This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand

Shun Edo's reputation for superior power and control is reflected in the extraordinary appearance of their cutlery. The VG-10 steel blade's eye-catching hammered pattern reduces drag and helps food release easily, and the handle's tear-drop shape and broad bolster facilitate a variety of cutting techniques. This chef's knife's superb balance make it perfect for chopping firm vegetables, mincing herbs and julienning celery The blade's weighty feel takes the hard work out of more demanding tasks such as quartering a chicken. Wide bolsters and ergonomic grips reduce tension and fatigue while providing added leverage. Incredibly dense VG-10 "Super Steel" blade is tempered for exceptional hardness and edge retention. The hammered pattern ("tsuchime" in Japanese) helps the blade pass easily through food without sticking. Handle is made from resin-infused PakkaWood for lasting moisture resistance. Shun's knife-making technique draws upon the traditions of Japanese sword-making while employing state-of-the-art technology. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level hygiene standards of commercial kitchens. Includes a bamboo display stand. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand
Review 1 for Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jay1111
,Cape Cod
,MA
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
July 30, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Good, but not Great
July 30, 2012
A very well made knife with good balance and a nice feel in the hand. Nevertheless, I ended up returning it because it did perform any better than my Shun Classic or my Shun Ken Onion. In fact, I thought the thicker blade hindered its slicing ability ever so slightly in comparison with my other two knives.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Shape, Weight
Cons: Sharpness
Review 2 for Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SJPNyacker
,Nyack
,NY
July 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My number one knife
July 30, 2012
This is actually my second Shun Edo chef's jknife, the first is still in fine working order. I find the steel on the Suhns are a little softer than the German blades but this holds it's edge nicely and this is true workhorse in the kitchen.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheCookneedsabowl
St. Augustine,FL
March 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The ultimate chef's knife!!!
March 31, 2011
I have tested a lot of 8" chef knives and Shun Edo has the ultimate grip. Some chef knives are too light and have uncomfortable handle design. I really love the weight of Shun Edo because I feel that I am in control. In regards to the food sticking to the dimples, keep on slicing, and chopping the food until it hits the top of the knife.
The ultimate test: mirepoix = onions,celery, carrots (lots of them!!!)
Also try zucchini, squash,beef steak tomatoes, lemons,garlic.
I love Shun Edo chef knife,it makes my prep work fun,fast,easy,and precise:-)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LewT
Knoxville TN
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
GREAT knife!
February 19, 2011
When I first saw the Shun Edo series, I was pleased to see the size, blade geometry and ergonomics. The first of the Edo series I purchased was the 8" Chefs knife. I have large hands, and I can easily use this knife for a long period of time with little discomfort. The knife hones easily, and keeps a great cutting edge.
While I would not recommend the Edo series to people with small hands... for me this is a great chefs knife, and I am highly pleased with it's performance!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LACoook
Los Angeles
January 29, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
food stick problem
January 29, 2011
When I first got this knife, I was thrilled because I'd never before had a really great knife. It cuts like a dream, the wide blade is great, and it's heavy, which I love. The slice and heft are great, but after a couple months usage I became continually frustrated at how much food sticks to the blade, which is hammered only halfway down. It's impossible to keep a good pile of cut food going, because everything ends up on the knife.
I love the way the knife cuts through food, but I eventually ended up returning it because I lost so much time pulling food off the blade. If only the entire blade were dimpled, I would have LOVED this knife.
Review 6 for Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boominc
hanford, ca
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
beautiful and graceful
December 25, 2010
simply the best knife in my opinion. it does everything you want it to and more. cuts green bell peppers better then any other knife. i recommend it to everyone.
Review 7 for Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhilRon
Littleton, CO
December 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Best of the Best
December 1, 2010
Excellent!! I was looking for a knife to use for work since the bulk brand they use at the restaurant just isn't that good. I have to use a Chef's Knife constantly throughout the day and the Shun Edo is the best I have ever used. It fits the hand comfortably, the weight and balance is perfect and I'm able to use it for long periods without any hand fatigue.
Review 8 for Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeanneH
Seattle, WA
November 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Comparison knives are nowhere near comparable
November 21, 2010
After trying the Chef knife side by side with the comparable Henckels knife, I found that the hands-down winner was Shun on every count - sharpness, weight, balance, and overall performance. After using the Shun knife for the past few weeks I really wish that we had sprung for the full Shun knife set instead, it would have been a money saver in the long run!
Review 9 for Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zuly21
Montclair, CA
August 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Aaamaaaizzing knife!
August 27, 2010
This is truly a beautiful knife! It will stand out in Any kitchen! Very light weight and sharper than anything I have ever used! I truly recommend this product! I love the bamboo stand it came with! Definitely worth evey penny!!!
Review 10 for Shun Edo 8" Chef's Knife With Stand
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bayoucook
new orleans, la
August 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
very impressed so far
August 15, 2010
I went down to the store thinking I was going to get the Shun Classic Hollow ground knife, bet went away with this fine knife. I had not held the Edo yet, and when I did, the grip really fit my hand.
I like to hold high on the handle, with my forefinger and thumb on the blade, and this knife if perfect. Not that the Classis wasn't, but the Edo was a bit more comfortable for me.
It cuts great, feels very sturdy and balanced. I can't wait to cut more things, especially heavy duty jobs-this thing can probably quarter a chicken like nothing.
Upsides: Balance, sturdiness, edge, handle, "dimples", attractive
Downsides: might be heavier than other models (but not enough for me to notice at all). "dimples" are also high on the blade, so don't prevent very small items from sticking until they get pushed up to the dimples.