Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set

Named for the blacksmith's forge, the Kaji series was developed by Shun's master knife makers exclusively for Williams-Sonoma. Combining ancient Damascus-steel and clad-construction techniques, this set makes an excellent introduction to the Kaji series. 65-layer blade features a premium SG-2 powdered steel cutting core clad in 64 layers of forged nickel/stainless steel Damascus. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blades' construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Handles are made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. These NSF-certified knives meet the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Bamboo storage block has 12 slots. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. 8-Piece Set includes: 3 1/2" paring knife. 6" tomato knife. 6 3/4" hollow-ground santoku. 8" chef's knife. 9" bread knife. 9" hollow-ground carving knife. 9" honing steel. 12-slot storage block. Please note: Storage block is counted as an individual piece.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
Review 1 for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LCAhwahnee
,Ahwahnee
,Ca
December 4, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicate but Awesome knives - prepared to replace!
December 4, 2014
These knives are a treat to use - the best knives that I will ever own and use, but will not last a "lifetime". These knives have excellent quality blades that keep there sharpness and easily re-sharpen, but are fragile. I've never chipped a knife in my life before these, but needed to replace twice the paring and santoku knives, my "work horse" knives.
Be very careful not to drop, handle roughly or place in the sink. To prevent damage or injury, I have to treat them like they are delicate but sharp obsidian (quartz) knives with deadly sharp but fragile edges. Wash immediately and put them back in the block to protect.
Great knife set for personal use (with caution). Not a good knife set for a "lifetime" of use by me, or for visitors, children or household members that won't care for them.. Have a second knife set for others or be be prepared for accidents, injury, damage, and replacements.
I can highly recommend treating yourself and buying this knife set.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Fragile, need to replace, need 2nd set of knives for others and tough tasks
Review 2 for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabbykitchen
,OH
July 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best knives I have ever used!
July 22, 2014
This is the best knife set I have ever owned. Super sharp, and very easy to handle. The 9" slicer cut right through a big watermelon super easily. I am able to slice carrots, potatoes and other root vegetables almost hair thin with these knives, which was very difficult to do with my old Zwilling knives.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Shape
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 3 for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shun
,Seattle
,WA
July 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High Maintenance Knives
July 17, 2014
I love these knives, but they are less than a year old and they have begun to rust. I hand wash them immediately after they are used, dry them, and store them in the knife block provided by the manufacturer. Apparently, they require more care. Shun knows that they rust but claims that this is not a manufacturing defect. They recommend a stainless steel cleaner to remove the rust. Others state that they should not be stored in the block because this promotes rust. So I will clean them, and store them on a magnetic strip and hope for the best. Even the oldest and cheapest of my knives has no rust on it. Had I known about the rust problem, I would have bought a different set of knives made with stainless steel that did not rust.
Pros: Balance, Sharpness
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 4 for Shun Kaji 8-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
February 26, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Knives
February 26, 2012
I bought these knives six months ago. I compared the Wustoffs, Henckels, and Shuns and naturally gravitated toward the Shuns. After trying each one, I thought I went with the Shun Kaji because it was far and away the best. I thought it would be the cheaper one since the design wasn't as over the top of as the Ken Onion, but unfortunately I was wrong.
Regardless of the cost, these knives are excellent. Each knife is very very sharp, and maintains its edge well as long as you use a honing steel. People complaining about them chipping should probably not be using these knives. Make sure you know how to prep before buying high end cutlery. Kind of like learning to drive a manual before buying a Ferrari.
Best knives I've come across. Beautiful design. Very balanced too. Handle fits the contour of your palm perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, awesome, best ever, beautiful