Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand

When it comes to fast, precise chopping and slicing, this is the ultimate all-purpose knife for cooks who favor the lightness and super-sharpness of Eastern cutlery. The slightly oversize, deep-bellied blade features a core of SG2 steel that holds an exquisitely fine edge with unparalleled durability. Inspired by the high-performance knives used by Japanese chefs, our exclusive Shun Fuji collection represents the very best in cutlery craftsmanship and technology. Developed for the experienced cook who prefers the lightness and razor sharpness of Eastern-style blades. The blade's core of SG2 steel is clad on each side with Damascus steel composed of 80 alternating layers of nickel and stainless steel. Resulting 161-layer blade is thin and light yet strong and hard, with a supersharp cutting edge. Handle is dark tagayasan wood, or "iron sword wood," an extremely dense wood traditionally used in Japan to make samurai sword handles. The double-D handle shape has finger ridges on both sides for a comfortable, ambidextrous grip. End cap made of polished Damascus steel. Includes a display stand. Shun Fuji collection won the "Kitchen Knife of the Year Award" at the U.S. 2011 Blade Show for the best in new product quality and design. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
Review 1 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shebop
,Tampa
,FL
November 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOTHING SHORT OF AMAZING
November 11, 2013
This is an incredible knife. I own several Wüsthof knives, which I love, but they can't compare to this knife. I have been a loyal Wüsthof customer for years and I still love their knives; however, I am so thankful I decided to give this knife a whirl. I will be buying more Shun Fuji knives.
The precision, lightweight, and effortless movement of this knife is unbelievable. You have to try it for yourself to believe it. You will not be disappointed with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IslandChef57
,Eastsound
,Wa
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best knife ever
November 1, 2013
Fits perfectly in my big hands but just as well in my wifes smaller hands. Well balanced, light and razor sharp. I already own 3 other Shun knives and they are fantastic for their purposes. But this one is such a versatile size that it has already become my go to knife.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KnifeAddict
,Melbourne
,FL
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife
September 24, 2013
As a self admitted knife addict, I was immediately impressed with the fit and finish of this intermediate sized blade. The balance and degree of sharpness out of the box is incredible. Shun got it right this time with a combination of practical attributes and esthetics.
As a professional chef with over thirty years of culinary experience, and multiple thousands of dollars invested in Japanese knifeware, this piece is a slam dunk bargain at close to 55% off retail.
Do yourself a favor and buy it! You'll have a smirk on your face everytime you pick it up. Totally flawless finish, superb balance, great handle, magnetic curb appeal, but more importantly totally functional. Really good example of beauty and the beast.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: could use a custom saya
Review 4 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ProCook787
,New Jersey
,NJ
August 26, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible Knife!
August 26, 2013
I have had this knife for a few months and use it for 8 hours straight. I purchased 3 other Shun knives the same day and they mostly sit in my bad as this has become my go to knife.
The short 6" blade is perfect for the small workstation I have and it handles everything from fine chopping to basic prep work. My favorite part of the knife is the dimpled blade as I am able to process 100 pounds of potatoes without them sticking to the blade! My German knives aren't able to do that.
My only complaint is the handle. It's shaped for ambidextrous use and the ridge on the left side is slightly annoying.
The blade stays razor sharp and I have only used my steel a few times. And comes clean with diluted soap and water.
Visually it is a beautiful knife and I am considering buying more Fuji Shun knives in the near future.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tcascade
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Approaches Perfection
August 12, 2013
At 70% off retail, this knife was hard to pass up. I'm really, really happy with my purchase.
A couple of things to know:
1. This knife does not seem to carry the NSF certification seal. I'm not sure why. Possibly the tagayasan wood handle?
2. The handle is nearly twice the diameter of other chef's knives, and it has a grainy texture. But, it feels absolutely great in my hand. Very secure. It is also longer than most other handles.
3. The belly of this knife is deep, (more than 2 in.). Again, though, I really like that.
4. The blade is between 6.5-7 in. long, and it weighs 198 g (7 oz) on my scale.
5. There is a unique concave shape at the bolster (where your middle finger rests), which is extremely comfortable.
It's hard for me to imagine a more-perfect knife. I use it for 90% of my food prep.
