This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives

These versatile knives represent a major innovation in cutlery design. Created by Ken Onion and made in Japan, the blades' gentle curve facilitates chopping, while the handles guide your fingers into the grip used by professional chefs for maximum control. VG-10 "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Wide, pointed shape is excellent for slicing meat, sandwiches, fruits and vegetables. Specially shaped handle increases control while decreasing fatigue. Handle is made from resin-infused PakkaWood for lasting moisture resistance. Handcrafted by Kershaw, premier cutlery makers for more than 90 years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
Review 1 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Coral Gables
,FL
January 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
comfortable handle, super sharp blade!
January 9, 2013
Now that I got this knife, I wonder why I spent so long hacking away with dull knives. My husband laughed at me when I told him that this knife will change my life!
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Sharpness
Review 2 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
satxmimi14
,san antono
,tx
December 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Absolute most favorite knife
December 29, 2012
I have several of these knives (2 6-inch and 2 8-inch) and I love them. The weight in my hand is unlike any knife I've ever owned. They are very sharp, and the extra special bonus is that the company - Kershaw knives - will sharpen them for as long as you own them. I send them back to the company once or twice a year to keep them in tiptop shape - my only expense to do this is the shipping to them. They sharpen and return all free of charge. I'm so committed to these knives that when we travel to places where I'll be cooking (my parents, my children, rented vacation homes) I take them with me.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
capcooks
,Chandler
,AZ
June 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Life changer
June 18, 2012
This knife will actually change your life!!! I was replacing the cheep set I got at my wedding about 10 years ago or so, the sales lady at WS said I just needed a good chefs knife, veggie and bread knife (I wasn't much of a cook yet :) So I bought this, its worth every single penny, in 10 years I have used this knife almost daily!!! I barely use anything else, I also have the pairing knife by Shun. Best knives, you cannot go wrong.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flavor3
,syracuse
,ny
April 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
the best knifes on the planet
April 2, 2012
I own the 10"chefs,4"chefs knifes and also the utility knife. I would like to say I have some training in the culinary arts and have owed a high end brand of german knifes the first letter is a W. They don't even come close to craftsman ship,sharpnes,and comfort in your hand the ken onion feels like it's part of your hand.I can't say enought how much I love these knifes..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 5 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gregtheknife
South Bend, IN
August 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Niece wanted it for a wedding present
August 27, 2011
A few years ago I bought an 8" onion knife for myself. It stays on the stand on the windowsill above my cutting board. When the kids are home they use it exclusively. My niece is getting married and this is what she asked for as a wedding present from me. I am a surgeon and a hobby furniture maker as well as an amateur chef. I appreciate quality tools and this is among the best. Hard steel takes and holds a sharp edge and very ergonomic.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Sharpness, Shape
Review 6 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NENO
CONNECTICUT
February 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
BEST KNIFE EVER
February 23, 2010
I RECEIVED THE 8" CHEFS KNIFE FOR CHRISTMAS AND EVERY DAY TELL MY HUSBAND HOW MUCH I LOVE USING THIS KNIFE. IT IS A NATURAL EXTENSION OF THE ARM AND HAND AND THE ERGONOMICS ARE PERFECT. BEAUTIFULLY BALANCED, RAZOR SHARP, I CAN USE THIS KNIFE ALL DAY AND NEVER EXPERIENCE FATIGUE. JUST BOUGHT THE 4" CHEFS KNIFE FOR SMALL JOBS. MY GERMAN KNIVES (FONDLY REFERRED TO AS THE KNUCKLEBUSTERS) ARE LAYING FALLOW IN THE DRAWER....TAKE THE PLUNGE, YOU WON'T BE SORRY.
Review 7 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cookfromhome
Waxahachie, TX
January 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Knife
January 25, 2010
I would say this is a medium to heavy weight knife. The handle is comfortable in my hand. The knife is extremely sharp, which I love. I think these knives are delicate, so if you are clumsy in the kitchen (drop things often, even knives), you need to handle them cautiously. The tips will chip or bend when dropped. My only complaint about the knife is that I had 2 nicks on the cutting edge after two days of chopping vegetables for meals. It could have arrive at my home that way, but I am not sure. I was able to use the honing steel to smooth them out.
Review 8 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RobF
NJ and NC
January 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Outstanding....!
January 14, 2010
I have been refining my cooking abilities for over 25 years now. Just as this knife has been refined from hundreds of years of Japanese blade technology. There is a reason this knife company has been in business for over 90 years....it is the product. As we all have heard... "you get what you pay for..." Well with this knife it is most true. The first time you you use this knife you will ask yourself...why did I not buy this years ago. It is well worth the price. A full FIVE STARS!
Review 9 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kindness
Pleasanton,CA
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Knife Happiness
January 9, 2010
This knife is great! My biggest problem is keeping my fingers out of the way! On New Years we were slicing ham with a carving knife and we were getting frustrated and even though this isn't a carving knife it was the best in the house! It cuts like a dream!
