Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife

Made exclusively for us in Japan, this versatile knife by Shun performs impeccably on everything from summer tomatoes to winter squashes. Hollow-ground indentations on the blade reduce friction and minimize sticking. Blade is constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Japanese-style knife designed for efficiently chopping, slicing and mincing fresh fruits and vegetables. Long, slender blade is hollow ground with indentations that keep slices from sticking. Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level hygiene standards for professional kitchens. 4 1/4" knife: 4 1/4"-long blade. 6 1/2" knife: 6 1/2"-long blade. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
Review 1 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NewShunFan
,Arlington
,TX
September 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If you are reading this...you should just buy it!
September 3, 2013
Phenomenal knife! Dangerously sharp. Cuts through vegetables with ease. You can get the veggies thinner than thin. Expensive but worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrapperJoe
,Hammondsport
,NY
August 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Special Purpose Vegetable Knife
August 4, 2013
After deciding on a new set of Shun Knives, my first special purpose purchase was the Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground 6½" Nakiri Knife. This is the first Nakiri I have owned, having always used a chef's knife for slicing, dicing and chopping vegetables. What a difference
the right knife makes! I'm amazed at the ease of learning how to use this knife, and find myself buying all kinds of vegetables just to use the Nakiri.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhilippeH
,Ramona
,CA
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous knife. Wish I could give 10 stars.
January 27, 2013
This is my first high-end knife that I got with Christmas gift cards. I've wanted to upgrade my knives for quite some time.
This knife is not only gorgeous, it works like magic. It is superbly balanced, comfortable, and has just the right heft.
I can't wait to completely replace my set with Shun knives.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jonc
West Virginia
July 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorit knife
July 29, 2012
This knife has a perfect balance and great feel. I normaly use a henkle santoku but this knife is far and away the best.
Pros: Balance, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
drwho
Los Angeles
July 5, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-9points
1of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
dented after 2 month of use
July 5, 2011
Use only for slicing meat, chopping veggie, and cutting fruits. One day I see several dents at the edge of the knife... don't know where they came from... this knife has very high hardness rating, yet I find dents.
I have a cheaper JA Henckle Santoku knife and no problem for years...
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
ChaseS
Posted March 24, 2013
Well...
Were you using the knife to cut through bone? the knife is made for slicing vegetables, so if you did that could explain the dents
0points
Customer avatar
PJWhite
Hillsborough, NH
Posted November 26, 2012
Chopping! Aarrgh!
This type of knife is not for chopping anything, though from the side it looks a bit like a cleaver. The edge on this knife is made like a razor. You can't chop with a razor. This knife is for making fine slices in fruits and veggies, not for chopping anything. The blade is extremely sharp, with a very fine edge. If you need to "chop" vegetables, get a knife with a blade having a wider angle to the edge, or better still, learn to slice vegetables. You can find instructional videos on-line.
Cleavers are great for chopping things. Go to a cutlery store (like Williams-Sonoma and look at the edge on a proper cleaver, and then compare it to the edge on this knife. Clearly the two are designed for very different purposes.
0points
Customer avatar
BuddhaBoy
Muncie, IN
Posted May 21, 2012
Storage?
Also please keep in mind that in regards to why the knife got dents how you handle/store the knives is just as important as what you're using the knife for.
For instance, if your knife ever got tossed into the sink with other dishes, or tossed in a drawer unprotected with other things this could definitely chip your knife's edge.
The "hardness" of the sg-2 steel allows it to get and KEEP a very sharp edge - but that doesn't mean that blunt force can't chip the extremely thin edge.
You can be extremely smart and remember everything you read - but a hammer to the head will knock that knowledge right out of ya!
And if you're knife does develop chips (which living with roommates has made an inevitability for me), you can take them to a proper knife sharpener and get the edge fixed in a jiffy. But prevention through proper storage and handling are the best options.
0points
Customer avatar
Dave82
Posted February 16, 2012
Nakiri=fruit/veg only
just so u know u shouldn't use a Nakiri on meat it is made for fruits/veg only may b why it chipped
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 6 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TroyBoy
Hayward, CA
March 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible quality and exceptionally SHARP!
March 28, 2011
The Shun Kaji Nakiri knife is an exceptional knife, well balanced and substantial. This is one big knife, folks. It is much like a cleaver, but razor sharp. The knife is heavy and fits well in your hand. Forget a food processor, just give your wrist a pleasurable workout and you'll have perfectly diced, chopped and minced veggies, herbs and anything else - because like I said, this is one SHARP knife! Like all the knives in this line, you simply can't go wrong with it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: too sharp for novice users
Review 7 for Shun Kaji Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martymart
griffin, ga
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite knife
February 20, 2011
i own many knives including j.a. henckels and wusthof, but the shun kaji nakiri knife is the most awesome knife i own. the feel of this knife in your hand is amazing and the food does not easily adhere to the blade when slicing.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Christian1971
Oshkosh, wi
Posted January 26, 2013
Shun
They. Are great I have the others also but shun shines the brightest of all of them.. Nice to see someone feels the same about the Shun
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)