Shun Kaji 11-Piece Knife Block Set

For ambitious cooks, this set makes an excellent introduction to the Kaji cutlery series developed exclusively for us by Shun. The process of forging the blades combines ancient Damascus and clad construction techniques. Blades are constructed with a core of SG-2 powdered steel clad in a true Damascus layer of forged nickel and stainless steel. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blades' construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Handles are made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. These NSF-certified knives meet the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Cherrywood storage block has 22 slots. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. 11-Piece Set includes: 3 1/2" and 4 1/2" paring knives. 6" boning knife. 6" serrated utility knife. 6" and 8" chef's knives. 7" hollow-ground santoku. 9" bread knife. 9 1/2" hollow-ground slicing knife. 9" honing steel. 22-slot storage block. Please note: Storage block is counted as an individual piece.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Kaji 11-Piece Knife Block Set
Review 1 for Shun Kaji 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScottyMac
,Edgewater
,NJ
October 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent craftsmanship!
October 29, 2013
I personally did weeks of research using hundreds of sources (websites, stores, review sites etc.) Do yourself a favor and save yourself the time and hassle. Go out and buy these knives, they will not disappoint you!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Kaji 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefCleo
Potomac MD
September 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great balance! Great blades! A joy!
September 23, 2010
After using the Wusthof for many years, we, as others seem to have, started out with the Shun Classic knives and after purchasing the 6" Kaji Chefs and the 7" Santoku, took the plunge and bought the rest. We have never looked back and my wife and I, with two very different size hands, love the feel of the handle, the balance and the precision of the blades. It was a large investment but one well worth making.
Review 3 for Shun Kaji 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AngieH
KY
July 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Scary Sharp!
July 19, 2010
I handled many knives in WS before picking out the Kaji knives. The handles are comfortable; I like them much better than the D-shaped handles on the Classics. The Ken Onion handles felt too fat for my hand. These also had a nice weight to them (that felt "safer" to me). I cut cucumbers with these in the store, and there was a notable difference in sharpness between the Kaji and Classic lines. The Kaji is so sharp it feels as if it's the merely the weight of the blade that slices through the cucumber.
Be careful though! I managed to brush a finger over the edge of the blade when washing and sustained a cut!
The SG-2 in Kaji knives is sharper, but more fragile than the steel in the Classic, so don’t bang them around (save that kind of work for lesser knives). Shun offers free lifetime sharpening, so ship them to Shun so the local guys don't ruin your investment. I can't imagine these need to be sharpened anytime soon - maybe 1x/year in a VERY active kitchen!
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
LB78
IL
Posted April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was very helpful. Follow up to the comment made to your review on Shun no longer sharpening their knives for free. They must have realized the error of their ways, they once again sharpen for free! (As of September 2012)
0points
Customer avatar
REB99
Orange County, CA
Posted June 10, 2012
No more free sharpening
Part of my reason for buying the set was the free lifetime sharpening offer -- but shortly after buying them Shun ended its free lifetime sharpening policy. As of April 1, 2011, they set up three regional U.S. service locations that will sharpen your knives -- for a fee.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Shun Kaji 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KeithsKitchen
Prospect, Ky
August 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
INCREDIBLE HEIRLOOM QUALITY KNIVES
August 25, 2009
I own this Shun Kaji 11 piece block set, in addition to the Chinese cleaver and 10" Chef's knife, and I do not know what a couple of the reviewers on here are talking about since the fit and finish on my entire set is pure perfection. Every piece is smooth and perfect in every way. Besides being a work of art, these knives are the some of the finest handmade cutlery anywhere. I enjoy using each and every one for their intended purpose. They also come with an amazing lifetime warranty and complimentary sharpening for life from Shun. I believe the Kaji line for WS is the best all around by Shun. They are definitely heirloom quality and I can't believe anyone would be disappointed in any of the Kaji line of knives. You MUST consider them if you're looking for the best in kitchen cutlery!
Review 5 for Shun Kaji 11-Piece Knife Block Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tahitilove
Orem, UT
June 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome blades, problomatic handles
June 3, 2009
I saved money for months and months and finally bought a set of 11 piece kaji knives. It was a very hard decision choosing between 8 piece kaji fusion (since they just started price down) and this set, but I went for this set. This set was lighter, more classic looking, and comfortable. You may think kaji fusion would be more comfortable but it isn't because it is heavier, and made for bigger hands(mostly for men). Plus, this 11 piece set had wondeful free gifts that I couldn't resist (a free cleaver!! and something that I can't pronounce). I loved the blades so much that I can just look at them for hours but rough handels and protruding rivets drove me crazy. One of the reviews talked about the unsanity of the handle. Protruding rivets can attract bacteria and food can be trapped between rivets. This comment made me scary. I had to return half of the knives and tried to find non protruding ones. It was such a pain but I thought it worth it. Now, I can't wait to cook more.
Review 6 for Shun Kaji 11-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ghostdog
May 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good enough for a Samurai
May 16, 2009
It is said that the sword is the samurai's soul. So too has it been said by western masters like Alton Brown, Rick Bayless, Charlie Trotter, and Jacques Pepin that the kitchen knives are a reflection of the chef's that use them. The Kaji knives are a reflection of beauty, craftsmanship, and technology.
Any knowledgeable foodie will be immediately drawn to them and try to find a reason to use them. A slice here, a julienne there. Once they start using them they won't want to stop. So have plenty of small prep. items ready for them to complete. They'll enjoy making the items as much as they will eating them. It might even turn into a Kaji party!
Treat them with the care of a Kitchen Samurai and they'll always make you look good and they'll be the kind of possession that you will proudly pass on to the next generation.