Bouchon Mold

This silicone mold turns out a dozen delectable chocolate cakes called bouchons (French for "corks"). Serve them with a dusting of confectioners' sugar or drizzle them with chocolate sauce or creme anglaise.Made of flexible silicone - the first choice of many pastry chefs - the mold heats evenly and cools quickly.Heat-resistant to 500deg.F.Naturally nonstick, the silicone releases evenly baked pastries every time without greasing or flouring.Made in France by de Buyer, a premier manufacturer of cooks' tools and bakeware since 1830.Top-rack dishwasher safe.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.079 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
54 of 63(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bouchon Mold
Review 1 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apazzi
,Pinehurst
,NC
North Carolina
January 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Little Chocolate Cakes!
January 29, 2014
Love the mold! Love the little cakes! Do not love the recipe on the box! Tried the recipe on the box several times and cakes do not release cleanly from the mold. Don't know if its the baking powder but the cakes do not come out whole! However, the Thomas Keller recipe (from his book or I got recipe online) works perfectly. Huge, huge difference! Also, I use the OXO medium size (1.5 tablespoon) cookie dough scoop to put batter in mold. Presents the perfect amount for the perfect size cake!! Try it...you'll like it!!
Pros: Durable, Quality
Cons: recipe on box
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Bouchon Mold
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FionasMom
,Richardson
,TX
Dallas
July 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thomas Keller's recipe in the book
July 13, 2013
The recipe in Thomas Keller's book "Bouchon" is different than the one on the back of the box. No baking powder for one thing. Until I had the molds, I made them in popover pans about half full and added 4 minutes to the cooking time. They were wonderful! Boyfriend and Mom said they were the best chocolate thing they ever had!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape
Review 3 for Bouchon Mold
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chunkysoup
May 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good mold, not so good recipe
May 20, 2013
Got the mold as a birthday present. A friend of mine had used the mix and the result tasted wonderful. I tried the recipe on the back of the box twice, and both times the batter overflowed and the corks sank in the middle. I tried a third time, omitting the baking powder, and it turned out great. I did not try the original TK recipe. I give it 4 stars out of five for a good product but a less than perfect recipe.
Review 4 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarefootContessaWannaBe
,Newport Beach
,CA
Newport Beach, CA
April 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bouchon Mold
April 14, 2013
I waited over 2 months for WS to send me the Bouchon Mold. When it finally arrived, I immediately made the receipe from the actual Bouchon Bakery Cookbook, not the receipe on the back of the Bouchon Mold box, as I was told by my sister/Chef that there was a big difference in taste. Needless to say, they are AMAZING! fyi: Use a piping bag to fill the mold-just cut off the tip of a bag if you don't have a large Ateco 808 tip and only fill to the very top as you want them to look like little corks, otherwise they will look like muffins. Absolutely Delicious!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChicagoWSfan
,Chicago
,IL
December 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect pan for perfect little cakes
December 6, 2012
i'm so glad i ordered this when i did! the bouchon mold is no longer available...although i thought at one point it was on backorder until march/2013?? oh well, i wanted a second one.
this mold is perfect for bouchons -- i'm still waiting for my mix from WS, but tried the recipe from the TK Bouchon Bakery book, and they were fabulous!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 6 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MJB1104
Manila
September 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If you're a fan of Bouchon, The Bakery
September 14, 2012
I don't live in Napa nor NYC so this is perfect when I crave for the bouchons from Thomas Keller's bakery. I use the recipe from TK's book and they are sublime. I have tried TK's recipe with other molds and the result is different so this size is perfect! I haven't tried the recipe from the box but after reading the reviews, I'll try it next time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 7 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MKat
,Roswell
,NM
September 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bouchon Mold
September 12, 2012
My son bought this for me several years back along with the mix. He and his wife were curious about it so we test drove it in the ktichen and loved it. Easy to pop the "corks" out, easy to clean. I just ordered it along with the Bouchon mix and had them sent to my other son and his wife overseas so they could enjoy this and serve them at all the parties they go to and have.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 8 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tickerticker
,Charlotte
,NC
December 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exquisite results every time
December 26, 2011
The bouchon mix sold at Christmas together with this mold create an incredible chocolate confection that I would only allow myself once a year. The recipe calls for European butter (83% butterfat) which is a clue to the richness. Two are plenty for a dessert serving. When you buy the mold, put the recipe from the carton in a safe place . . I lost mine. There are several good recipes on the Internet for the bouchons. It seems the recipe implicit in the WS bouchon mix is roughly 2/3s of the recipes on the Internet. This year, I let my son try his hand at making the corks. He is not an experienced cook, but he followed the recipe to the letter, and it produced delightful corks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, ez release of corks
Cons: when hot the mold is tricky to flip over
Review 9 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pamelajz
,salem
,ma
December 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
impressive little cakes
December 4, 2011
I picked this up last year for holiday baking - and love this. I've used it for small chocolate cakes, coconut cakes, lemon cakes - pretty much anything you can think of!
I used a pastry brush with melted butter to coat each section so cakes slide out easily.
Be sure to fill them 3/4 way - evenly - and use a tiny spoon to get even batter in.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Versatile
Review 10 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KMHF
London
June 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just like the ones in the famous bakery
June 26, 2011
These are great!! So easy to use and the end result was very similar to the ones they sell in Thomas Keller's Bouchon bakery.
