This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shun Edo Paring Knife, 3 1/2"

Shun Edo's reputation for superior power and control is reflected in the extraordinary appearance of their cutlery. The VG-10 steel blade's eye-catching hammered pattern reduces drag and helps food release easily, and the handle's tear-drop shape and broad bolster facilitate a variety of cutting techniques. This precise paring knife is indispensable for trimming and peeling fruits and vegetables. Wide bolsters and ergonomic grips reduce tension and fatigue while providing added leverage. Incredibly dense VG-10 "Super Steel" blade is tempered for exceptional hardness and edge retention. The hammered pattern ("tsuchime" in Japanese) helps the blade pass easily through food without sticking. Handle is made from resin-infused PakkaWood for lasting moisture resistance. Shun's knife-making technique draws upon the traditions of Japanese sword-making while employing state-of-the-art technology. This NSF-certified knife meet the high-level hygiene standards of commercial kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Edo Paring Knife, 3 1/2"
Review 1 for Shun Edo Paring Knife, 3 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAP69
,Pasadena
,Tx
December 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My new favorite knife !
December 24, 2012
I use this knife everyday. Has stayed sharp so for, and feels great in my hand.This is my 2nd Shun knife in my collection, hope to add more.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Edo Paring Knife, 3 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PurdumPam
,Purdum
,NE
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great knife!
November 28, 2012
This knife is very comfortable to use and is also a great size. It is extremely sharp and looks good too.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Edo Paring Knife, 3 1/2"
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MSMoore
August 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-14points
1of 16found this review helpful.
Use and Care
August 30, 2011
The Use and Care section of this tool notes the following: :With regular use and honing once a week, you should not need to sharpen your knife more than once or twice a year." Honing once a week will lead to premature demise! Words are swapped and should read as follows: With regular use and sharpening once a week, you should not need to hone your knife more than once or twice a year.
Review 4 for Shun Edo Paring Knife, 3 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WINTERLOVER
ATLANTA
February 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
MOST USEFUL KNIFE IN MY KITCHEN!
February 11, 2011
I have many Ken Onion Shun knives and love them all. But this Shun Edo parking knife is, by far, the most reached for and useful knife in my kitchen.
The fit in my hand (average size for female) is sturdy and there developed an immediate trust in my cutting actions with this winner! It is VERY controllable and sharp. I even grab it for chopping up celery and carrots and such as it is just so comfortable and reliable. I TRUST THIS KNIFE to follow my lead EXACTLY! This will be your "go to" knife. I wish I had had it for years and years and years as prep work would have been much easier and whole lot less scary!
This knife should not be viewed as a spluge for it is an investment in making your everyday work easier than you ever imagined! You will have absolutely no regrets but an immediate sigh of happiness, having found at last, the knife for which you have always searched!
Review 5 for Shun Edo Paring Knife, 3 1/2"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Addicted2WS
Central Coast, Ca
August 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Perfect Pairing Knife!
August 30, 2010
I got this knife and love it! My fiance who is a bartender also loves it and has been known to take it to work with him to cut up fruits and garnishes. my only complaint is that with my small hands the handle sometimes feels awkward when I hold it but other than that it out preforms all of my other knives!