Shun Hiro Chef's Knife with Stand

Our exclusive Shun Hiro collection features high-performance Eastern-style knives designed for speed, agility and balance as well as striking beauty. A cutting core of ultra premium SG-2 steel gives them a super sharp, lasting edge, and hammered blades help keep foods from sticking for fast, efficient use. Handcrafted in Japan, this chef's knife comes with a wood display stand. Eastern-inspired design with extremely thin, lightweight blade for fast and agile performance. The blade's core of SG-2 powdered steel is clad on each side with Damascus steel composed of 32 alternating layers of nickel and stainless steel, for a total of 65 layers. SG-2 is an extremely fine-grained, dense and hard steel, which enables it to take and hold an exquisitely fine edge with long-lasting sharpness. The hammered pattern (tsuchime in Japanese) helps the blade pass easily through food without sticking. Contoured, ambidextrous handle is designed for ultimate comfort and control. Handle is dark charcoal-colored PakkaWood with crimson striations and an inlaid mosaic Samurai family crest. Mirror-polished nickel silver bolster and end cap. Includes wood stand for storage/display. 6 1/4"-long blade; 4 3/4"-long handle; 6.2 oz. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Hiro Chef's Knife with Stand
Review 1 for Shun Hiro Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coolwhip
April 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Slices like a dream
April 27, 2013
Got this knife as a present and the HIro is quickly becoming my favorite. Razor sharp blade. I will interested to see how often I need to sharpen it.
Pros: Durable, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Hiro Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookWithaK
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Watch out food!
November 23, 2012
I am a professional cook and was looking for a flashy yet useful knife to use at work. Well it seems i found it. The 8" Shun Hiro chefs knife works beautifully and its beautiful to look at too! It makes cutting vegetables, fruits, and proteins a breeze. The only issue i have with it is that its a bit expensive so it needs to be taken care of especially around careless co-workers. The shun logo printed on the knife also is a bummer since it wore off after a few months of use. Other than that it is a pleasure to work with such a wonderful kitchen tool. I never cook without finding myself picking up this knife.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Fragile, logo wore off, expensive
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Flambe
US of A
Posted April 21, 2013
Shun Hiro Chef's Knife with Stand
Good review on the 8" knife, however your comment did not address how this 6 1/2" Shun Hiro Chef's Knife with Stand performed...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Shun Hiro Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MyReviewForYou
,Seattle
,WA
October 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and useful
October 18, 2012
I took the WS knife technique class and fell in love with the Shun Hiro Chef knife. Not only is the knife/stand lovely to look at, it is a pleasure to use. It makes chopping/slicing a breeze. Almost fun.
The knife is nicely balanced and light weight. The blade handles everything from meats, tomatoes, harder vegetables and slicing sandwiches. It is the first knife I reach for when cooking. The stand is more then just an accessory. It displays/protects and allows for easy access to the knife. I've had the knife for about 1 month, so cannot comment on the long tern durability, but so far have not had any issues. I did purchase the Shun honing steel and use that weekly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Hiro Chef's Knife with Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KnifeEnthusiast
,Arlington
,VA
July 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful to look at. Cumbersome profile.
July 13, 2012
Among the powdered-steel SG-2 Shuns, this feels the lightest in my hand, and does feel perfectly balanced. The blade is quite thin for a Shun. The knife is beautiful to look at.
The jigane does not appear hammered on as an integral part of the forging process, but rather 'stuck on' to the hagane. There is a definite irregular 'stuck-on' type transition between jigane and hagane as opposed to a smooth grind. It doesn't take away at all from the beauty of this knife, but the clad was not part of the blade during the entire forging.
My BIGGEST COMPLAINT is with the profile of the blade. As with most Shun blades the edge near the tip curves up significantly. Any attempt at delicate tip-work requires a dramatic elevation of the arm to get access to the tip edge. If you're an amateur that leans toward rock-chopping everything, it's a good design. If your knife stills are better than amateur, you will usually not choose this profile.
My Hiro was sent back.
Pros: Balance, Size, Sharpness, Weight