Shun Kaji Chef's Knives

From our premium Kaji line by Shun, these chef's knives are indispensable for chopping, dicing, mincing and slicing fruits and vegetables. Crafted in Japan, their strong, razor-sharp blades merge new technology and centuries-old handcrafting traditions. Blades are constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blades' construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Handles are made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. These NSF-certified knives meet the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.37 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
23 of 27(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
Review 1 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
StrengthEngineer
,Seattle
March 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality Handle and Chipped Blade
March 23, 2014
Bought two Shun Kaji (small chef and small Nakiri) at a Williams Sonoma store that was going out of business for 40% off with an additional 10% off due to a small chip (0.125 inch long by the 0.005") in the Nakiri. Neither knife was as sharp as they should have been and both knives had handles with poor fit. Was able to easily sharpen both which removed chip. Also highly recommend the hollow ground indentations for lower friction. Although the chefs knife was new in the box, it had light scratches perpendicular to the blade. Recommend a close inspection before purchasing for tiny tip breakage, edge burrs, scratches, and poor handle fit-up. Both knives are beautiful and very sharp, but the extremely thin blade is going to be fragile, so use caution.
Pros: Balance, Shape, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Dull, Fragile
Review 2 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnaSinclaire
,columbia
,sc
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pry it from my cold dead hands.
November 30, 2013
I've owned the this knife for four years, two years of restaurant use, and as the review title says, you'd have to pry it from my cold dead hands.
Having used it heavily for years, I'm a huge, HUGE fan. The casual user must understand that you can't get away with just whacking this knife against a steel willy-nilly and expect that you'll get a sharp knife, but as long as you either know something about sharpening knives or let the pros handle the job and get the knife sharpened every 6 months or so, this is a knife I would unconditionally recommend. Super sharp, holds its edge well, and very durable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jkennedy
,tacoma
,WA
November 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It chipped badly
November 5, 2013
I was happy with it out of the box and it held its edge without needing sharpening for several months. However this knife will not stand up to rigorous use. there is actually an inch long chip out of mine near the wider end of the blade. I'm still using it but now I make sure that it only gets used for easy cuts.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Shape
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 4 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JSS1
,Dallas
,OR
August 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall, very good
August 3, 2013
As a woodworker who appreciates the genius of fine Japanese tools, I naturally took to this knife.
Out of the box, it has the heft and balance of a serious, professional quality tool.
Much better than average grade Shun knives.
I would give it a "5" except that it was not surgically sharp as a fine Japanese knife must be. I had to hone it myself and that was annoying for a knife in this price category.
Overall, though, I strongly recommend this knife as a tool that will last a lifetime.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Size
Cons: Sharpness
Review 5 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kangofumarsha
,Brooklyn
,NY
Brooklyn, NY
July 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An amazing knife!
July 13, 2012
I have purchased less expensive knives in the past, only to be disappointed after a few months when the sharpness of the knife wears off. No amount of sharpening keep the cheaper knives sharp. I decided to splurge on the Kaji knife after I tried it at my D-I-L's house. Absolutely amazing. The knife is incredibly sharp and maintain it's sharp edge with a minimum of maintenance. Hand wash and dry after each use, but be very careful when handling. I've been purchasing the Kaji knives one at a time and as soon as the price comes down, I will be purchasing the whole set!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 6 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
silvertone32
Charleston SC
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best knife Eva!
August 4, 2011
I bought this knife to use in competition where your cutting skills come under a microscope. This is hands down the best knife I have ever used. Quick and accurate cuts, razor sharp and great hand feel. This is the only knife I will use from now on. I liked it so much I went out and bought the paring knife for tourne's but thats another review all together.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 7 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pieman012
az
June 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best knife ever
June 20, 2011
i got the knife about 2 years ago now. and it is still just as sharp as when i got it! with the right care i could have it for the rest of my cooking life! it is great for left handed people like my self! and when i lend it to a right handed friend they love the handle and how it just fits like a puzzle piece! just love this knife and i cant wait to get the rest of the set! the shun can count on me to buy their knife again and again!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape
Review 8 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
casey1
Austin, TX
June 19, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love this knife
June 19, 2011
I have used only German knives professionally for over 20 years. Recently purchased these in 8" and 10" sizes for my staff. They love them. I love them. We may never go back. Well balanced; very sharp with great edge retention; easily honed and really beautiful. Time will tell how well they hold up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 9 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ajl79
Oklahoma city
May 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very very sharp
May 31, 2011
This is the sharpest knife I have ever put in my hands. Out of the box it is scary scary sharp.
As for the handle, it is an excellent fit and I am showing no issues as others have stated.
I bought the 10 inch
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Review 10 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Edmond
Washington DC
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT KNIVES-WILLIAMS SONOMA ONLY
January 20, 2011
Having both Henckels and Wursthoff knives in the past (still using Henckels), I was tired of the European steel and edges-which prevented really fine and effortless slicing. So I went the Shun Kaji line--which is ONLY sold at Willy-S. The knives themselves are amazing-I will only buy Shun knives from now on. But matching a complete set is hard-since there are no meat cleavers, Usuba. Also, I was terrified that guests were going to slice themselves with the steak knives during holidays. But so far the only cuts have been on my hands either during cleaning or faster work when I catch the return ("H" in the image--aft of the heel) since it is also razor sharp. Even though she is not supposed to--even my wife now uses them over the Henckels! Truly beautiful and unparalleled.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefNate
Cincinnati, OH
June 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Knife
June 5, 2010
I bought this for everyday utility work - meat, veggies, etc.
