This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives

These versatile knives represent a major innovation in cutlery design. Created by Ken Onion and made in Japan, the blades' gentle curve facilitates chopping, while the handles guide your fingers into the grip used by professional chefs for maximum control. VG-10 "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Wide, pointed shape is excellent for slicing meat, sandwiches, fruits and vegetables. Specially shaped handle increases control while decreasing fatigue. Handle is made from resin-infused PakkaWood for lasting moisture resistance. Handcrafted by Kershaw, premier cutlery makers for more than 90 years.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
Review 1 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Coral Gables
,FL
January 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
comfortable handle, super sharp blade!
January 9, 2013
Now that I got this knife, I wonder why I spent so long hacking away with dull knives. My husband laughed at me when I told him that this knife will change my life!
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Sharpness
Review 2 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
satxmimi14
,san antono
,tx
December 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Absolute most favorite knife
December 29, 2012
I have several of these knives (2 6-inch and 2 8-inch) and I love them. The weight in my hand is unlike any knife I've ever owned. They are very sharp, and the extra special bonus is that the company - Kershaw knives - will sharpen them for as long as you own them. I send them back to the company once or twice a year to keep them in tiptop shape - my only expense to do this is the shipping to them. They sharpen and return all free of charge. I'm so committed to these knives that when we travel to places where I'll be cooking (my parents, my children, rented vacation homes) I take them with me.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
capcooks
,Chandler
,AZ
June 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Life changer
June 18, 2012
This knife will actually change your life!!! I was replacing the cheep set I got at my wedding about 10 years ago or so, the sales lady at WS said I just needed a good chefs knife, veggie and bread knife (I wasn't much of a cook yet :) So I bought this, its worth every single penny, in 10 years I have used this knife almost daily!!! I barely use anything else, I also have the pairing knife by Shun. Best knives, you cannot go wrong.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Ken Onion Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flavor3
,syracuse
,ny
April 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
the best knifes on the planet
April 2, 2012
I own the 10"chefs,4"chefs knifes and also the utility knife. I would like to say I have some training in the culinary arts and have owed a high end brand of german knifes the first letter is a W. They don't even come close to craftsman ship,sharpnes,and comfort in your hand the ken onion feels like it's part of your hand.I can't say enought how much I love these knifes..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store