Shun Kaji Paring Knives

From our premium Kaji line by Shun, this versatile little Japanese-made knife blends new technology with centuries-old traditions of handcraftsmanship. Use it for making small precise cuts when peeling, trimming and coring fresh produce. Blade is constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Designed for excellent maneuverability for peeling, coring and trimming tasks. Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji Paring Knives
Review 1 for Shun Kaji Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuvGOP
Lubbock, TX
September 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great balance and edge
September 18, 2012
I have several Kaji knives and they all have their special purpose. I've had the paring knife for just over a year and just had it sharpened for the first time.
Paring knives aren't typically used on a cutting board, but rather in hand . . .but if a board is used, a good wooden cutting board will add greatly to the time between sharpening.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Kaji Paring Knives
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nancy9
Sonoma County, CA
August 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice knife, but goes dull fast
August 11, 2011
I adored this knife at first. It's gorgeous, and the weight and balance--the heft--and its size are wonderful. Best of all, it was devilishly sharp when I got it in January this year.
But it gets too dull to use after only 1 to 2 months' use. It's already had to be sharpened twice this year by Shun, and now--mid-August--needs sharpening yet AGAIN. Worse, Shun has quit offering the complimentary sharpening service.
I'm extremely disappointed, especially considering how expensive this knife is. My German and French knives are vastly superior at keeping a sharp edge, and certainly don't need professional sharpening every 2 months.
Although it's too late to return the knife to W-S, at least Shun is replacing it. I sure hope the new one is better at keeping a sharp edge.
Pros: Balance, Size, Weight, beauty of blade
Cons: Sharpness, Dull, High-Maintenance
Review 3 for Shun Kaji Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joree
San Diego
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Knife
March 1, 2011
This is an expensive knife but has great balance and fits my hand comfortably. I like the fact that the company will sharpen the knives to ensure the blade retains its sharp and artistic finish. Worth saving up to buy. Now I have two!
Review 4 for Shun Kaji Paring Knives
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
StanD
Bartlesville, OK
January 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Point
January 14, 2010
I love the knife as far as peeling and paring, but the reason for my low review is due to the point breaking off during normal use. Not even sure how it happened, just noticed it one day. It must be very fragile!
Review 5 for Shun Kaji Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MatthewG
January 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knife
January 30, 2009
Great knife for a great price. I have worked as a professional in the business and have attended culinary school and have used many different knives. I can confidently say that this knife has a great balance, a wonderfully durable and sharp cutting edge, and a comfortable handle. If you can afford it, its worth every penny. The only downside is that the tange on the handle and the wood on the handle do not always match perfectly, but it is not something i notice, even when using it for a long time. If it doesn't bother you at all, as it doesn't me, then buy it, you will not be disappointed!
Review 6 for Shun Kaji Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FirehouseFlavors
Kaneohe, Hawaii
January 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is one sharp little knife
January 15, 2009
This knife is great for deboning Chicken Wings, Thighs, Carving fruits/Veggies. Awesome knife....Great Price.
Well crafted blade made by the best blacksmiths from Seki Japan. Use with care...this is one sharp knife
Review 7 for Shun Kaji Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
housewife
Paso Robles, CA
January 6, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite knife, also bought the santuko
January 6, 2009
I have several high end knives, I really like my Henckels Twin Cuisine, , but I have come to love this Shun brand. I buy them one at a time, since they are quite expensive. My daughter started me collecting them.