Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife

From our premium Kaji line by Shun, this santoku is handcrafted in Japan and blends new technology with centuries-old traditions of handcraftsmanship. A versatile knife for chopping and slicing, the santoku combines the benefits of a cleaver and a chef's knife. Hollow-ground indentations on its blade reduce friction and minimize sticking. Blade is constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Wide, pointed blade is hollow ground with indentations that minimize sticking. Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
Review 1 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ClairenAZ
,Goodyear
,AZ
November 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Knife
November 4, 2013
This is my first Shun Knife and I am impressed! The knife is solid, but not too heavy. You can feel its quality by simply holding it. It is razor sharp and cuts through everything beautifully. Highly recommend. A little pricey, but I got it on sale. I will build my knife collection piece by piece around the wonderful knife.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
catsinthekitchen
November 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super sharp but inconsistent quality
November 3, 2013
The knife is beautiful but I had to go through several to find one that didn't have a defect in the handle (uneven meeting of the tang & wood) or dimples in the blade. It is incredibly sharp and performs as well as one would expect a knife to for this price but, even giving leeway knowing that the knives are handmade, quality control isn’t great. I would buy in store so you know exactly what you're getting. Also, this is a much heavier knife than a Shun Classic or Global which gives it a good stable hold (extra weight is in the tang, not the blade), but personally I think for a weightier knife, a German knife is the way to go. My Wusthof Epicures perform just as well for our vegetarian diet, have a thick strong blade that holds an edge & withstands a beating (not as delicate as the Kaji's steel). Don't get me wrong, the Kaji line is impressive but isn’t a daily use knife for me as expected and, at this price point, took too much effort to find a knife that was satisfactory in quality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Quality
Review 3 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PurdumPam
,Purdum
,Ne
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new "Go To" knife
November 28, 2012
This knife is a great size and weight as well as a real looker. I have small hands and they do not get tired when using this knife. The size also makes it very versitile.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheOvenMitt
,New York
,NY
October 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Maintains sharpness better than Shun Classic
October 21, 2012
This knife holds its edge much better than the Shun Classic santoku that it replaced.
I also like the higher weight from the thicker tang. For me, it makes the knife easier to control. I like more weight in the handle.
My left handed girlfriend likes the handle much better than the Classic because the symmetrical shape of the Kaji is easier for her to hold than the asymmetrical "D" shaped handle of the Classic. The "D" shape of the Classic is good if you are right handed because the bulge on the finger side makes it easier to hold. For lefties, the bulge is on the thumb side, and my left handed girlfriend found it harder to hold.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kilauea82
kilauea, hi
July 10, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best all arounder
July 10, 2011
very sharp knife with great feeling handle. only negative i can see is that the cutting metal is very soft, can chip at times but will never hinder sharpness. best knife i've ever owned. looks great and easier to maintain than other traditional damascus knives. I'm a lefty so its nice that it's not a D shaped handle
Pros: handsome
Review 6 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TroyBoy
Hayward, CA
March 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Japanese Samurai Sword for your Salads
March 28, 2011
Like the Nakiri, this can be used to chop, dice and mince. Get the 7" to start with, as the 5" is not big enough for all the jobs you will want to do with this incredibly SHARP and powerful knife. Personally I keep my Shun knives in a knife roll tucked away in a special cabinet, and not in a block on the counter. They are too sharp to keep out in the open where a guest could inadvertently use them. This also gives me clarity in taking them out, knowing I have a scalpel in my hand. You must use these tools with a clear head. A bit pricey, but worth every penny. You'll have them forever if you take care of them, and pass them down.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nonprocook
March 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good .... so far
March 12, 2011
We just receive the product and have only used it several times. Good quality and definitely impressive looks. Sharpest knife out of the box we have ever purchased. Does not come with a cover which stinks considering the price (which is why I only gave it 4 stars)!!
Review 8 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colfaxeng
N. California
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Knife
February 21, 2011
This knife is both super sharp and very stylish. At the sale price I couldn't resist taking a step up from the Shun Classic knifes I own and love. I keep this one in the drawer for my own use, the household can use the rest. I have never been less than very highly pleased with any Shun knife.
Review 9 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RubyxCube
San Francisco
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality Craftsmanship
January 12, 2011
I have a healthy fear of the Shun brand - in a good way. This is a great, all-purpose knife! Please note this knife is supersharp and would bring a tear to the eye of a sentimental ninja! I've used other Shun knives (kaji) and have been extremely impressed with their form and function.
Review 10 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lw4ever
Salt Lake City, UT
August 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT!!!
August 12, 2010
I have had this knife for over a year and it is still as wonderful as when I first got it! I LOVE it!!!!
Review 11 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefTofu
San Francisco, CA
February 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Should have bought this first and only!
February 3, 2010
This knife is one of the most sharpest cutlery out there by far! I currently own a bunch of Wusthof knives and they are sharp, but when you compare it to the Shun, these are ridiculously sharp. Not only that, there's no need to even force the blade down which make this knife fantastic. As said in the headline, I should have bought this knife first and it would've been my best investment.
Review 12 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MWC911
Ukiah, Mendocino, Ca.
July 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Near Perfect
July 28, 2009
I am a retired fire captain and have spent my time as the chef. I have used almost every top brand of cutlery and Shun is the is best for my usage. I have owned this Santoku for about two years and it is my go to knife. I still use specialty knives but for most of the time I use the Shun. It is so sharp and keeps an edge a long time. I use ceramic, S.S. and carbon steel knifes and I think it is overall perfect.
Review 13 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefStewart
Waxahachie, Tx
March 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a fantastic knife!
March 10, 2009
We bought this knife along with 2 others a few weeks ago, and I absolutely LOVE this knife. I originally wanted to go with the Shun Classic damascus-style knives as there didn't seem to be much of a difference between the Classics and the true damascus steel of a Kaji when comparing them online. When we went to the store, the difference was obvious! The Kaji line is truly a work of art! They're super strong, absolutely beautiful and devastatingly sharp! This knife has taken my prep-time down to a fraction of what it was. Even though I got it on sale, I would buy it again at full price in a heartbeat. I would recommend actually going to the store to feel the handles for yourself, though. My husband preferred the Kaji fusion handles, while the standard Kaji was better for me. (Alton Brown also uses Shun knives, that should say a lot!)
Review 14 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FirehouseFlavors
Kaneohe, Hawaii
January 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the Best Knives around
January 15, 2009
This is a beautiful and practical knife. One of the best knives around today. Awesome all around knife for all chopping, cutting, mincing. Well crafted blade made by the best blacksmiths from Seki Japan. Use with care...this is one sharp knife
Review 15 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NancyG
Gig Harbor, WA
January 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The only knife you will ever need!
January 7, 2009
My husband purchased this knife for me as a Christmas present and I love it. I had been salivating over the Shun knives for quite awhile so he decided to purchase one for me in my favorite style (Santoku) and it does not dissapoint. It is very comfortable in the hand, beautiful to look at and most importantly, cuts like a dream.