Cuts through a tomato like it's warm butter, great for breaking down chickens and cuts zucchini so thin it only has one side!
Love the true Damascus blade too.
Only change I'd make is that i like the D-handle on the Classic Shun a bit better
Review 12 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Linda9811
Western Montana
May 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely beautiful
May 5, 2010
And unbelievably sharp.
I love the way this knife handles and the way it looks.
Plus, it's just about the sharpest knife I've ever put my hands on.
I have several Shuns but this is my first Kaji...now I'm totally spoiled and I want the whole line.
Review 13 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CakeandBake
Plainsboro, NJ
March 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even Better than Expected
March 17, 2010
I bought the 10" chefs knife a few months back and LOVE it. It's amazing. Every time I use it, it makes me happy. It's very sharp and the weight is nicely distributed and it is very comfortable in your hand. It is worth every penny and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is considering it. I can't wait to add others in the set to my knife block.
You can send it back once a year for complementary sharpening. Mine has no problems with the handle being unsmooth, like others mentioned.
I looked at both the Shun Classic and the Shun Meiji knives. The classic ones also look nice, and while cheaper, just felt awkward in my hand. I like that the handle on the Kaji ones is slightly curved instead of straight. While the Meiji one looked nice, the handle had a triangular shape to it and one of the three points, which sticks out into your hand, hurts a lot.
Review 14 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrChef
Santa Cruz, CA
February 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
8" Chef is best ever
February 27, 2010
I am a cook and chef with more than 30 years experience in professional kitchens and the 8" Shun Kaji chef's knife is the finest knife I have held. Some reviews have criticized the handle, but mine is very well constructed and the fittings--rivets, bolster and end cap--are all tight and smooth. The blade cuts beautifully, gliding through food with ease and precision. The balance is very good and the sculpted handle allows for two grips, one on the rear half and one at the bolster. The Pakka wood grip does not slip when wet, unlike the Globe knife I had. The blade length and width are a major advantage. The actual cutting edge of this knife is longer than the Wustoff, Henkel or even the Classic Shun. The curvature of the blade and its weight provide excellent performance and response when chopping and mincing. The 16 degree bevel, razor sharp edge, and fine grained damascus steel make it a superior knife even for slicing; something most chef's knives cannot do.
Review 15 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ajax37
Houston, TX
February 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Knife
February 1, 2010
This knife is just fantastic. Having switched from Wusthof a few weeks ago, I noticed a major difference in the quality. This blade is razor sharp, and has cut through everything with little to no effort. The balance is near spot on perfect, and feels great in your hand. I'll definitely be buying more from this line.
I guess maybe they have improved the quality control on their handles since the previous reviews because every one I looked at fit perfect. And unless you have a solid steel knife with no wood or recesses, you're going to have an area for bacteria to collect.
Review 16 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rossi
Honolulu, Hawaii
January 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beyond Impressive...
January 26, 2010
Aloha All,
I have cooked both professionally and worked as a culinary instructor so I am confident I have sufficient experience to accurately discuss knives. I'll begin by saying that after using this knife I can't believe how lacking the Shun Classic Knife is. When I first purchased a Shun Classic knife I thought it was impressive & one of the best knives I had ever used. Well, after using the new Shun Kaji I couldn't believe how much better it was! In fact it is so much better it is kind of surprising. The Kaji's blade has a razor sharp edge, nicely folded steel, extremely precise, well balanced and weighs much less than a Shun Classic. Some people have complained that the knife handle is not well designed or well thought out. I hear what they are saying, but it doesn't seem to be any real issue for me; especially considering the quality of the blade. If you are looking for a spectacular knife look no further!
Review 17 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Turtle001
Las Vegas, NV
October 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the best knives
October 30, 2009
As a Chef, I have tried many other knives before the Shun Kaji. This is by far one of the best knives I have ever used. It's perfect for various knife cuts, and as along as you keep the edge, it will do what ever you need in a kitchen.
Review 18 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CHEFGROWLEY
Michigan
October 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic
October 9, 2009
Fantastic knife started with the 10 inch chef knife. Then bought the set love every knife work in high volume kitchen use the knife everyday over and over.
Never leave home with out it. Would recommend these knifes to everyone and i do!
Review 19 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leviathan
Kissimmee, FL
September 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and functional.
September 12, 2009
These knives are both gorgeous and sharp as all get out. My wife and I registered for several and have found all to exceed all expectations. I have had no trouble with the rivets or tang on ANY of the pieces. The blade cuts like a dream.
Review 20 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KeithsKitchen
Prospect, Ky
August 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
KAJI COULD BE THE BEST KNIVES EVER!
August 23, 2009
I own the Shun Kaji 11 piece block set, in addition to the Chinese cleaver and 10" Chef's knife, and I do not know what a couple of the reviewers on here are talking about since the fit and finish on my entire set is pure perfection. Every piece is smooth and perfect in every way. Besides being a work of art, these knives are the some of the finest handmade cutlery anywhere. I enjoy using each and every one for their intended purpose. They also come with an amazing lifetime warranty and complimentary sharpening for life from Shun. I believe the Kaji line for WS is the best all around by Shun. They are definitely heirloom quality and I can't believe anyone would be disappointed in any of the Kaji line of knives. You MUST consider them if you're looking for the best in kitchen cutlery!
page1 2 next