Review 10 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UCANCOOK2
Chicago,IL
December 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Ken Onion Shun Cutlery
December 1, 2009
I bought the Ken Onion set about 3 years ago. I love them I love them I love them!!!
Review 11 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jas2
Pittsburgh, PA
November 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Beautiful Knife
November 4, 2009
I love this knife! We have the 8 inch Chef's knife. It is extremely sharp and is really nice to hold. It is not too heavy and I feel like I have good control over it. It makes slicing, dicing, and chopping a breeze. We have purchased several more Shun knifes, a small paring knife and utility knife. We would like to up-grade all of our knives to Shuns. It is definitely worth the money.
Review 12 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ahso
Carbondale, CO
September 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love it!
September 25, 2009
I'd like to include my enthusiasm along with the other five star reviews to say that I love this knife: the way it fits in the hand, the balance, and the roll to the blade. After a year, I'm sending it back to the company for a reconditioning free. Love the knife, love the company. Bravo Ken Onion!
Review 13 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
delirium
sf, ca/philly, pa
August 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-17points
7of 31found this review helpful.
do *not* want
August 12, 2009
I bought 2 *extremely* expensive knives because they were pretty. Turns out they are *not* damascus, but i was willing to let them go on that one if it was a high quality knife.
Within the course of a year, the paring knife has nicks in at least 8 places on the blade (and i've had knives for a long time and know how to care for them: never in the dishwasher, always clean promptly after use, never use harsh detergents, only used on cutting boards). Additionally, there's oxidation on the blade! Wha wha wha what?
The chef's knife similarly wore: it has chips in 3 places.
My suggestion is to stick with the Germans: Wustof or the twins. I've had their knives for 10 years and they cut like the day i bought them. If you want pretty, and to spend a lot of money for just pretty, these knives are for you. If you want quality, shop for something else.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
flavor3
Syracuse n.y.
Posted August 29, 2012
Strange?
My first thought is how where the knifes being stored and who and how many people where using them,shounds like they may have been misused or droped.......
0points
Customer avatar
rubybegonia51
Washington, DC
Posted February 28, 2012
Hard to believe
I love these knives, gave away my German knives. The paring knife is an unbelievable extension of your hand. I have added almost all of the KO knives over time. No nicks ever, haven't even sharpened most yet. No oxidation whatsoever after yYEARS of use. something is wrong here.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bobinOrlando
Orlando
July 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Great product - Great company
July 22, 2009
First, product is solid, fits well in your hand, and feels very natural to use. You don't realize how much better the knife is until you go back to the standard knife design.
Second, you never know how good a company is until after you have an issue. I recently seriously damaged my knife - which was my stupid fault. The company’s responsive was very fast and way exceeded my expectations. There is a obviously a lot more to Shun than just charging a lot for a knife.
Review 15 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reada
Reno, NV
February 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Can a knife change the way you cook and garden? Ye
February 21, 2009
My mother came to visit and told me she found chopping up fresh herbs to be tedious. She of course asked to help me in the kitchen so I insisted she try my new Shun knife. All it took was using it once and she was hooked. Anytime something need to be chopped, sliced or diced she was there wanting to use it. Once home she called to tell me she would be planting herbs in her garden this year.
Review 16 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Lakeland, FL
February 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Faboo knife
February 12, 2009
This is my favorite tool in the kitchen. I use it nearly everyday. The handle is very natural in the hand and I feel confident about where the blade is traveling.
Review 17 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pjmac101
Frisco, Texas
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Balance
February 5, 2009
The balance provided by this knife complimented the edge and made slicing a smooth experience.
Review 18 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bazouli
Pepperell, MA
December 10, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Such a wonderful instrument
December 10, 2008
This knife is very well balanced. It is not too heavy, actually I don't find it heavy at all. The bolster trims down to the blade in such a way that when you use the "pinch" grip, it feels very comfortable and very natural. The edge is extremely sharp! When I have cut potatoes, it glided through with minimal effort. I own mostly Viking knives, which I LOVE, but this knife was a must own after I used it. I have 2 Wusthof chef's, 1 Santoku, and a Viking Chef's and Santoku, the wife and I both love to cook and we are thinking about getting a matching pair of Shun's. We are blade-heads, but once you use this, you will want the whole set.
Review 19 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francesca1
Weston ,FL
November 28, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Shun 10" chef knife
November 28, 2008
WOW what a knife, I have never owned such a knife it certainly has made my life easier in the kitchen ! Great job in creating such a knife.
Review 20 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seeker
Denver, North Carolina
November 10, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wow O Wow What a knife...
November 10, 2008
My girl friend bought me this knife for my birthday back in June..
I had been using a J.A. Henckels 7in Santoku for several years..I still use this knife, but since I got my Ken Onion the Henckel stays in the drawer most of the time..
This knife has superb balance, is extremly sharp and the design shows what a quality piece of kitchen equipment it is.
It did take a bit of getting used to, the blade has a bit more curve that I was used to with the Henckel, but after chopping a few onions and cloves of garlic it felt like an extension of my hand..
I absolutly love this knife, only wish she had bought me the three knife set...
page1 2 next