 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So convenient
April 27, 2009
It is the handiest thing in my kitchen. However, I do wish that I didn't have to order the desposible bags to go in it.
Review 15 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RMKahn
Santa Cruz, CA
November 5, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Simple and So Great!
November 5, 2008
Before this wonderful item, we had a stainless trashcan that should every fingerprint and spill as well as a separate paper sack for recycling in our kitchen. It was not an appealing sight but we did not have space to hide anything under the sink.
Then we found the Fingerprint Proof Butterfly Recycler and it solved our problem. Inside are two separate plastic cans to hold either 2 areas for recycling, or what we did; one for recycling and one for garbage.
It takes up less space than our bag and can of before and it looks nice, streamlined and far less cluttered.
I highly recommend this item.
Review 16 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MiaZia
Smithtown, NY
October 7, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Purchase!
October 7, 2008
For those who are big about recycling like myself, this is a must have!
Easy, convenient and looks great!
Review 17 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
long beach, ca
September 26, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
stainless recycler
September 26, 2008
I found this product outstanding in everyway. It sure beats the paper bags I have been using. It matches other appliances in my kitchen and does not show alot of fingerprints. The footpedal makes it easy to add things.
Review 18 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SueEllen
Alexandria, VA
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
works like a charm
September 4, 2008
"Simplehuman Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Recycler-10 Gal." We recently downsized and in our new galley kitchen, we were in need of a sleek, yet attractive way to deal with recycling. We searched high and low for a recycler and settled on the "Simplehuman Fingerproof Butterfly Recycler-10 Gallon" and have been more than pleased with it. It is sturdy, the foot pedal works great, and it is easy to empty and replace the recycle bins. It is narrow- so it takes up little space and looks great - no finger prints. We couldn't be happier with our purchase.
Review 19 for simplehuman(TM) Fingerprint-Proof Butterfly Trash/Recycler
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeniseTheRealtor
San Jose, CA
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT!
September 3, 2008
Who knew I could love a trash can?! It's sexy... nice and narrow, fits next to my cupboard by the kitchen door. The stainless finish & design looks great. Doesn't smell, easy to empty & clean. I have no complaints. Oh, and everytime a friend uses it, they comment on how nice it is. It better be; it was WAY expensive for a TRASH CAN!