Shun Fuji Honesuki Knife

The unique curved blade of this Japanese knife deftly works around the bone and flesh of meat, poultry and fish. Inspired by the high-performance knives used by Japanese chefs, our exclusive Shun Fuji collection represents the very best in cutlery craftsmanship and technology. Developed for the experienced cook who prefers the lightness and razor sharpness of Eastern-style blades. The blade's core of SG2 steel is clad on each side with 80 alternating layers of nickel and stainless steel. Resulting 161-layer blade is thin and light yet strong and hard, with a supersharp cutting edge. Handle is dark tagayasan wood, or "iron sword wood," an extremely dense wood traditionally used in Japan to make samurai sword handles. The double-D handle shape has finger ridges on both sides for a comfortable, ambidextrous grip. End cap made of polished Damascus steel. Shun Fuji collection won the "Kitchen Knife of the Year Award" at the U.S. 2011 Blade Show for the best in new product quality and design. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Fuji Honesuki Knife
Review 1 for Shun Fuji Honesuki Knife
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ajmayb
,Albuquerque
,NM
June 9, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I loved my Kaji blades so I thought the Fuji would
June 9, 2014
Well, it was. It is beautiful and feels good to my large hands BUT the blade pitted in multiple areas. It's obvious that anyone who spends this much money on a blade would use it as it should be used. After about a month, I noticed multiple nicks along the blade. It was NEVER used for chopping. I'm very disappointed with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Weight
Cons: Fragile, beware of the cutting edge
Review 2 for Shun Fuji Honesuki Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KnifeAddict
,Melbourne
,FL
January 3, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Killer Utility Knife
January 3, 2014
The Honesuki is excellent for its intended use, but don't underestimate it as a fantastic all purpose utility knife. It will lay waste to anything in it's path, and do it effortlessly.
I've own the 6" Fuji Chefs knife as well, but I reach for this baby for detail work and it doesn't ever disappoint. The surface is as close to non stick as you can find.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Fuji Honesuki Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefRB
,Oxford
,Pa
August 27, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite knife for butchering
August 27, 2013
Great knife the Fuji knives have great balance and the handle is very comfortable . The tip on this knife makes butchering chicken easy and efficient .
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Fuji Honesuki Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrapperJoe
,Hammondsport
,NY
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pleasure to Use
August 12, 2013
Bought the Shun Fuji 5½" Honesuki Knife for boning poultry and lamb. The difference between any boning knife and the Shun Fuji Honesuki Knife is like night and day. Never knew that a tedious job like boning could become such a pleasure! Have always known that there is the right tool for any job, and the Honesuki is the one to have.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Fuji Honesuki Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IvanNYC
,New York City
,NY
New York
May 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good, not great.
May 10, 2013
With a large collection of high quality knives I have decided that the Japanese make the best. I have several Shuns (including a Shun Kramer, the best) and this is my least favorite. It does not seem to be as sharp as the others. The interesting design, meant primarily for boning chickens, works well, and the rear tip is useful in other applications. Related note: the W-S on line video is less than helpful: about half the time the chef's hands are between the camera and the bird, so you can't really see what he is doing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Strength, Weight
Review 6 for Shun Fuji Honesuki Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SmokinJoe
,clawson
,mi
March 20, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun Fuji Honesuki Knife
March 20, 2013
I have purchased two of these knives and find them to be of an excellent quality expected from a Shun knife. I am an experienced owner of Shun Classic, Shun Kaji, Shun Fuji and Shun Bob Kramer knives. This knive has a thin blade and is therefore somewhat fragile and attentive care is essential. Sharpening and care of a Shun knife is a skill that is acquired over many years of practice but is well worth the effort. The Shun Honesuki knife is a good investment.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: none
Review 7 for Shun Fuji Honesuki Knife
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kmnado
,Coronado
,CA
July 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
6of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Did not meet my expectations
July 12, 2012
This knife feels great and is extremely sharp, BUT after a couple of months, the edge is significantly nicked and pitted -- it has been hand washed and kept in a wooden slot, but any little drop of water seems to cause rust and that leads to a small nick. My Wusthof knife is holding up much better after many years. I am probably going to return this.
Pros: Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Fragile