Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife

From our premium Kaji line by Shun, this innovative knife is one of the most versatile in the kitchen, thanks to a unique dual-frequency serrated blade that cuts easily through crusts of bread or soft foods like tomatoes. Handcrafted in Japan, the strong, razor-sharp blade is created through a blend of new technology and centuries-old handcrafting traditions. Blade is constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Long, serrated blade cuts easily through bread crusts to create uniform slices. Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife
Review 1 for Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaurensDad
,Wilmington
,DE
February 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Work of Art That Works!
February 21, 2014
I purchased this knife as a gift for someone whose sharpest knife was the plastic one that comes with take-out food. It is a truly beautiful and versatile instrument. The handle also accomodates left- and right-handed users unlike the Classic line's D handle. I have since purchased for her the 5" Santoku of the same series for smaller jobs. She now enjoys cooking in a whole new way because of the ease of preparation and the beauty of the instrument.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight, Appearance
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momartinez
,Westminster
,Ca
November 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great all around knife
November 6, 2013
Beautiful, very sharp, easy to handle, a great addition as it can be used daily in a variety of ways. Slicing bread and tomatoes is easy with this knife plus it also chops other foods as well. great price, we'll worth the investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight, attractive
Review 3 for Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NewShunFan
,Arlington
,TX
September 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My least favorite Shun knife
September 3, 2013
Just not one of my favorite Shun designs. Half way between a utility knife, bread knife, and santuko. Blade was too thin for thick handle. I absolutely love the 6 inch utility knife, nagiri, western chef, and paring knife.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Weight, Fragile, Size
Review 4 for Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrapperJoe
,Hammondsport
,NY
August 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must-Have Knife!
August 15, 2013
My Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife is probably the most versatile knife in my collection--a real pleasure to use as it is perfectly balanced, extremely sharp and performs so many different tasks! If you want to start with just one really good knife, this is it!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Sharpness
Review 5 for Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommakat
,Given
,WV
Given WV
August 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow! Great knife!
August 3, 2013
I bought this knife not because I needed it, but because it was so beautiful and on sale at a good price. I have another Shun chef's knife that has been my go-to knife since I bought it. The first time I used this Kaji knife was to slice a ripe tomato. The knife went through it like butter - without sawing! I can't wait to use it on more things. Yes, it is expensive, but the performance is extraordinary.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GACook
Brunswick, GA
Posted February 24, 2014
Agree completely
Likke Mommakat, I bought this knife because it was so beautiful and the good sale was an incentive. I have five complete sets of high quality knives, some over 40 years old, but this utility knife is the first one I reach for now. I didn't think it would be a great beef slicing knife, but it is - produces perfect, thin slices as it glides through the meat. And nothing could be better for tomatoes, fruit, cheese, and bread.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matey
,Clovis
,CA
March 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My New Go-To Knife
March 14, 2013
I have used a serrated knife for the past 20 years and it finally has become very dull. I hate always sharpening knives and have bought numerous replacements, but all have dulled immediately until I bought a Shun Kaji. It has remained super sharp for many months so I bought this one to add to my collection. It, also, is wonderfully sharp.
I bought a knife block to store them in because they are too sharp to put in a drawer.
I just love these knives and will continue to add more. They are worth the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 7 for Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2manyknives
,Lancaster
,PA
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice knife
March 11, 2013
This is a very nice utility knife. It is great at what it is meant to be used for. It is extremely sharp right out of the box. It is beautiful to look at.
Pros: Quality, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 8 for Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ImagineThat
,Huntsville
,AL
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A really professional knife
March 11, 2013
My son, who is a professional chef, asked for this knife. He swears by it. Japanese blade holds its sharpness a long time.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Sharpness
Review 9 for Shun Kaji Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CODYINC
RIVERSIDE,CA
June 27, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SHUN DUAL DENSITY KNIFE
June 27, 2011
WOW I BOUGHT THIS AND IT IS FANTASTIC. CUTS SOOOOO SMOOTH.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance