This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand

Shun Edo's reputation for superior power and control is reflected in the extraordinary appearance of their cutlery. The VG-10 steel blade's eye-catching hammered pattern reduces drag and helps food release easily, and the handle's tear-drop shape and broad bolster facilitate a variety of cutting techniques. This versatile blade excels at a wide variety of tasks, from slicing delicate mushrooms to chunking pineapple. The innovative combination of low-frequency and high-frequency serrations serve to improve performance. Low-frequency to help minimize resistance between blade and cutting board. High-Frequency to reduce tearing when cutting soft-skinned foods (like tomatoes) or slicing through hard crusts. Wide bolsters and ergonomic grips reduce tension and fatigue while providing added leverage. Incredibly dense VG-10 "Super Steel" blade is tempered for exceptional hardness and edge retention. The hammered pattern ("tsuchime" in Japanese) helps the blade pass easily through food without sticking. Handle is made from resin-infused PakkaWood for lasting moisture resistance. Shun's knife-making technique draws upon the traditions of Japanese sword-making while employing state-of-the-art technology. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level hygiene standards of commercial kitchens. Includes a bamboo display stand. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
17 of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
Review 1 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Connoisseurs
Phoenix, AZ
August 28, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Absolutely the best knife in the world!
August 28, 2011
The hanle is weighty but yet perfection in my hand. I consider this the best knife I have ever owned! I have specialty knifes for every occassion but I fined myself reaching for this everytime.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, never needs sharpening
Review 2 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SteveP2000
Massachusetts
June 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
10of 13found this review helpful.
I wanted to love this knife
June 11, 2011
This is the most attractive in my knife drawer, but the least useful. At the time i ordered it there was a full set of reviews: most glowing and only a few negative, so I had high expectations.
To my disappointment, this knife has been a flop. You can't chop with it because there's not enough surface contact, slicing requires elongated action for the same reason, the blade is thick and pebbled so it drags through firm veggies and 'squeezes' moisture as the blade descends with greater than normal outward pressure. The small serrations bite and drag - even though they are amazingly sharp, and it eats cutting boards.
It's a nice, heavy, beautiful knife that I so want to love, but I just can't find what it's proficient at. Chicken breast, onions, apples, crusty bread, tomatoes, potatoes - it doesn't matter what I try - I have knives that do everything better without the hot looks. Oh, and the knife does not stay put on the provided stand.
This is definitely a knife you should try first.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Size, dysfunctional design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Pixi
Posted July 21, 2011
Your review was most helpful! This is one of the most beautiful knives I have ever seen and I was planning on purchasing the knife.
I will not make the purchase and I thank you. It is much too expensive to be disappointed after.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aster
June 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
beautiful and sharp
June 2, 2011
I love this knife for it's beauty. The handle is somewhat clunky and makes it not as easy to hold as the other shun knives with straight handles. Cannot chop with it, but for slicing onions, tomatoes, pineapples, etc. there's none better. The tip is incredibly thin and sharp, and it broke off the first day. It's so sharp that sometimes it's a bit scary to use. I guess any serrated knife would have done the job of slicing my tomatoes, but as I said this knife is simply beautiful to look at. Not sure if it's worth the price though... but I don't regret buying it.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 4 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PammieSue
Richmond, VA
February 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
GREAT KNIFE
February 17, 2011
I have been admiring this knife since it was first introduced. It is not only beautiful to look out, but great to use. This is a must knife to have.
Review 5 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gizmo2010
Canyon Lake, TX
February 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Nice Knife
February 16, 2011
It is a beautiful knife that I would love to display on my wall knife holder, however I am assuming because of the indentations on the knife blade, it does not stick to the wall and slides off. Other than that I would recommend it. It slices really nice and is well made.
Review 6 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
NJ
February 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Nice knife but fragile
February 16, 2011
I like this knife, and I own a lot of very good knives, this cuts as described, and maintains it's sharpness as most serrated knives do. However, I have only had this a couple of weeks, and used it carefully on a cutting board, and the last time I picked it up to use it I noticed the tip was broken off. It does not interfere with the function, but this is the 3rd Shun knife I have bought and two of them have had problems with the cutting edge breaking.
Review 7 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellie276
Brookings, OR
February 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The best knife...I have ever used!
February 10, 2011
I purchased this knife hoping that it would be able to cut the sourdough bread that I made into thin slices. My other bread knife took some "sawing" to cut even into thick slices and the bread got squished in the process. This knife
cuts with ease into very thin slices of bread. This knife is fanastic at cutting vegetables such as red peppers, onions, carrots, etc.
Review 8 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mfnh
NH
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful knife !
January 27, 2011
I have had many quality knives over the past years but this is the best ! I got hooked on Shun knives when I bought my first one, a paring knife , and have only purchased Shun's since. I have arthritis so I find the larger grip makes it easier for me to use, but the nice thing about Shun is that they have such a variety of them to offer . I would never go back to any other kind!
Review 9 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VegasLL
Las Vegas, NV
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Approved by the Chef
January 3, 2011
Bought this knife for my husband who is a professional chef...he loves it!! You could use this knife in a professional kitchen, but we decided to keep it at home since it is so stunning looking and looks great on the countertop. Works great on all types of chopping/slicing jobs from apples, garlic, shallots, onions etc..
Review 10 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SCOOBS
LAS VEGAS, NV
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
THE REAL DEAL!!!!
December 26, 2010
THIS KNIFE IS LIGIT!!! YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY FOR THIS PURCHASE!!! IT IS WORTH EVERY PENNY. MAKES CUTTING ANYHTING SO EASY...I COULD NEVER GO BACK TO A REGULAR KNIFE AGAIN!! VERY HAPPY:)
Review 11 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MISMAC
Northwest Wisconsin
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome Knife
December 24, 2010
This knife is incredible! It is like a warm knife through butter regardless of what you're cutting! Couldn't be happier with its performance as well as its looks.
Review 12 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mjsw
Rhododendron, Oregon
October 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Makes a chef smile..........
October 21, 2010
This knife not only looks beatiful but handles like a dream. Very well balanced, glides through food as if you are cutting butter. You won't be disappointed.
Review 13 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zotz
Collegeville,Pa
October 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very Sharp
October 13, 2010
A great weight knife . It can do alot of different tasks in the kitchen and do them with ease.
Review 14 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jen82
South Carolina
September 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
beautiful and functional
September 25, 2010
In response to the other reviews:
Yes, this knife cuts very easily and with great efficiency. However, I would never buy a knife for just looks, which is why, unfortunately, this knife has a 4.7 out of 5 stars.
Please remember to keep the knife in the bamboo stand provided and *never* use a magnetic block. You may want to do some research to ensure that you use proper storage of your knives to keep them in superb condition - especially this knife.
You will enjoy this knife if you are looking for a great utility knife from Shun.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Bobthefirst
Fountain, CO
Posted February 22, 2011
Re: Magnetic Strip
The reason this knife cannot be used on a magnetic strip is the reduced surface area resulting from the hammering process. This knife is "wavy," meaning only the high ridges would make contact with the strip. The result is a magnetic bond that is too weak to support the weight of the blade, causing the knife to fall.
0points
Customer avatar
Shirliann
Lady Lake, FL
Posted February 11, 2011
Magnetic Knife Holders
I don't understand why you couldn't
use a magnetic knife holder with any knife. Please let me know if there is a reason. I don't want to ruin any of my knives.
Thanks
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seckzthing
Hillsborough, NJ
September 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Sharpest, most effortless knife I've ever owned
September 8, 2010
This knife requires almost no pressure or effort to slice through meats, tomoatoes, etc. It's so well-made and the weight is perfect for making less work out of each cut. The cutting edge is the sharpest I've ever known. I really like the fact it came with a bamboo holder, too. For a knife of this caliber you want to store it properly and the bamboo holder is essential.
Review 16 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fishonbarefoot
Oceanside
August 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Great Knife
August 31, 2010
This is a great all purpose utility knife. The majority of my knives are Global having given up on Henkels and Wustofff years ago. What I really like about this Shun knife is it has a heavier feel than the Globals..not that I'd give up any one of those!
Review 17 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
africa17
Wilmington, DE
August 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great knife for cutting anything.
August 30, 2010
What ever I have tried to cut has been like a hot knife thru butter
Review 18 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bloomie50
Washington, DC
August 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
3of 12found this review helpful.
Try Before You Buy
August 9, 2010
I bought this knife on looks alone. I'm a big fan of the Shun Classic line, and this seemed like an interesting variation. The Edo knives are noticeably heavier than the Classic and have wide, rounded handles, neither of which suit my particular taste in kitchen knives. As a bread knife, this blade doesn't appear to work any better than a more traditional design; I haven't had time yet to explore other possible uses. If you're looking for a knive based on past experience with other Shun designs, make sure you give this one a try before you purchase it. (P.S. The dimpled blade doesn't stick very well to a magnetic knife holder, so be prepared to use a knife block or the included bamboo stand.)
Review 19 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margot06
Knoxville, TN
August 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Versatile and beautiful
August 8, 2010
I had been planning to buy a Global Santoku -- having several Globals for years and loving them. But when I saw the versatility of this knife, I abandoned my Global plan. It slices through tomatoes with zero resistance and I cannot wait to try it on crusty French bread, which it seems ideal for. It even helped me fillet a fish - wrong, I know, but I wanted to try. Good knife. Great balance and fits my small hand.
Review 20 for Shun Edo Dual-Density 8" Utility Knife with Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goldwatch
Tome, NM
August 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
This knife ROCKS!
August 7, 2010
I just purchased this knife and LOVE it! The first item I cut immediately was an onion. I was able to effortlessly mince an onion in no time - thin slice and dice with no drag. The same went for crusty bread - a precision cut with hardly any crumbs! The next item was a piece of roasted pork - deli thin! What a great Cuban sandwich!
I have a decent pair of Santuko knives, promoted by a famous chef, and did not realize I was sawing. There is no comparison between those knives and this one - the Shun Edo knife is in a league by itself! I know I will enjoy this knife for years to come and have already decided to purchase the whole collection.
A word to the wise - Shun knives are at a 16 degree bevel (most Asian knives are at 15 degrees and European/American blades are at 20 degrees). Shun carries their own sharpener to accommodate their bevel and will sharpen a knife for free as well.
Purchase this knife, it's a great investment that you will not regret! Worth its weight in steel!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
turnjep
Southern Oregon
Posted December 29, 2010
I have many wonderful knives. One of my relatives bought me this for Christmas. Instead of using another knife to cut the Christmas prime rib, I used the one that I had received earlier in the day. This knife can do anything. It went through an 11.5 lb. prime rib like it was butter. I was impressed as was my family.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)