Shun Hiro Dual-Density Utility Knife

Our exclusive Shun Hiro collection features high-performance Eastern-style knives designed for speed, agility and balance as well as striking beauty. A cutting core of ultra premium SG-2 steel gives them a super sharp, lasting edge, and hammered blades help keep foods from sticking for fast, efficient use. Handcrafted in Japan, this dual-density knife combines two types of serrations to cut easily through crusty breads as well as delicate tomatoes. Unique combination of low- and high-frequency serrations guarantees unsurpassed performance. Low-frequency serrations help minimize resistance between blade and cutting board. High-frequency serrations reduce tearing when cutting soft-skinned foods (like tomatoes) or slicing through hard crusts. The blade's core of SG-2 powdered steel is clad on each side with Damascus steel composed of 32 alternating layers of nickel and stainless steel, for a total of 65 layers. SG-2 is an extremely fine-grained, dense and hard steel, which enables it to take and hold an exquisitely fine edge with long-lasting sharpness. The hammered pattern (tsuchime in Japanese) helps the blade pass easily through food without sticking. Contoured, ambidextrous handle is designed for ultimate comfort and control. Handle is dark charcoal-colored PakkaWood with crimson striations and an inlaid mosaic Samurai family crest. Mirror-polished nickel silver bolster and end cap. 7 1/4"-long blade; 4 3/4"-long handle; 6 oz. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Hiro Dual-Density Utility Knife
Review 1 for Shun Hiro Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CraigTX
Texas
March 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Work of Art that Performs
March 1, 2014
This knife replaced our premium German tomato and bread knives. The fine serrations work massively better.
Also, the craftsmanship is superb ... it is a thing of beauty.
Wish it was and inch or two longer, but since we purchased it on a WS promotion at a significant discount, we have no complaints.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Hiro Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PMartin
,Waukesha
,WI
Waukesha, WI
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A true all-purpose knife
October 22, 2013
I love this knife. It cuts through practically anything, and it's held up very well for me through heavy use. I highly recommend it. And it's practically a work of art on top of that!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Hiro Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
raneydaycook
,seattle
,WA
Seattle WA.
August 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Visualy Stunning
August 5, 2013
Everything about this knife is cool!
The look of the blade is art in and of itself.
Every task I've done - from slicing tomatoes or onions to artisan breads and just plain halving a sandwich has been great. If you can buy only one great knife this should be it!
Treat it with respect and it will last a lifetime!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, beautiful
Cons: could be too sharp for inexprienced users
Review 4 for Shun Hiro Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
relaxeddoc
,Laguna Beach
,CA
July 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sheer pleasure to use
July 25, 2013
It's true, slices through tomatoes and bread effortlessly. But this knife is so sharp and so versatile it has become my "go to" knife. Previously, I'd had a bias against serrated knives for cooking. Now I know better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Hiro Dual-Density Utility Knife
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
izzo
May 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very fragile and thin blade tip
May 10, 2013
This is an incredibly beautiful knife so sharp and precise - I absolutely love using it. However, I am now returning my 2nd one. The first one the tip bent. The second one the tip broke. I have taken good care of the knife, following instructions, but the tip is just so fragile and thin. I wonder if these other reviewers have had the same problem a few months on.
Pros: Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape
Cons: Fragile, super thin blade tip
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CraigTX
Texas
Posted July 17, 2014
Very Fragile?
What are you trying to cut with this?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Shun Hiro Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garbone
,Gulf Shores
,AL
March 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A real cutup!
March 12, 2013
Outstanding feel and balance. Useful for all those slicing needs and tasks. Beautiful construction.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Shun Hiro Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NoviceCook11
,Los Angeles
,CA
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I recommend this item for bread bakers.
March 11, 2013
This knife is sharp. I recommend it to bakers, esp. For cutting sourdough or other baked goods with a thick crust. I think smaller utility knives are better for vegetables. This knife is very sharp so use a lot of precautions when handling.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 8 for Shun Hiro Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
QueenElizabeth
January 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The BEST KNIFE EVER!!!
January 18, 2013
This gift is the best knife I've ever used. After having it, I couldn't enjoy my kitchen without it. Cuts items with skin like tomatoes and eggplant with no effort. Great with cutting (not chopping) meats. And makes for a perfect bread knife as well.
It's important to know what this knife is designed for, and what a paring or chopping knifes do.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, beautiful
Review 9 for Shun Hiro Dual-Density Utility Knife
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
claybendOR
,BEND
,OR
bend or
November 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DID NOT LIKE IT FOR MYSELF
November 4, 2012
this knife had an incredible edge and worked amazingly well but was not very durable and I did not feel like it would pass the test of time the blade was a little too thin.
Pros: Sharpness
Cons: Fragile