Shun Kaji 7" Cleaver

In Asian kitchens, cleavers like this one function as chef's knives for chopping and slicing vegetables and boneless meat and then transferring food to the pot. Made in Japan and developed exclusively for us by Shun, it merges new technology and centuries-old handcrafting traditions.Blade is constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel.Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge.Wide blade efficiently chops and slices, then aids in transferring food to the pot or bowl.Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control.This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji 7" Cleaver
Review 1 for Shun Kaji 7" Cleaver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefemzman
,Portland
,OR
October 6, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Keeps it's edge well!!!
October 6, 2013
I've been cooking professionally for the last 20 years. I purchased this clever a few years ago and I love the thing. I'm able to fly through vegetables in no time. The edge keeps it's sharpness well. As for cutting meats, it works flawlessly. DO NOT USE TO CUT THROUGH BONE!!! This is only used for vegetables and chopping meat. Shun is my choice of knives as is for my kitchen staff.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Shun Kaji 7" Cleaver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ry88
September 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vegetable cleaver, Can do meats, too!
September 3, 2011
Okay, to start off, I find it very unfortunate that both of the other users thought to even use this on bone/cartilige. It is meant for boneless meats, vegetables, fruits, fish, etc. Just like any normal chefs knife!!! So, since it's sole purpose is to chop what has just been mentioned, it is unfair to rate it on something it was not made to do. Past that, I love my Kaji chinese cleaver. If used properly, this knife will last for ages. And, it is quite beautiful!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Shun Kaji 7" Cleaver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wenfu
Florida
April 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-10points
3of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review of Shun Kaji 7" cleaver
April 23, 2011
All Shun Kaji cleavers are sharp and easy to handle, however, I was very disappointed with this 7" cleaver. I thought all cleavers can chop meat and bones. But whenever, I chopped chicken legs (raw or cooked) the knife will be chipped. My cleaver is still new but has several chips on it. I will lkie the store, Williams-Sonoma, replace this cleaver. The instruction did not state "Do Not Chop Chicken leg bone".
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Shape
Cons: Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cnimativ
Posted May 2, 2011
Shun Kaji 7"
Chinese Cleaver is not your typical Cleaver; it is not meant to be used to chop bones...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Shun Kaji 7" Cleaver
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YiFe
Astoria, NY
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent cleaver, but no bones.
January 23, 2011
I have been looking for a cleaver for a long time after acquired a set of Shun Kaji knives and enjoyed the cooking experience. I have been looking into the Shun Ken Onion 7" Cleaver until I saw this. The Kaji line is ergonomically better than the Ken Onion line given its nice handle design and heavier weighted blade. So I acquired it from williams sonoma.
Different from my other Kaji knives, this one has a symmetric handle that fits for both left and right handlers. It did compromise a bit in feeling than the regular D-shaped handle. Compare with the heavy blade, the handle is a bit too light, and hence downgraded chopping experience.
One thing the listing did not mention is that this is a VEGETABLE cleaver, thus it cannot be used to cut through bones. If you want bone work, get the Ken Onion (the ONLY shun meat cleaver). This knocks off one star.
Other than mentioned above, this cleaver is perfect.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
YiFe
Astoria, NY
Posted May 3, 2011
Follow up to Wallace
Wallace, thanks for the nice comment and your knowledge. I did not know that meat cleaver and vege cleaver are exclusive to each other. Now I know this. For the Kaji series I got, it is accurately the "Kaji Fusion" series. I am not 100% sure about the difference between Kaji and Kaji Fusion, but they looks very similar to each other except the handle. The Kaji Fusion uses MV steel and the pattern on the blade are almost in distinguishable from Kaji. Any idea about this?
0points
Customer avatar
WallaceS
Washington
Posted February 12, 2011
Yeah but. . .
First, there are two kinds of cleavers: meat and vegetable and I know of no cleaver that can competently accomplish both tasks and I have fixed more than one knife from clients who have attempted to go through bones without 'meat' knives. I would never use my five pound meat cleaver to cut an onion or tomato. So I don't think it is fair to subtract a star for this. Second, I have a four Kajis and none have the 'd' handle. That is something found on other Shuns, notably the Classic line.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)