Shun Kaji 4-Piece Steak Knife Set

From our premium Kaji line by Japan's Shun, these steak knives combine new technology with centuries-old traditions of handcraftsmanship. Set includes four steak knives. Blades are constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Handles are made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. These NSF-certified knives meet the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji 4-Piece Steak Knife Set
Review 1 for Shun Kaji 4-Piece Steak Knife Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JJLester
California
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent steak knives
January 5, 2011
The knives themselves are great. They are just as expected with look and quality. The only problem we had was when we put them into our knife block, that came with our Shun Kaji knife set, the steak knives would not fit. We moved them around to get four to fit in the outer two slots on each side but none of them would fit into the innermost slots for steak knives.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DentistDeb
Iowa
Posted January 22, 2011
Question About Knife Block
I was going to get the steak knives to go into my Kaji knife block also. I was wondering when you purchased your block if it was recent or not?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Shun Kaji 4-Piece Steak Knife Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SteakMaster
Birmingham, AL
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Steak Knife I've Ever Used Anywhere
December 25, 2010
Having grown up in the midwest, meat and potatoes have been a staple of my diet for as long as I can remember. I have used Wusthof steak knives for the last several years. I grew tired of the constant sharpening/resharpening of them, so I bought a set of these Shun Kaji knives. I loved how they felt in my hand in the store. I lost all sense of "am I paying too much for these knives" when I brought them home and grilled up some steaks. HOLY COW!!! (no pun intended). My entire family were expressly AMAZED at how effortless these UBER-SHARP knives sliced through the meat. These are, without question, the best knives I've ever seen and used. HIGHLY recommend them.
P.S. My rivets and case were just fine, so perhaps they've corrected any of the problems other reviewers previously expressed.
Review 3 for Shun Kaji 4-Piece Steak Knife Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LushLife
Virginia
January 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible, but inspect carefully...
January 16, 2010
I received a set as a gift. Before exchanging them for another set due to a cracked case, I noticed the rivets and tangs were not flush to the handles and to varying degrees. The second set was actually even worse. One knife was perfect but the others annoyed me so much I never used them and just returned them 2 weeks later. But I was lucky - the lovely sales person brought out 3 boxes of 4 knives and allowed me to find 4 perfect copies. Now all I can say is that they are awesomely beautiful with perfect function. So, 5 stars, but only when selected in person.
Review 4 for Shun Kaji 4-Piece Steak Knife Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeopardWhisperer
Novato, California
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hide these
September 4, 2008
There are two problems with these knives. First, they do not have a bolster like the Wustoff, so they can bite into your index finger if you hold it like I do. Second, they are constantly disappearing from my kitchen...everyone grabs them instead of a pairing knife. So hide them.