Shun Kaji Carving Knife Set

From our premium Kaji line by Shun, this Japanese-crafted set is an elegant choice for carving foods at the table. The knife's ultrasharp edge reduces friction and offers exceptional precision and control, and the fork holds foods securely in place while carving. Two-piece set includes a carving knife and matching fork. Knife blade is forged of stainless steel clad with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, producing the beautifully patterned effect of a Damascus knife. Blade has an ultrasharp edge and will not rust. Durable stainless-steel fork has sharp tines to easily pierce meat. Handles are made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji Carving Knife Set
Review 1 for Shun Kaji Carving Knife Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TroyBoy
Hayward, CA
August 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An indulgence in the art of knives
August 26, 2011
This set is stunning...and quite pricey. The fork is massive and very curved. It needs to find it's own special place because it will not fit in your block. The carving knife is nothing less than a small Samurai sword which is hand crafted to perfection and RAZOR sharp. Like all Shun knives I've ever purchased that have a wooden case, the case is an afterthought. Too bad. The knife set does not fit well in the generic wooden case and for the price it should. But I'm not reviewing the case, I tossed it. The set is heirloom, fabulous and a definite indulgence.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store, case is useless
Review 2 for Shun Kaji Carving Knife Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChoppyChoppy
Oak Island, NC
December 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!!
December 7, 2010
Wonderful carving set. Scary sharp out of the box. I used this set to serve Thanksgiving meals at my wife's work place and our holiday meals. The knife cut beautifully and the set together was exactly what I wanted. We considered German made sets, but the balance, beauty and presentation box made this choice an easy one.
Review 3 for Shun Kaji Carving Knife Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Genie
Manhattan Beach, CA
January 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Carving Tools
January 5, 2009
The knife and fork are well weighted, easy to handle and work with even for someone with small hands. As with all Shun Kaji implements the quality is unsurpassed and beautifully designed. Only slightly negative comment is regarding how the fork fits in the wooden storage case. The indentation for the fork is not deep enough and one must apply pressure to close the storage case.
Review 4 for Shun Kaji Carving Knife Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Zman
Saint Charles, MO
November 9, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Carving Set but Case Needs Improved.
November 9, 2008
I'm very impressed with the quality and feel of the set. The folded steel gives the blade an almost wood grain appearance that is unique and eye catching. The weight and balance of the knife is perfect while the handle fits comfortably in your hand. The pictures do not do justice to the depth and luster of the handles.
I would have given the set a 5 if not for my slight disappointment in the storage case. While I never found the case mentioned, the inclusion was a nice touch, albeit somewhat expected for a set of this quality and cost. My complaint is the fork does not fit into the silk liner correctly. The recess in the foam backing for the curve of the tines is insufficient. The lid must be forced closed, which causes the fork to compress the foam and allows the knife to shift. All in all, a minor annoyance and I would still strongly recommend the set to anyone wanting a conversation piece while swiftly and easily carving dinner.