Shun Fuji Santoku Knife

The Shun Fuji santoku's razor-thin, lightweight blade makes for extremely fast, agile chopping and slicing - ideal for precision cuts and mincing. Every curve and line has been meticulously hand-smoothed for precise performance without bruising or tearing delicate foods. Inspired by the high-performance knives used by Japanese chefs, our exclusive Shun Fuji collection represents the very best in cutlery craftsmanship and technology. Developed for the experienced cook who prefers the lightness and razor sharpness of Eastern-style blades. The blade's core of SG2 steel is clad on each side with Damascus steel composed of 80 alternating layers of nickel and stainless steel. Resulting 161-layer blade is thin and light yet strong and hard, with a supersharp cutting edge. Handle is dark tagayasan wood, or "iron sword wood," an extremely dense wood traditionally used in Japan to make samurai sword handles. The double-D handle shape has finger ridges on both sides for a comfortable, ambidextrous grip. End cap made of polished Damascus steel. Shun Fuji collection won the "Kitchen Knife of the Year Award" at the U.S. 2011 Blade Show for the best in new product quality and design. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Fuji Santoku Knife
Review 1 for Shun Fuji Santoku Knife
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KitchenPhil
,Los Angeles
,CA
Santa Clarita, CA
February 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wish the craftsmanship was better
February 13, 2014
The design of the knife is unique. I like the double-d handle shape and the tagayasan wood handle used. The knife is light and sharp which makes this tool a daily favorite.
Unfortunately, considering the premium price and also the Fuji line is one of the top of the line from WS, the finishing craftsmanship is poor. I literally looked at more than a dozen of them - visited 3 stores, before choosing one that was satisfactory.
Good
+ Design
+ Light
+ Sharp - SG2 steel core
+ Tagayasan wood handle
Bad
– Poor finishing
– Butt of the knife had uneven and unfinished grinding and faint & uneven embossing
– Couple of wood handles were poor wood quality - tiny cracks, brittle appearance, unpolished
– The damascus layering ran down to the edge of the blade
– The bolster had poor inconsistent polishing
Pros: Sharpness, Shape, Design
Cons: Quality, poor craftsmanship, uneven finish
Review 2 for Shun Fuji Santoku Knife
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ecami
,Glenn Dale
,MD
September 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice but heavier than expected
September 20, 2012
well balanced but heavier than one would expect for premium Japanese knife technology.
Pros: Quality, Balance
Cons: Weight
Review 3 for Shun Fuji Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MasterChef83
,Aloha
,OR
February 3, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hefty price, but worth every penny.
February 3, 2012
I own the Shun Class 8 Piece Block set, and I had to get my hands on this, regardless of what the wife told me. Incredibly sharp, true Damascus blade, and it does cut finer then my Shun Classics. Go out and get one!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: High-Maintenance
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Shun Fuji Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjv1
,San Jose
,CA
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delightfully Sharp, Balanced an Comfortable to Use
January 5, 2012
I have always used the chef's knife in the past. Went to the WS store in Santa Clara, CA and tried both the Fuji Chef and Santoku for feel.
It's a personal thing, but I loved the feel of the Fuji Santoku. The knife is sharp beyond anything other than a Steel Damascus blade and it holds it's sharpness especially if you use a ceramic honing rod.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Fuji Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JOHNDC
,Philadelphia
,PA
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
October 24, 2011
Wow, what a knife. It is worth every penny. Frankly the blade is razor sharp and has held it edge despite significant cutting. In addition the Damascus steal surrounding the blade really does keep almost everything from sticking. Even filleting chicken breast with this large knife was effortless. Veggies are chopped as finely as you could ever want. Lignt too with a great grip. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 6 for Shun Fuji Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SteveP2000
Massachusetts
August 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceeds Expectations
August 7, 2011
The santoku is my all around #1 blade: I have a Wusthof hollow ground and a Chroma 301 - luv em both and are always in use. When I spotted this Fuji I decided to add it into the rotation. Day one and already I know this will be my primary knife from here on out. The craftsmanship from the handle to the blade is superb. It has some heft but it is extremely well balanced with the long handle. The weight carries evenly along the cutting surface providing a smooth action - unlike my Shun Edo DD which feels clumsy and slightly out of control. The Fuji Santoku 7.5 has more blade in contact than my other two and technical cuts, chopping, and slicing all have a great feel. Onions paper thin. Slices through ripe tomatoes with ease. It may be my most expensive knife, but the quality and performance will undoubtedly make it the most used.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight