Shun Classic Wide Paring Knife

This paring knife has a wide blade that proves handy for crushing garlic and transferring finely chopped ingredients to your bowl or pot. The size and shape are so versatile, this tool essentially functions as a small utility knife for a range of cutting tasks. VG MAX "super steel" blades are clad on each side with 69 microthin layers of stainless steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Exceedingly sharp cutting edge is long lasting and easy to maintain. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. 4 1/4"-long blade. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Wide Paring Knife
Review 1 for Shun Classic Wide Paring Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CGRTexas
,Tx
January 15, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great paring knife
January 15, 2015
Love this paring knife - perfect weight keeps a sharp edge. A great addition to my Shun knives.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Classic Wide Paring Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roody
January 13, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
January 13, 2015
We have a full set of the Shun Classic knives and purchased this one to replace a damaged paring knife. Outstanding edges, steel, and feel.
Review 3 for Shun Classic Wide Paring Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
musicmom
,Gold River
,CA
January 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this knife now I want all sizes in Shun.
January 12, 2015
This is the best knife I have ever had. Now I hate all my other knives and have ordered other sizes of Shun. Try it you will love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Classic Wide Paring Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wrobelan
January 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WIDE paring knife
January 12, 2015
I recently purchased this knife for myself and several others. Overall, everyone has enjoyed it, but as the title of this review, and of the knife itself, indicates, this knife is really quite wide. I think people who use a paring knife to peel, which is not something I generally do, will find it cumbersome or even uncomfortable. It is great for small off-board and on-board cutting. I note this because I also have the Shun Edo paring, another wide knife, that many have complained about due to its girth.
I can say I recommend it, but I think a trip to the store to check it out first would be prudent.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Classic Wide Paring Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TFoodie
,USAFA
,CO
January 7, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow - A Great Kitchen Tool
January 7, 2015
This knife fits perfectly in my hand, surgically sharp - be careful. Does a great job - luv it!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Weight