Shun Kaji Chef's Knives

From our premium Kaji line by Shun, these chef's knives are indispensable for chopping, dicing, mincing and slicing fruits and vegetables. Crafted in Japan, their strong, razor-sharp blades merge new technology and centuries-old handcrafting traditions. Blades are constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blades' construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Handles are made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. These NSF-certified knives meet the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
Review 1 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WBR1
,West Chester
,PA
June 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Sharpest Knife in the Drawer!
June 13, 2014
The sharpness takes some getting used to, but once you do, it is a perfect knife.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 2 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
StrengthEngineer
,Seattle
March 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality Handle and Chipped Blade
March 23, 2014
Bought two Shun Kaji (small chef and small Nakiri) at a Williams Sonoma store that was going out of business for 40% off with an additional 10% off due to a small chip (0.125 inch long by the 0.005") in the Nakiri. Neither knife was as sharp as they should have been and both knives had handles with poor fit. Was able to easily sharpen both which removed chip. Also highly recommend the hollow ground indentations for lower friction. Although the chefs knife was new in the box, it had light scratches perpendicular to the blade. Recommend a close inspection before purchasing for tiny tip breakage, edge burrs, scratches, and poor handle fit-up. Both knives are beautiful and very sharp, but the extremely thin blade is going to be fragile, so use caution.
Pros: Balance, Shape, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Dull, Fragile
Review 3 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnaSinclaire
,columbia
,sc
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pry it from my cold dead hands.
November 30, 2013
I've owned the this knife for four years, two years of restaurant use, and as the review title says, you'd have to pry it from my cold dead hands.
Having used it heavily for years, I'm a huge, HUGE fan. The casual user must understand that you can't get away with just whacking this knife against a steel willy-nilly and expect that you'll get a sharp knife, but as long as you either know something about sharpening knives or let the pros handle the job and get the knife sharpened every 6 months or so, this is a knife I would unconditionally recommend. Super sharp, holds its edge well, and very durable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jkennedy
,tacoma
,WA
November 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It chipped badly
November 5, 2013
I was happy with it out of the box and it held its edge without needing sharpening for several months. However this knife will not stand up to rigorous use. there is actually an inch long chip out of mine near the wider end of the blade. I'm still using it but now I make sure that it only gets used for easy cuts.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Shape
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 5 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JSS1
,Dallas
,OR
August 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall, very good
August 3, 2013
As a woodworker who appreciates the genius of fine Japanese tools, I naturally took to this knife.
Out of the box, it has the heft and balance of a serious, professional quality tool.
Much better than average grade Shun knives.
I would give it a "5" except that it was not surgically sharp as a fine Japanese knife must be. I had to hone it myself and that was annoying for a knife in this price category.
Overall, though, I strongly recommend this knife as a tool that will last a lifetime.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Size
Cons: Sharpness
Review 6 for Shun Kaji Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kangofumarsha
,Brooklyn
,NY
Brooklyn, NY
July 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An amazing knife!
July 13, 2012
I have purchased less expensive knives in the past, only to be disappointed after a few months when the sharpness of the knife wears off. No amount of sharpening keep the cheaper knives sharp. I decided to splurge on the Kaji knife after I tried it at my D-I-L's house. Absolutely amazing. The knife is incredibly sharp and maintain it's sharp edge with a minimum of maintenance. Hand wash and dry after each use, but be very careful when handling. I've been purchasing the Kaji knives one at a time and as soon as the price comes down, I will be purchasing the whole set!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight