Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set

Named for the blacksmith's forge, the Kaji series was developed by Shun's master knife makers exclusively for Williams-Sonoma. Combining ancient Damascus-steel and clad-construction techniques, this set makes an excellent introduction to the Kaji series. Blades are constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blades' construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Handles are made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. These NSF-certified knives meet the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Bamboo storage block has 12 slots. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. 8-Piece Set includes: 3 1/2" paring knife. 6" tomato knife. 6 3/4" hollow-ground santoku. 8" chef's knife. 9" bread knife. 9" hollow-ground carving knife. 9" honing steel. 12-slot storage block. Please note: Storage block is counted as an individual piece.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
Review 1 for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
February 26, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Knives
February 26, 2012
I bought these knives six months ago. I compared the Wustoffs, Henckels, and Shuns and naturally gravitated toward the Shuns. After trying each one, I thought I went with the Shun Kaji because it was far and away the best. I thought it would be the cheaper one since the design wasn't as over the top of as the Ken Onion, but unfortunately I was wrong.
Regardless of the cost, these knives are excellent. Each knife is very very sharp, and maintains its edge well as long as you use a honing steel. People complaining about them chipping should probably not be using these knives. Make sure you know how to prep before buying high end cutlery. Kind of like learning to drive a manual before buying a Ferrari.
Best knives I've come across. Beautiful design. Very balanced too. Handle fits the contour of your palm perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, awesome, best ever, beautiful
Review 2 for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grateful1inCO
Colorado Springs
March 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
for the in home pro!
March 25, 2011
I received this Shun Kaji knife set for Christmas from my husband. Our adult kids mentioned how dull our old Chicago Cutlery set was at Thanksgiving and they were right! The "kids" are using a different line of premium knives that we have purchased for them at their request. After doing a lot of research and purchasing $200+ in Christmas items in Dec. for gifts for our family, I let my husband know what I wanted for Christmas and he delivered! I must say that these knives take my kitchen skills to a whole new level. I am a highly skilled cook and can make and bake pretty much anything and these knives are a fantastic addition to our kitchen because they are extremely sharp, well balanced, and beautiful to look at.
If you know how to cook and are looking to upgrade your equipment, invest in the Shuns. They are a joy to use and will make prep fun and less tiring for your hands and wrists. The kids are so impressed, they take over the cutting tasks in the kitchen when they come over!
Pros: Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight, beautiful asthetics
Review 3 for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
divguns
Scottsdale
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please don't buy.
January 23, 2011
I've had this set for over a year now and loved the edge and feel. My favorite knife, the 7 1/2 in Hollow Ground Chef's knife shattered along the blade in the center of the knife leaving a nickel size hole in the blade and some nasty razor sharp shards in the filet. At about the same time my 3 1/2 in. paring knife shattered along the tip in several locations. These knives were not abused and were well cared for. I intend to take them back to the WS Store I purchased them and request warranty coverage but it remains disappointing and frustrating.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ChefTamara
East coast
Posted March 1, 2012
Same experience
I appreciate reading your review!
I had the same experience with these knives which were a Christmas gift in 2009. I am the only person who uses these knives and I care for them delicately, but three of the knife tips have broken off and two knives have bubbles in the blade itself. I lived with the defects for a long time not knowing that I could return them to WS with the receipt (because their return/replacement policy is quite good) or I could contact the manufacturer for a replacement (as mentioned by the other commenter to this post).
In summary, the defects in the knife set are inexcusable given their cost; but I LOVE using the knives otherwise and the lifetime warranty gives purchasers a way to receive the product that they paid for. My set is on its way to the manufacturer.
0points
Customer avatar
GreatDogs
Old Tappan, NJ
Posted February 18, 2011
Shun Warranty
Shun knives have a lifetime limited warranty - contact the company, not Williams Sonoma. They will repair or replace.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cypresschef
Ft Myers, FL
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rollercoaster knives
January 20, 2011
I was beyond excited to receive these as a present 6 months ago. However; over the last 3 weeks the sensation is more akin to horror. 3 of the knives’ tips, about 1/16 of an inch, snapped off and another tip is bent at a right angle. Additionally, the chef knife has a circular imperfection, somewhat like a rust stain, in the middle of the blade which continues to expand. No one is allowed to touch the knives but me; I wash and dry each one by hand and they are utilized solely on a wooden cutting board. I will be returning them this weekend. I genuinely thought these would last for years to come. The cheap set I bought in college held up better than these and I could not recommend them under ANY circumstances.
Review 5 for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gypsychic
Fairfax, VA
December 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They bring a slice of art to the kitchen!
December 2, 2010
I had the JA Henckels Twin set - these blow them away. Shun completely takes you to the next level in cutlery. Solid, solid, solid and SHARP! It's hard to believe there is that much of a difference without actually trying them...caution though - once you do you will not settle for less. The comfort of the handle and SG2 Powdered Steel are what led me to these over the "Classic" line.
Review 6 for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OCLifer
Orange County, CA
February 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing knives that I would highly recommend
February 15, 2009
I recently decided to invest in a set of quality knives and came upon the Shun Kaji line. From first impressions, these knives give off the appearance of a finely sculpted piece of artwork.
However, it wasn't until I put them to use that I realized how amazing a cutting and slicing tool these knives are. I have used the Santoku and bread knives so far - what I learned is these knives are disturbingly sharp. Cutting bread with the bread knife required practically minimal pressure from my hand; with just a simple sliding motion back and forth across the top, it cut through bread like paper.
So far I'm very satisfied with my investment and believe it will be the only set of knives I'll ever need to buy.
Review 7 for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
InOverMyHead
Bellingham, WA
September 20, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievable
September 20, 2008
Simply amazing, these knives truly are works of art. When i first purchased them 3 months ago, I stocked up on produce and dismantled piles of vegetables. I made salsa after salsa just to use them. They have required no sharpening and minimal honing to maintain their surgical cutting edge. If you have the means, I highly recommend giving them a try.