Shun Kaji 9" Bread Knife

From our premium Kaji line by Shun, this bread knife slices cleanly through a crusty loaf without mashing its soft interior. Handcrafted in Japan, the strong, razor-sharp blade is created through a blend of new technology and centuries-old handcrafting traditions. Blade is constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Long, serrated blade cuts easily through bread crusts to create uniform slices. Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji 9" Bread Knife
Review 1 for Shun Kaji 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HouseElf
Sacramento, CA
July 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing knife
July 4, 2012
This knife has amazing feel and balance. I'm completely sold on the Shun Kaji line -- this is the 5th shun knife I have purchased. Feels great in the hand, cuts like a dream, easy to clean. I use this knife for cutting bread but also the 9" blade is great for cutting watermelon and pineapple.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Kaji 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AuntieSharon
Northridge, CA
July 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Bread Knife
July 4, 2011
I now have five Shun Kaji Knives....I absolutely love them.....Really nice looking, great quality, easy to handle, very sharp.....
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness
Review 3 for Shun Kaji 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeaOtter
Madison, AL
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What's there not to love?
August 18, 2010
The headline says it all. These knives have good "weight" and good "balance". This is the second Shun knife I own -- the other is the chef's knife. I'm slowly replacing my old knives (more than 40 years old) with these. What a difference 40 years makes in knife technology!
Review 4 for Shun Kaji 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IBerjan
Brooklyn, NY
December 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent knife!
December 12, 2009
Nothing much to say, really. An excellent knife. Nice weight and balance, extremely sharp and durable. Highly recommended.
Review 5 for Shun Kaji 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fanofgoodknives
oslo, norway
October 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent bread knife
October 1, 2009
as someone who's always appreciated good knives and long time user of german bread knives i am just so impressed by shun kaji bread knife 9"!!!
i used it on solid whole-meal rye sourdough bread as well as my wife's light sweet buns and it has performed in an outstanding manner. even my wife, not particularly interested in knives, was pleased and impressed.
Review 6 for Shun Kaji 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lili1
Virginia Beach, Va
July 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife!
July 19, 2009
I just purchased it today and brought it home and immediatly started slicing bread with this one and with my old one to compare and I couldn't beleive the difference! It hardly pulled a single crumb and was effortless. Very sharp, be careful!
Review 7 for Shun Kaji 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FirehouseFlavors
Kaneohe, Hawaii
January 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The knife for all Breads
January 15, 2009
This is the knife for the freshest breads to the oldest and hardest breads. Awesome! Well crafted blade made by the best blacksmiths from Seki Japan. Use with care...this is one sharp knife
Review 8 for Shun Kaji 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LynnC
Houston, TX
November 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The second Kaji Shun knife I have purchased
November 4, 2008
I love this knife. I also have the Santoku knife. I love they way they handle. I do not use any of my other knives. These are definitely worth it.