Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Shun Hinoki Cutting Board

Made by Japan's leading blade manufacturer, these cutting boards protect the finest cutlery and help keep your knives sharp for years to come. The boards are made of Hinoki, a medium-soft wood that adeptly conceals minor cuts and scratches. Hinoki wood, or Japanese cypress, has natural antibacterial properties that make it ideal for kitchen prep work. The straight, subtle grain of Hinoki makes this stain-resistant board attractive enough for use at the table as well as in the kitchen. Hinoki wood is resistant to rotting and fungus growth, and has a naturally fresh citrus fragrance. Ideal cutting board for protecting the razor-sharpness of Shun knives. Made in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
2 of 3(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Hinoki Cutting Board
Review 1 for Shun Hinoki Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,MN
June 7, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great cutting board
June 7, 2016
I never thought I would be impressed by a cutting board. There is something about the wood used to make this cutting board that makes cutting and chopping more enjoyable. It is very lightweight but it does not slide around on the quartz countertop. The wood is softer and forgiving and you can just tell that the knife blade is not getting dulled. It kind of slides across the grain of the wood yet slicing and dicing is stabilized. I have used an Epicurean board for a very long time (years) but this Shun board is just more 'tactile' and well, you just have to use it to understand what I a saying. I only wish I had purchased the medium size. The small is a bit too small.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quality, Weight, Balance, Easy to Store
Review 2 for Shun Hinoki Cutting Board
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Memphis
,TN
February 4, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lightweight alternative to end-grain boards
February 4, 2016
This is a good cost-effective and lightweight alternative to much heavier and more expensive end-grain chopping.
The soft hinoki wood helps protect the edge of the hard steels used in Japanese knives to help avoid dulling and blade chipping That is the main reason to choose a hinoki board over other, less expensive options.
I followed the Use and Care instructions and treated the board before use with some cutting board oil. In addition to protecting the board, it also brought out the beauty of the wood.
I use this board with my Shun Classic and Premier knives, using their recommended push cutting motion. No issues with splintering so far, and the blade edges are holding up well.
The board is much lighter than other types of wood cutting boards which makes it convenient for use. I bought the Medium board which a a convenient size, but I would recommend the large if you have a lot of prep to do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Weight, Easy to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JohnH57
Memphis, TN
Posted July 20, 2016
Added a second one of these, Large size
I liked this board so much I bought the Large size to go along with the medium I already owned. Even though it is a larger, thicker board it is still very lightweight. I have a couple of edge-grain boards (Boos and one other) but I prefer the Shun Hinoki due to weight.
Definitely go with the Large for most food prep. The medium is fine for a quick meal or if space is limited, but the Large is the ideal size for me.
Do get a good cutting board oil or board butter to maintain the board. It protects the wood and makes cleanup simple. Re-apply every so often per instructions.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Shun Hinoki Cutting Board
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,New York
,NY
New York City
March 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Soft (good) Splinters (bad)
March 14, 2015
I bought this board because I thought it would help to preserve the sharpness and longevity of my Shun chef's knife -- and it may well do that -- but I noticed that the board is so soft that it splinters. The splinters are tiny, nevertheless, I would prefer not to have them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SuSu2
NY
Posted December 13, 2015
Top 25 Contributor
W-S should add "disagree" next to "not helpful"
This review is definitely helpful
Although the board is made of medium-soft wood in order to "adeptly conceal minor cuts and scratches", no one wants splinters of wood in their food.
It looks like people who disagree choose "not helpful" .
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)