Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife

Made exclusively for us in Japan, this versatile knife by Shun performs impeccably on everything from summer tomatoes to winter squashes. Hollow-ground indentations on the blade reduce friction and minimize sticking. 65-layer blade features a premium SG-2 powdered steel cutting core clad in 64 layers of forged nickel/stainless steel Damascus. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Japanese-style knife designed for efficiently chopping, slicing and mincing fresh fruits and vegetables. Long, slender blade is hollow ground with indentations that keep slices from sticking. Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level hygiene standards for professional kitchens. 4 1/4" knife: 4 1/4"-long blade. 6 1/2" knife: 6 1/2"-long blade. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
Review 1 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Albert3498
,San Antonio
,TX
August 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great chopping and dicing
August 18, 2014
Great with chopping and dicing. This is the second nakiri knife but this knife by far the best.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 2 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NewShunFan
,Arlington
,TX
September 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If you are reading this...you should just buy it!
September 3, 2013
Phenomenal knife! Dangerously sharp. Cuts through vegetables with ease. You can get the veggies thinner than thin. Expensive but worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrapperJoe
,Hammondsport
,NY
August 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Special Purpose Vegetable Knife
August 4, 2013
After deciding on a new set of Shun Knives, my first special purpose purchase was the Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground 6½" Nakiri Knife. This is the first Nakiri I have owned, having always used a chef's knife for slicing, dicing and chopping vegetables. What a difference
the right knife makes! I'm amazed at the ease of learning how to use this knife, and find myself buying all kinds of vegetables just to use the Nakiri.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhilippeH
,Ramona
,CA
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous knife. Wish I could give 10 stars.
January 27, 2013
This is my first high-end knife that I got with Christmas gift cards. I've wanted to upgrade my knives for quite some time.
This knife is not only gorgeous, it works like magic. It is superbly balanced, comfortable, and has just the right heft.
I can't wait to completely replace my set with Shun knives.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jonc
West Virginia
July 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorit knife
July 29, 2012
This knife has a perfect balance and great feel. I normaly use a henkle santoku but this knife is far and away the best.
Pros: Balance, Weight