Shun Fuji Chef's Knife

When it comes to fast, precise chopping and slicing, this is the ultimate all-purpose knife for cooks who favor the lightness and super-sharpness of Eastern cutlery. The slightly oversize, deep-bellied blade features a core of SG2 Japanese steel that holds an exquisitely fine edge with unparalleled durability. Inspired by the high-performance knives used by Japanese chefs, our exclusive Shun Fuji collection represents the very best in cutlery craftsmanship and technology. Developed for the experienced cook who prefers the lightness and razor sharpness of Eastern-style blades. The blade's core of SG2 steel is clad on each side with Damascus steel composed of 80 alternating layers of nickel and stainless steel. Resulting 161-layer blade is thin and light yet strong and hard, with a supersharp cutting edge. Handle is dark tagayasan wood, or "iron sword wood," an extremely dense wood traditionally used in Japan to make samurai sword handles. The Double Chestnut handle shape has finger ridges on both sides for a comfortable, ambidextrous grip. End cap made of polished Damascus steel. Shun Fuji collection won the "Kitchen Knife of the Year Award" at the U.S. 2011 Blade Show for the best in new product quality and design. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Fuji Chef's Knife
Review 1 for Shun Fuji Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AndrewBaltimore
,MD
April 26, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High quality steel & great looking
April 26, 2014
By far the best knife I have ever owned or used!
The first time I used this knife was for a bone-in ribeye that my butcher cut too thick (3 inches). I grabbed my 10" Fuji chef knife to see if it could cut through bone. I turned the ribeye on its side, and cut through the meat and bone with ease. UNBELIEVABLE!
Super impressed with the quality of the knife as well as the overall appearance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Strength, Sharpness
Review 2 for Shun Fuji Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrapperJoe
,Hammondsport
,NY
August 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Knife Ever
August 4, 2013
I decided it was time to buy a new set of knives and carefully researched what I wanted. Shun was the "no brainer" and my first purchase was the 10" Fuji Chef's Knife.
It's like I never knew what a really good knife was like! Pricey, but you get what you pay for, and then some. The Chef's Knife is the workhorse of the kitchen, and Shun Fuji is the ultimate knife to own. SHARP, well balanced, comfortable and a pleasure to use.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Fuji Chef's Knife
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jerk77
,des moines
,ia
March 20, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very nice knife for a home chef
March 20, 2013
This is a very sexy knife with a very sharp edge however..... i have had to replace it 4 times. FOUR. William sonoma has the BEST customer service ever, they replaced it every time no questions asked. I had a steel defect, then the handle shifted, and then it was just dull. point is if you use you knife everyday like I do go with a different kind of shun.
Pros: Balance, Size, Strength, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Fuji Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jay1111
,Cape Cod
,MA
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
January 14, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flawless Performance
January 14, 2013
I own six chef's knives, three of which are made by Shun. This knife is far and away the best knife I have ever owned or used. It is incredibly sharp and well-balanced; the perfect knife for slicing, dicing and mincing. While I am very fond of my other Shun knives, they pale in comparison. Granted, it is a little pricey. But if you are only going to own one high-end knife, I highly recommend you make it this one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Weight
Cons: none
Review 5 for Shun Fuji Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Agonystes
,Portland
,OR
Portland, Oregon
August 25, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost perfect
August 25, 2012
As a professional chef in a fine dining restaurant, I have come to know what I love in a knife and what limitations other knives have. Regarding the Fuji 10" chefs, this knife has no limitations. I am left handed, and the double "D" handle contours my hand perfectly. The iron sword wood handle has a great texture for grip. The gyuto style SG2 PM blade holds a lightning edge with my black ceramic hone, and has the perfect amount of raised belly for chopping, mincing, or walking my blade across a cutting board. This is the number one blade I reach for at the restaurant, or at home and I have Macs, Shuns, Hattoris, Yaxells, and Kramers, hands down this beats them all.
You can find other gyuto style SG2 knives in the $400 range, but none with the looks, design, function and attention to detail, that this knife has.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
pinkmagnolia
Richmond, VA
Posted June 4, 2014
black ceramic hone
What kind of black ceramic hone do you use? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Shun Fuji Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KnifeEnthusiast
,Arlington
,VA
July 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb fit and finish.
July 14, 2012
I have over 3 dozen hand-made Japanese knives, and I obtained the Fuji chef knife by chance. It went ignored for months because I considered it cumbersome and heavy compared to my 5 to 6-ounce wa-gyutos of similar length which can outperform the Fuji in almost any task. The Fuji has finally grown on me. The fit and finish is beyond reproach, and the SG-2 steel behaves as I've known it to behave. It does not keep the light-saber feeling for long, but it stays acceptably sharp for a long long time. The Shun Fuji is NOT among my top 10 favorite knives, but I find that I grab for it more and more when I want the benefit of extra weight or a wider gyuto. Guests like the stunning looks.
Unlike with the other Shun Chefs knives with horribly high elevated tip profiles, you won't get carpal tunnel syndrome doing repeated tip-work with the Fuji. The edge profile was done correctly.
4 1/2 stars.
Pros: Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 7 for Shun Fuji Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ironchef60
,NH
New England
April 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If you buy one high end knife, make it this one.
April 3, 2012
I purchased this knife in December. I also have 3 other shun knives. A Kaji, Classic, and a Classic Stainless Steel. I Also have two Global knives, and a couple of lower end German Steel. Before I got the Fuji I used all the other knives according to the task at hand. Now I use the Fuji almost exclusively. The sharpness of the blade, and comfort of the handle allows me to chop larger vegetables, carve and slice meats, then deftly mince garlic and shallots without switching knives. It is also excellent with hard and some soft cheeses. I even cut thin slices of fresh mozzarella, you just have to rinse the blade after the third slice. The price may be high, but the value, quality, and beauty of this knife justifies the purchase. Guests who come to dinner, that like to help out with the prep, can't keep their hands off this knife. The only con is, the food does not fall away from the blade as they would have you believe, but is better than the other knives I have that make the same claim.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 8 for Shun Fuji Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RJames
,Fort Mill
,SC
March 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First knife that i go for
March 28, 2012
This is expensive but completley worth it, it makes my job in the kitchen so much easier from slicing or dicing veggies or cutting meats or sandwhiches. Worth every penny you won't be dissappointed.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Review 9 for Shun Fuji Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrvino
,Coral gables
,FL
February 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This knife is a work of art
February 22, 2012
This is as good a knife as they come. The sharpness and the ease of use are excellent plus it is a beautifully crafted utensil.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 10 for Shun Fuji Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ching
Laurinburg,N.C.
February 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Choice
February 9, 2012
Yes, this knife is expensive,but it does so many things with ease. I use it daily to chop,mince vegetables and crush garlic.It slices raw meats with ease and produces super thin slices of cooked meats.I enjoy the feel of the handle and the ability to use the knife in either hand.Do be careful when first opening your new knife because it is VERY SHARP. I am glad I purchased this knife.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness