Shun Large Higo Nokami Gentleman's Knife

With its slim profile, light weight and folding blade, the Higo Nokami knife allows you to enjoy the precision of Japan's legendary Shun cutlery anytime, anywhere. Regarded as Japan's first pocketknife, the Higo design dates from the mid 19th century. Foldout razor-sharp blade of high-carbon stain-resistant VG-10 steel. Perfectly sized for cutting steak at dinner or slicing fruit and cheese for a picnic. PakkaWood handle is resin-infused for lasting moisture resistance. Handle is inlaid with a silver-and-brass emblem from an ancient samurai family crest. A simple locking mechanism holds the 3 3/4"-long blade firmly in place while in use. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
2 of 3(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Large Higo Nokami Gentleman's Knife
Review 1 for Shun Large Higo Nokami Gentleman's Knife
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
honoluludesktop
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
2of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dysfunctional design
January 11, 2011
When the knife is in the closed position, it has narrow tab protruding from its hinge making it difficult to carry on your person without its case. The tab easily makes a hole in your pocket. IMO, the blade is too narrow, and stains easily. The shape of the handle is uncomfortable in my grasp. For me it was a impulse purchase that I regret. I will say however, it is the only purchase of many I have made from WS that I have a problem with.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
HiDeeHo
Saint Paul, MN.
Posted January 21, 2011
collectable's
Long live Shun,Kershaw,and Ken Onion! These type of knives in my opinion "but who asked me" are beautiful works of art! I own several, Benchmade,Kershaw and others! one or two I will carry out doors. The others I don't take outside because most cost in the range of 2,3,4 hundred $ I use those to open my mail with, and I really like my letter openers! these knives are like a very fine hand gun, how often do you shoot it!
;-)...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Shun Large Higo Nokami Gentleman's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
squallinda
Somewhere USA
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mine is Made in Japan
December 28, 2010
The knife is beautiful and small enough to carry in a pocket with the included leather sheath if you are concerned with keeping it looking nice. Perfect pocket knife.
My product clearly states on the knife itself "Made in Japan".
Review 3 for Shun Large Higo Nokami Gentleman's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KAZIU
Pittsburgh, Pa.
February 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
10of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made in the U.S.A.
February 5, 2010
This is an outstandingly well made product , however the outside of the packing material states that the knife is from Japan, but the knife itself clearly indicates that it was Made in the U.S.A.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
jonb
Posted December 25, 2010
Just re'c this knife as a present. Very impressive, the nicest knife I have ever owned. On the blade is imprinted "DM5910 Made in Japan"
Very sharp, take care.
0points
Customer avatar
Kaizoku
Tokyo
Posted December 13, 2010
Product of Japan
Shun is originally from Japan, and this design is classically Japanese (A lot of knives from the 1920-1950s took this shape and style). However, this knife is made in the United States, hence the somewhat confusing contradiction.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)