This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shun Ken Onion 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku

Ken Onion designed this Japanese-made santoku to feel like a natural extension of your hand. Its wide pointed blade combines the features of a cleaver and chef's knife for efficient chopping, mincing and slicing. Oval indentations minimize friction and prevent sticking.VG-10 "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade.Indentations ground into the wide pointed blade keep sliced food from sticking.Specially shaped handle increases control while decreasing fatigue.Handle is made from resin-infused PakkaWood for lasting moisture resistance.Handcrafted by Kershaw, premier cutlery makers for more than 90 years.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Ken Onion 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
Review 1 for Shun Ken Onion 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GallesVineyard
,Livermore
August 17, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best knife I own
August 17, 2012
I have many good knives, all of them professional quality. I have a trigger finger and find that this knife with its curved handle eases the locking of that center finger. It is my current favorite knife of all time! The knife holder is handy and sits nicely on the counter next to all the other knives. This knife is good for everything from tomato slicing/dicing to thin slicing chicken.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Ken Onion 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christel
Pasadena CA
October 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Bet Julia Child Would Have Loved This!
October 22, 2009
Fits into your hand so comfortably that you are slicing with no effort whatsoever. It does an amazing job chopping, dicing, and making slices as thin as you want. My husband brought home a humungous pork loin to carve for chops -- and the knife went through the meat like butter. I haven't pulled out the Cuisinart since I brought this beauty home! I am (like all women who learned to cook in the 1970s) revisiting my much stained, much beloved Julia Child, vol. 1. I am tackling recipes I would have NEVER tried before because I have this chef-quality knife. Yes, it is an investment, but you will begin to realize how well your money is spent from the first dish you prepare!
Review 3 for Shun Ken Onion 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
August 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
OOOOO baby!!!!
August 5, 2009
I received this knife on the morning of my wedding as a gift from my wonderful knife...i mean wife.
I had my eye on it for months before the wedding. It is the most beautiful piece of cutlery ever created......
Cutting and cooking is no longer a chore with this knife in hand.
Butterfly a chicken breast and cut paper thin slices of onion in seconds........most versatile, sharpest, wonderful knife you can buy.
Review 4 for Shun Ken Onion 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sscutchen
Houston
May 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Just Hold It In Your Hand
May 13, 2009
I've used a Wusthof chefs knife for 25 years, but I wanted to try a Santoku. 2 1/2 years ago, my wife had no idea for what to get me for Christmas. So she was up for the idea.
I went to W-S and tried several knives in my hand. This is important when you are spending this much on a knife. And this knife just simply fit into my hand. It is so natural to use. I also am a convert to the Santoku shape. I love how I have precise control over the point of the knife as I cut down into garlic or onions or the like. Go hold this knife and simulate your knifework. You will be seduced. It is amazing.
Review 5 for Shun Ken Onion 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eadsrc
Palm Springs, CA
January 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wow! Best knife ever.
January 9, 2009
Sharp, balanced, and beautiful. This knife is like a piece of art that you can use. I find myself looking for things to slice, dice and chop just for the pleasure of using this knife. I received several other knives this Christmas as gifts (including the Furi Coppertail chef) and comparing them back-to-back really demonstrates the supperiority of this Santoku. Although not inexpensive (when is true quality ever?) there is considerable value in this knife as it will be your go-to knife for a lifetime. Be warned: once you purchase a Ken Onion Shun knife you will be compelled to start collecting others (I have gotten the bread knife as well and am already considering the next "member" of my knife family...)
Review 6 for Shun Ken Onion 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KeepLifeSimple
Metro Atlanta, GA
September 19, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Show Stopper
September 19, 2008
This knife is as great to use as it is to look at. I gave all my other knives away. It completes every task easily.
Review 7 for Shun Ken Onion 7" Hollow-Ground Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lika
Hawaii
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best knife we own
September 4, 2008
Beautiful and heavy, this knife is substantial and makes chopping fun!