Review 6 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
whodatgal1
,New Orleans
,La
August 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it, but
August 7, 2013
Cuts through everything like butter!! No need for a sawing action, just drop it down and it is done. Great weight, it feels good in your hand, and with the stand it actually complements my kitchen counter. Truth be told, I only bought this knife because it was massively discounted. I had a Shun knife previously and was disappointed, the edge broke cutting a spaghetti squash! But, this knife has delivered, granted in the short term, and no way would I have paid the retail asking price for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Size, Weight
Review 7 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Theguywhodoesthecooking
,Safety Harbor
,FL
August 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Knives
August 6, 2013
These knives were worth every penny and then some. I love using them. They feel good in my hand and they stay sharp. They are awesome. Also, love the way they look. I intend to buy more of them!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 8 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aurora1
,Rochester
,Mi
May 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Piece fo art...
May 18, 2013
This knife is truly beautiful.. its very functional as well. a true combination of form and function. Simple classic design. Love it!1
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 9 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scott21
,West Covina
,CA
February 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Knife
February 15, 2013
This is a great little knife. It’s scary sharp out of the box and holds a great edge. Had it for 3 months now, using it almost every day and the edge is almost like new. All knives get dull, doesn’t matter how high end or expensive they are, but this one, I have not had the need to put it on a Japanese whetstone for sharpening yet-probably for a long while.
The SG2 core steel is very good compared to VG10 which some people complain to be a little chippy. The hammered Damascus alloy sandwich over SG2 is a beauty, although it does nothing performance wise for the knife. Fit and feel of this knife is one of the best I’ve seen, I love the handle it is very comfortable and the whole knife itself is very well balance.
My only complaint, and this is just my personal preference, is the huge belly on this knife (German Profile). I prefer the Japanese/French profile with less belly for slicing and push cutting. If you like rock cutting the extra belly is perfect for you.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Sharpness
Cons: Size
Review 10 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christian1971
,Oshkosh
,WI
December 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a knife
December 2, 2012
The price of the knife is great its a great knife very sharp cuts everything like butter, a must have..
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Strength, Sharpness, Shape
Review 11 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bgreenberg
,brevard
,nc
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
FABTABULOUS
November 26, 2012
I love everything about it. Sharp, balanced, beautiful finish... I collect custom and production knives and this is one of my favorites. Looking forward to getting more Fujis.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight, Texture
Review 12 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dutch865
,Southern
,CT
November 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A slice of heaven
November 7, 2012
As far as a general purpose kitchen knife goes, I can't imagine how this design could be improved on. The blade is very sharp, slicing up tomatoes & onions into paper-thin wafers. It handled chicken breasts with similar ease. It's a joy to use & has fantastic balance which gives it a wonderful feeling in the hand. Not to mention it's one of the most beautiful blades I've seen!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 13 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChipChop
,Denver
,CO
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Light, sharp and beautiful.
November 5, 2012
So far I have enjoyed this knife very much. I purchased it because I needed a shorter blade for use during dinner service. It has lived up too most expectations. My only complaints are that the handle isn't as comfortable as my other KAI made knife and I wish it came with a scabbard instead of a stand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Weight
Cons: High-Maintenance
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chilinw
,Minneapolis
,MN
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Go To Knife for Most Jobs
November 5, 2012
This is my 2nd Fuji knife purchased at WS. I love using this knife for my smaller tasks. It makes any job a breeze! It cuts and chops like a dream. Who would ever think of cutting and chopping as fun, but you will with this knife.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 15 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bookfemme
,Chambersburg
,PA
July 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding
July 27, 2012
This knife is well balanced, beautiful to look at, and a dream to use. I use it especially for chopping vegies and fruits. My hands are small and slightly arthritic and it's very comfortable to hold and manipulate.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 16 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
claybendOR
,BEND
,Or
bend or
February 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite knive!
February 5, 2012
this knife is extremely comfortable, it keeps and edge like no other and the balance is better than a global the handle is long and suitable for hands small to large with excellent grip and durability. This knive is perfect for light kitchen work. Watch out it is also somewhat attractive other people will suddenly be trying to use it and you will have to shut them down!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 17 for Shun Fuji 6" Chef's Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RichardAS
,Bridgewater
,NJ
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Investment Yet
January 2, 2012
I just bought my first Shun Fuji 6" Chef's knife and it makes all my other knives look like they came from a $1 store. Now is just need to figure out how soon I'm going back for the next one in what I'm sure will be a growing collection. Once you go Shun there's no going back.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight