This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shun Edo Santoku Knife

Shun Edo's reputation for superior power and control is reflected in the extraordinary appearance of their cutlery. The VG-10 steel blade's eye-catching hammered pattern reduces drag and helps food release easily, and the handle's tear-drop shape and broad bolster facilitate a variety of cutting techniques. Combining the strengths of a chef's knife and cleaver, this santoku knife is indispensable for chopping, slicing and dicing. Wide bolsters and ergonomic grips reduce tension and fatigue while providing added leverage. Incredibly dense VG-10 "Super Steel" blade is tempered for exceptional hardness and edge retention. The hammered pattern ("tsuchime" in Japanese) helps the blade pass easily through food without sticking. Handle is made from resin-infused PakkaWood for lasting moisture resistance. Shun's knife-making technique draws upon the traditions of Japanese sword-making while employing state-of-the-art technology. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level hygiene standards of commercial kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Edo Santoku Knife
Review 1 for Shun Edo Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SJPNyacker
,Nyack
,NY
July 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Superb Santuko
July 30, 2012
I owe several Shun knives but this was first Santuko. It is a bit heavider than my German-made Santukos but has great balance and feel to it and it is as sharp as all the Shun blades.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 2 for Shun Edo Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PurpleBasil
,MA
March 9, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Greatest Knife I Have Ever Owned.
March 9, 2012
I'm a chef and have been almost all my life. i have used many types and brands of knives. i have come to the realization that a great knife is a necessity and this knife is perfect. well balanced and a perfect fit for any size hand. The description is deceiving though, the knife i bought in store is actually 7.5'' which in my opinion is better. if you are use to using German steel this is a great transition due to the similarity in weight and durability. so happy with my purchase. highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Edo Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bythesea
,Fort Lauderdale
,fl
December 7, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My absolute favorite knife
December 7, 2011
I had wanted a new knife and one day while I was in a WS store, a Shun rep was giving demonstrations. After a lot of questioning ( I do a lot cooking and owned a restaurant ) and testing the knife, I bought it. It immediately became my favorite. I use it for almost every thing. I do have to warn you that when you first buy it, it is EXTREMELY sharp. So much so that while I was washing it, I sliced the sponge like it was nothing. The instructions say something about being dishwasher safe, but I don't put any of my knives in the dishwasher. This one I wash by hand and dry immediately with a soft cloth.
My Dad is a home chef and I just bought him one for his birthday. He's thrilled.
You will not be disappointed, this is the best knife you will own.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Edo Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NeneKan
,Sonoma
,CA
September 14, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This is like a precious!!
September 14, 2011
I'm just feel very satisfied everyday I use it!! It looks good, it feels good, it is good !! I love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Edo Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackson91355
Valencia Ca
August 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect Tool
August 11, 2011
The handle fits in my hand as if it were custom fitted. The blade is a perfect size for most jobs from chopping to slicing. The overall balance is perfect insuring control. Blade sharpness is impressive. I am 100% pleased. This my tool of choice in the kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Shape
Review 6 for Shun Edo Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Merv
Mobile, AL
July 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome Knife
July 26, 2011
Gave it to my Son-in-law for his birthday...he was so excited! Said it was the best knife he had ever used! Thinking I might get one for myself!
Pros: Size, Sharpness, Weight
Review 7 for Shun Edo Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ranger0608
N Louisiana
May 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Stunning Knife
May 2, 2011
I have finally worked with a "real" knife. If you have ever watched cooking shows and thought my knife will not do that! Then try this knife! It will, it can and it does do all the hard work. I have cut my prep time, enjoyed the work more and this is a stunning knife to keep on my counter for the next meal! I will be saving to buy more of this brand.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 8 for Shun Edo Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
homecook8
Toronto
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
If you love a great knife...
March 16, 2011
I fell in love with this knife a few years ago and had a hard time justifying the cost. My wife tried to buy it at xmas in Canada but the line is no longer there, so on a Vermont ski trip I got it! It is a great knife. All knives are different but this one has amazing balance and don't worry about the weight. It cuts through anything that is fo be cut and leaves your hand feeling relaxed. Grab any Shun knife and you will appreciate the feel. They put thought in where few other knife makers go. And it is truly a thing of beauty. Art!
Review 9 for Shun Edo Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julie9
Texas
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
My favorite knife!
January 25, 2011
I got this knife for Christmas and I love it! I've used it a lot and it still cuts through everything like it's butter.
However, what really makes this knife exceptional is the ergonomic handle and the notched ridge where the handle meets the blade so, when using the knife properly, that ridge doesn't press into the finger.
I really hope they add to the Shun Edo line as it's knife selection is far less than the other Shun lines.
Review 10 for Shun Edo Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NICOLAS
South Carolina
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
6of 13found this review helpful.
MY SON'S BEST CHRISTMAS PRESENT EVER
January 2, 2011
We purchased this knife for a Christmas gift for our son who is attending culinary school at Johnson&Wales in Charlotte, NC. He is 24 years old and will graduate in May of 2011. This is the one and only gift that he wanted this year and the excitement he showed when he opened that knife was truly genuine. I don't think he has been that excited over a Christmas gift since he was a child. He immediately went to the kitchen and found a huge onion to dice,cut, and chop on.