This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shun Ken Onion 11-Piece Knife Block Set

These versatile knives represent a major innovation in cutlery design. Created by Ken Onion and made in Japan, they have curved blades that facilitate cutting, while the handles provide a professional grip for maximum control. Set includes a full range of knives in the most popular and versatile sizes. VG-10 "super steel" blades are clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Specially shaped handles increase control while decreasing fatigue. Handles are made from resin-infused PakkaWood for lasting moisture resistance. Kitchen shears pull apart for cleaning. Bamboo storage block has 11 slots. Handcrafted in Japan by Kershaw, premier cutlery makers for more than 90 years. 11-Piece set includes: 3" paring knife. 4" chef's knife. 5" serrated utility. 5 1/2" boning knife. 6" chef's knife. 7" hollow-ground santoku knife. 9" bread knife. 10" slicing knife. Shun kitchen shears. Honing steel. Storage block. Please note: Storage block is counted as an individual piece.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Ken Onion 11-Piece Knife Block Set
Review 1 for Shun Ken Onion 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dannysea
Naples, FL
June 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Superior handling and cutting!
June 23, 2010
Have been using my set for over 6 months. Easy to handle with bigger hands without sitting your fingers in the cut goods. The angle of the handle and the ergonomic shape gives hours of relaxed slicing and dicing with limited fatigue. I am a lefty and works great either way.
The laminated steel is superior and slow to wear. Refuse to use any other tool for cutting, including repetition cutting.
Purchased the 11-piece set and since have expanded. Keep this set in my private stash as it is extremely sharp. Ken Onion has designed many knives; this set is one of his very best! Add that to the Japanese manufacturing, and this is difficult to replace.
Review 2 for Shun Ken Onion 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mikefox80
Orlando
March 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Worth the Money
March 25, 2010
I bought this set over Christmas and have used them daily since. They come razor sharp and keep their edge very well. The handles feel great when slicing or chopping and have a great looking finish. I would certainly reccomend these to anyone looking for a great knife set. The only downside I've found would be with the Logo on the side of the knives. The logo comes off far too easily and would be the only thing about the set that I would change.
Review 3 for Shun Ken Onion 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riachelle
Johnson City, TN
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Super sharp - look wonderful on the counter
January 9, 2010
I drooled over these knives for a very long time before I took the plunge and asked for them for my anniversary.
I looked over cheaper knives, but kept coming back to these. They really are as sharp as advertised. The paring knife was a little different than I was used to, but now I use it all the time. I usually wash and dry them right away, and they look fabulous. No rust. A couple of times I set a dirty knife out of the way of my son and missed it till morning, but there were no ill effects.
Bonus: they look great on the counter, too!
Review 4 for Shun Ken Onion 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
psoucsd
San Francisco, CA
January 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
AWESOME KNIVES
January 3, 2010
I've been researching knife sets for quite some time now and even though this was a bit more then I wanted to spend nothing ever felt as good in my hands as these did. Knives are extremely sharp and I really appreciate the handles which allow for a really comfortable pinch grip. I also like how the handle design is ambidextrous and is good for us lefties.
Review 5 for Shun Ken Onion 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CMPCML
Pittsburgh, PA
July 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
"Simply The BEST"
July 2, 2009
Hello to All,
How can one describe perfection and put it into mere words but I will try.
I have had other knife brands in my kitichen from inexpensive to what you would consider higher end but when I saw these blades in a W & S store I was mesmerized by their beauty. I went home and did some research on the city of Shun and the knives themselves and to say I was impressed is putting it mildly.
The phase of cutting through butter is an understatemant for these knives. They cut through everything effortlessly. When you add the beauty and symetry of thier design and craftsmanship you have the perfect cutting tools for your kitichen.
Forget all the other knife brands out there. If you truely want to have a knife set that will fullfill all of your needs in the kitichen then these are the knioves for you.
Need I say anything more!
Cheers,
CMPCML
Review 6 for Shun Ken Onion 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrannyT
Little Falls, N.J.
April 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
The Best of the Best
April 11, 2009
These knives are WONDERFUL! The most comfortable I've ever used (even better than the "W" brand). I priced them out by individual knives that I thought I'd use, and decided this set was the most economical way to go. I've used all the knives, haven't been disappointed, and particularly like the 4" chefs knife. These are the best of the best, the top of the heap! The steak knives and mezzaluna are also remarkable. If you're looking for the best, this set is definitely it. Pay attention when using them, because they are really SHARP......
Review 7 for Shun Ken Onion 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CandiceB
Virginia
December 24, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great knife set
December 24, 2008
This is a fantastic set. We have been using it for a month, and every knife in the set is just wonderful. I don't know how we lived without this set before.