This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shun Edo Utility Knife

Shun Edo's reputation for superior power and control is reflected in the extraordinary appearance of their cutlery. The VG-10 steel blade's eye-catching hammered pattern reduces drag and helps food release easily, and the handle's tear-drop shape and broad bolster facilitate a variety of cutting techniques. This knife's long, narrow blade is designed to provide excellent control for precision tasks and plenty of leverage for chopping and slicing. Wide bolsters and ergonomic grips reduce tension and fatigue while providing added leverage. Incredibly dense VG-10 "Super Steel" blade is tempered for exceptional hardness and edge retention. The hammered pattern ("tsuchime" in Japanese) helps the blade pass easily through food without sticking. Handle is made from resin-infused PakkaWood for lasting moisture resistance. Shun's knife-making technique draws upon the traditions of Japanese sword-making while employing state-of-the-art technology. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level hygiene standards for commercial kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Edo Utility Knife
Review 1 for Shun Edo Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ruben
,Overland Park
,KS
July 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
New Go To Knife
July 12, 2012
This is now my go to knife for preparing salads, pico de gallo and for my fruit snacks. The knife is very sharp, handles great and makes a clean cut. I look forward to adding more Shun knives to my collection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness
Review 2 for Shun Edo Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janus
,Gunpo-si, Gyeonggi-do, Republic of KOREA
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
So~~~good~~~~knife~~^^
June 26, 2012
Some of the best knife I ever used so far seems like a good knife.
Comfortable grip ~ ~
Sharp blade ~ ~
Overall balance ~ ~
Stylish design ~ ~
Superior than any other knife knives are proud.
I have a knife for the assessment to be helpful in your purchasing decision origin.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Edo Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shunadmirer
,Jacksonville
,FL
June 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Excellent knife
June 18, 2012
I'm just sayin'....be careful with this knife or store your bandaids in the kitchen. This knife handles extremely well and is the sharpest knife I've ever met.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Edo Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nuani3
,Miami
,Fl
May 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great knife
May 15, 2012
Cuts smoothly and beautifully crafted. Well worth it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Edo Utility Knife
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bnyc
,New York
,NY
April 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Nice Knife but not fully forged
April 24, 2012
This is a very pretty knife and is reasonably sharp. However it is not fully forged as shun classic and most other shun knives are. the blade appears to be forged not stamped but it is a blade sandwiched between a separate bolster and 2 sided handle.
also this knife is not as sharp out of the box as some shun classic knives I have had for several years (also purchased here) overall a prettier knife than the classics and a good price but if I where to buy this knife again I would buy the shun classic version.
Pros: Versatile, Balance
Cons: not a one piece forged blade/tang
Review 6 for Shun Edo Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CincyJ
,Cincinnati
,OH
March 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Amazing knife!
March 19, 2012
WOW! This knife is fabulous. It was like using a razor to slice through vegetables and meat. It's lightweight, perfectly balanced and beautifully designed. The handle is ideally shaped to fit into your hand and it really makes my food preparation go quickly and effortlessly. I bought another Shen knife when I purchased this one, and I intend to add more to my collection. I feel like a "samurai chef" when I use them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Shun Edo Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
federalista
,Washington
,DC
Washington, DC
January 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My Favorite Knife!
January 24, 2012
I have owned a number of different knife sets within the past 15 years, including Wusthof Classic, Zwilling S, and now Shun Edo. I must say that the Shun knives are my absolute favorite.
This knife, in particular, is an absolute gem-- it is the first knife that I reach for when slicing and dicing veggies or tofu, when cutting up chicken or trimming steak. The knife is not too big, as I find many chef's knives, and it is considerably larger than the Shun Edo paring knife. It is weighty enough that you feel its presence, but balanced so well that it is completely stress free when holding it.
I use a magnet strip for my knives so I don't have any problem storing them as the other reviewer mentioned.
I loved this knife so much, I actually bought a second one so that my husband can use one at the same time as me. Interestingly, one of them is a whole 1/2 inch longer than the other, and also shaped slightly differently. That aside, I love this knife and highly recommend it to all.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight