Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife

The perfect sandwich slicer, this multitalented serrated blade cuts effortlessly through meats, crusty breads, cheeses and tomatoes. The knife's wide shape and rounded tip are ideal for spreading condiments. The knife was developed exclusively for us by Shun, Japan's premier knife maker. Blade is constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Serrated blade cuts through a multitude of foods, while the wide, rounded tip is ideal for spreading condiments. Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.958 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
24 of 24(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
Review 1 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hyrurg
,KS
June 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great quality knife
June 30, 2014
One of the best knives in my kitchen.
Great quality, excellent accessory to any house/kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schmitt
,Ann Arbor
,MI
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding
August 12, 2013
We are true believers. My wife LOVES her Shun Kaji knives, and the Ultimate Utility is absolutely wonderful! She bought a Shun Kaji set and I gave her the Ultimate Utility knife for her birthday. Now, I'm usually good for jewelry or flowers, but this was a HIT! She uses it multiple times every day and extols its virtues every time. This one's a winner! I clean the knives, and they are truly works of art.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: none
Review 3 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2belles
,Houston
,TX
August 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
MUST HAVE tool!
August 3, 2013
If you only choose one Shun knife, this is the one! (And it's not just because it has a super cute monogramming option!!) I have several Shun knives and this is the one I reach for time and again. The blade length is perfect for so many things: cutting rolls, making sammies, general slicing and peeling. It has replaced three other knives in my kitchen and is truly the workhorse of the group. You will not regret this purchase!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Shape
Review 4 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bobbysmommy
,Herndon
,VA
December 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
extremely useful
December 19, 2012
Nice and sharp--easy to handle...use it ALL the time. I even bought one for my daughter for Christmas.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AimeeP
,New York
,NY
September 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost the Only Knife I use!
September 18, 2012
I've had this knife for almost 2 years now and I still use it every day! It is just now starting to show some slight dulling as I've never had it sharpened.
I agree with previous reviewers that it really is almost the only knife you need. I still use a paring knife for cutting small things.
I do have to warn others to be careful when using or cleaning it especially when it's new as I did cut myself a couple times when I first got it (once pretty badly).
As I use it so frequently, storage has never been much of an issue. It's on the cutting board all the time. I'm not sure how I would store it safely though, besides putting it in the box it came in.
Overall I'm very happy with this purchase and will buy a paring knife in the same brand when my current one is kicked as this is now the only brand I'll buy for knives!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 6 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cavemandog
,AL
August 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fine Craftsmanship
August 29, 2012
If I could only have one knife in the kitchen, this would probably be it!
Finest steel (SG2) and craftsmanship----what more can I say?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, ability of blade to hold its edge
Review 7 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefEiric
,Miami
,FL
August 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Knife Ever
August 26, 2012
I have owned several cooking knives thru my life. This one is the BEST by far. I use it now for practically everything, except for choping. I'm getting a new Shun for that. The design is great. It looks awesome and the materials are the best. Stays sharp and the weight is perfect. Just GREAT!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, Design
Review 8 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
baker271974
,Newburgh
,NY
August 16, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Strong, durable utility knife.
August 16, 2012
Razor sharp right out of the box. Great for a lot of the slicing I do. It's perfect for tomatoes, breads, sausages, etc. The handle is very comfortable, and the knife is lightweight, yet strong. I have been looking for a good serrated utility for a long time that didn't have a flexible blade. For me, the blade has to be straight, and strong so I can make straight slices. I am immensely happy with this knife, and it will be a favorite for a long time to come.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 9 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
staceyk
,seattle
,wa
July 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great all purpose knife
July 31, 2012
they're not kidding when they say this knife is sharp! great and versatile!
Pros: Quality, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape
Review 10 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
janetl
,Houston
,TX
July 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Utility Knife
July 23, 2012
I've been looking at these knives and finally purchased the 6" utility and it is great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 11 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
whitty1
,Richland
,WA
July 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous knife!
July 19, 2012
This knife has great functionality as well as appealing aesthetics, but most of all it cuts fresh vegetables and fruits particularly well. I simply hand wash it and dry it immediately after use so that I can use it again or store it. I cannot think of enough good comments to make on this knife!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 12 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kangofumarsha
,Brooklyn
,NY
Brooklyn, NY
July 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun knives "rock"
July 17, 2012
I absolutely love this knife! I use it to cut fruits and vegetables. It's also great when cutting crusty breads. The design of the knife is beautiful; I love it so much more than the other shun designs. The handle fits so perfectly in my hand, it's as if the knife were made just for me! As with all my high quality knives, I always hand was and dry them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 13 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
olive2
,southampton
,NY
July 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
happy to own this
July 12, 2012
This Shun utility knife is amazing. So incredibly sharp and therefore excellent performance in the kitchen.
I have been careful to use it mostly for cutting vegetables for stir fry or salads etc; which was the recommended feedback I read from other users.
It can also be used to cut meats, just not for cutting through bone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 14 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JBryner
,Pittsburgh
,PA
July 12, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect utility knife
July 12, 2012
great handle, balance and razor sharp edge. perfect for breads, tomatoes, squashes, eggplants, etc. I am simplifying my knife collection, and this Shun covers a lot of bases. With a good chef's knife, like the Shun 8" i have, you can do at least 95% of all kitchen knife tasks. Also, it looks nice up on the wall!
Pros: Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 15 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
motosax
,Dallas
,TX
June 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this thing
June 27, 2012
I had pricy German knife before, I was not impressed. It reached a point I don't see what the big deal it was. So I get cheap knife. By accident I found this knife. I thought it cuts great, sharp and strong. My wife rejected this purchase at first, until she used it and couldn't stop telling what a good knife it was. she decided to throw out all my other old knifes and she wants to buy more Shun knifes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 16 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizCNZ
Castle Rock, CO
June 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharpest Knife in the Drawer
June 25, 2012
Best, sharpest knife ever! Cuts with ease through anything. I just love it.
Review 17 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dougjane
,Valrico
,FL
June 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Knife
June 25, 2012
This knife is wonderful! It cuts like a razor blade and has superb weight and balance.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 18 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jan13
,Aledo
,TX
March 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect knife
March 26, 2012
This knife is smooth and easy to use! The best quality. I now want more of this brand.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 19 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAP69
,Pasadena
,TX
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT KNIFE
March 5, 2012
Wonderful knife. Feels great in hand, and is the sharpest knife ever. The Shun Kaji utility knife is the work horse of my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 20 for Shun Kaji Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
citcon
,Birmingham
,Al
Birmingham, A;
March 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great "fine" slicing knife
March 2, 2012
This Shun utility knife is really great for slicing very thin and accurate cuts . I love all my shun knifes
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
page1 2 next