Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife

From our premium Kaji line by Shun, this santoku is handcrafted in Japan and blends new technology with centuries-old traditions of handcraftsmanship. A versatile knife for chopping and slicing, the santoku combines the benefits of a cleaver and a chef's knife. Hollow-ground indentations on its blade reduce friction and minimize sticking. Blade is constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Wide, pointed blade is hollow ground with indentations that minimize sticking. Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
Review 1 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Divergent
,Rehoboth Beach
,DE
August 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Piece of Art
August 17, 2014
The Shun Kaji knife is a beautiful kitchen tool. It's extremely sharp blade slices thru most everything with great ease. It requires some care when handling due to its sharpness to avoid cutting one's self. I take great care to store it away from the grandchildren. It's a great knife!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: handle with care
Review 2 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ClairenAZ
,Goodyear
,AZ
November 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Knife
November 4, 2013
This is my first Shun Knife and I am impressed! The knife is solid, but not too heavy. You can feel its quality by simply holding it. It is razor sharp and cuts through everything beautifully. Highly recommend. A little pricey, but I got it on sale. I will build my knife collection piece by piece around the wonderful knife.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
catsinthekitchen
November 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super sharp but inconsistent quality
November 3, 2013
The knife is beautiful but I had to go through several to find one that didn't have a defect in the handle (uneven meeting of the tang & wood) or dimples in the blade. It is incredibly sharp and performs as well as one would expect a knife to for this price but, even giving leeway knowing that the knives are handmade, quality control isn’t great. I would buy in store so you know exactly what you're getting. Also, this is a much heavier knife than a Shun Classic or Global which gives it a good stable hold (extra weight is in the tang, not the blade), but personally I think for a weightier knife, a German knife is the way to go. My Wusthof Epicures perform just as well for our vegetarian diet, have a thick strong blade that holds an edge & withstands a beating (not as delicate as the Kaji's steel). Don't get me wrong, the Kaji line is impressive but isn’t a daily use knife for me as expected and, at this price point, took too much effort to find a knife that was satisfactory in quality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PurdumPam
,Purdum
,Ne
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new "Go To" knife
November 28, 2012
This knife is a great size and weight as well as a real looker. I have small hands and they do not get tired when using this knife. The size also makes it very versitile.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheOvenMitt
,New York
,NY
October 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Maintains sharpness better than Shun Classic
October 21, 2012
This knife holds its edge much better than the Shun Classic santoku that it replaced.
I also like the higher weight from the thicker tang. For me, it makes the knife easier to control. I like more weight in the handle.
My left handed girlfriend likes the handle much better than the Classic because the symmetrical shape of the Kaji is easier for her to hold than the asymmetrical "D" shaped handle of the Classic. The "D" shape of the Classic is good if you are right handed because the bulge on the finger side makes it easier to hold. For lefties, the bulge is on the thumb side, and my left handed girlfriend found it harder to hold.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Shape, Weight