I bought two molds, and used the Bouchon recipe from the eponymous book, which I'd been wanting to do for ages, but couldn't find the right sized molds. They came out perfectly, making 36 from a 3 egg recipe.
I greased and floured the molds, then let them cool in the molds on a rack, and they slipped out perfectly when I turned them over. To get them the same height as the bought ones you have to fill the molds almost full.
I haven't tried the recipe on the pack yet, but it looks v good, too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design
Review 11 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lulufla
Florida
March 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Mold and Mix
March 22, 2011
Love the mold and WS mix so much that I recently purchased a second mold as I did not like the wait between making the remainder of the batch. Considering the $$$ it is a bit expensive, however, as I love chocolate, these were really great and I did not have any problem of any kind using the WS mix. Wish they would put a more normal price on the mix. It is still so good that I pay the price!
Review 12 for Bouchon Mold
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dajnyc
nyc
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
other recipes for these molds?
December 26, 2010
just received the molds as gift, cant wait to use them...does anybody know of other non-chocolate bouchon recipes that work well with the molds? thanks for your help!
Review 13 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teastamp
Easton, MD
December 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So CUTE!!!
December 14, 2010
These are the cutest desserts! The mix produces great results...no sticking. The mix will produce more than 12 bouchons...so buy an extra mold. The taste is rich and moist. I have also tried Ghiradelli's Double Chocolate Brownie Mix with good results as well.
Review 14 for Bouchon Mold
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ProvPete121
Providence, RI
October 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love dem corks.
October 24, 2010
Had no problems with the corks, although I suggest a little longer on the cook time, I have a gas stove, and use non-stick spray and wipe excess out. I want to do these for Thanksgiving but want a Pumkinny spicey mix; anyone know of any? Or should I just try flavoring the regular mix?
Review 15 for Bouchon Mold
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BakingNE
Montreal, Canada
October 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
October 11, 2010
I have been looking for these french bouchon molds for quite some time and was happy to have finally found them at Williams Sonoma on a trip to Boston (I am from Canada). I followed the reciped to the tee and the end result was not good. The taste was great but the bouchon had muffin tops and stuck to the mold. I divided the batter per the 12 sections and I think it's too much batter for the mold. As for the sticking, I do not know what the problem was - very disappointing!!
I will try to make them again........hopefully it works the second time around.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
NYinMIA
FL
Posted December 23, 2011
Because the mix is for 18 - 19 pieces, no?
The Willam Sonoma's Bouchon Mix says: THIS MIX BAKES 18 ICONIC CHOCOLATE "CORKS". We have to bake in two separate molds or bake two times as explained in the recipe of the mix package. I agree it is a bit odd and confusing, since the both are made and sold by William's Sonoma...
0points
Customer avatar
Shafaski
Mandeville, La
Posted November 5, 2011
Muffin tops every time
Every time I have made the bouchons I end up with muffin tops, too. I bought the mix and used another recipe but still came out with muffin tops looking nothing like the photo on this website.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sknitter
Oak Brook, IL
June 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A special Treat
June 16, 2010
This pan is very easy to use. I ended up going back and buying another one so that I could bake the entire mix all at once. The Bouchons came out very easily and baking was as expected. I do put these on a cookie sheet just so that it is easier to remove from the oven.
Review 17 for Bouchon Mold
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
IraS
Eugene, Oregon
April 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Missing info
April 21, 2010
Overall, I like the pan, but the recipe that comes with it, is very hard to get the right temp and cooking time to produce the desired results.
I have tried 22 mins and that is too long, and tried less 19 min and not enough to easily slip the bouchons out of pan. Would have like to see the measurements on the cup size displayed next to the mold. But the product has a very intense chocolate taste. I used Bittersweet pieces and dark ground chocolate
Review 18 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlueButterfly
Sterling Heights, MI
April 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great mold!
April 19, 2010
This was my first silicon purchase, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I'm happy with it - it works really well and as an added bonus you can put it in the dishwasher. I know it's supposed to be healthier to use cooking spray, but I always grease them with vegetable shortening. Haven't tried the recipe that came with the pan - I always get the Bouchon mix.
Review 19 for Bouchon Mold
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
coastbaker
Santa Barbara, CA
April 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
April 3, 2010
Followed the package recipe directions for this pan. Cakes were done per instructions. They were well greased with shortening, per instructions. They stuck horribly and were a crumbly mess. The cake tasted good but completely stuck to the pan even with shortening. The cork molds are too small to be useful. Not a success at all! I'm wondering if silicon is not the best idea for baking pans...
Review 20 for Bouchon Mold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kokkenchef
Arizona
February 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It does the job nicely
February 16, 2010
This is a nice little item, and does a good job of what it was designed to do. If you want to make bouchons, and don't to pay huge $ for professional pans (not to mention going to the trouble of finding them), this is for you.
After reading some reviews here, I didn't even try the included recipe; I am a chef and had already adapted one of my one which worked out very well.
I also developed a pumpkin-almond bouchon recipe that worked great with this pan, after a little tinkering. Am now working on a light maple glaze to drizzle over.
page1 2 3 4 next