Shun Kaji 6" Serrated Utility Knife

From our premium Kaji line by Japan's Shun, this versatile knife blends new technology with centuries-old traditions of handcraftsmanship. Its serrated blade cuts cleanly through tomatoes and other delicate fruits and vegetables without tearing them. It's excellent for bagels and sandwiches too. Blade is constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Serrated blade cuts through delicate foods without tearing or squashing them. Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji 6" Serrated Utility Knife
Review 1 for Shun Kaji 6" Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuvGOP
,Lubbock
,TX
September 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
In love with this knife
September 28, 2011
This is a fabulous knife and such a pleasure to use. It replaces a much heavier Henkels utility knife. Utility knives are designed to be used in the hand, not a cutting board which is why a lighter weight is so important. The handle fits perfectly in my long fingered hands and the blade is like a razor. Simple guidance is all that's needed as the blade does all the work.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Kaji 6" Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shellieh51
Denver, CO
August 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous knife
August 23, 2011
So far so good with this knife. I've been replacing a very old set of Sabatier knives. I have high expectations for this knife.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Kaji 6" Serrated Utility Knife
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChefStewart
Waxahachie, Tx
March 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do Not Buy This Knife!
March 9, 2009
Let me start out by saying, as a knife, it is fine. It is not $99.00 on sale fine, and most certainly not $190.00 regular price fine. I bought this knife about 2 weeks ago along with the Shun Kaji 7'' hollow ground santoku and the Shun Kaji Fusion carving knife. The others are great, but this one is terribly disappointing. While it is sharp, you could easily find a utility knife for 1/4 of the price that would work just as well. The tip of this knife has already bent and I am a very careful chef. Considering the fact that I've never damaged ANY of my cutlery before, I'm very disappointed that this knife has shown such poor durability, especially coming from the prestigious Kaji line.
Review 4 for Shun Kaji 6" Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sarahsoo
West Palm Beach, FL
November 25, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a beautiful knife!
November 25, 2008
I had read that you should go and physically try out different knives before buying, to see what handle/weight combination suits you best. I wandered into my local WS actually thinking I would purchase a different Shun line. The sales associate was so nice and let me play with many different knives. And I fell head over heels in love with the Kaji line that is exclusive here. The gently curved handle and the weight of this knife felt perfect in my hand - almost like it was made just for me.
The blade is a work of art, and it sinks into vegetables like it's sinking into soft butter. In fact, as a vegetarian who has no need of many of the larger knives, and was never into smaller paring knives, I am hoping that this 6" utility knife can be my ONLY knife - it really does seem that versatile. I've only had it a short time, but so far I am thrilled with it.
Review 5 for Shun Kaji 6" Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rray
boca raton,fl
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
look no further!!
September 3, 2008
This is my 2nd Shun Kaji knife and will surely not be my last! An amazing knife that was well worth the expense! Gives a professional result for even the home cook-- I also have the 10 inch chef knife which is spectacular!