Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife

Combining the best of two knife-making traditions, this knife from our Shun Classic line has a thicker blade than traditional Japanese cutlery and a 22-degree cutting edge modeled after European chef's knives. The thicker, heftier blade allows it be used for heavy-duty cutting tasks while still offering the superb edge retention of the Shun Classic VG-Max "super steel" blade. Japanese-made chef's knife with the 22-degree blade-edge angle of Western kitchen cutlery. Appropriate for tasks such as cleaving, cutting through chicken bones, cracking crab shells and preparing melon fruits with thick rinds. Thick, strong blade offers more belly curve for rocking cuts. Broad blade is useful for transferring chopped foods from cutting board to pot. VG-Max "super steel" blades are clad on each side with 69 microthin layers of stainless steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and is D-shaped to sit comfortably in the hand. Extra weight in stainless-steel bolster balances the heavy blade. 6" knife: 6"-long blade; 5"-long handle; 6.8 oz. 8" knife: 8 1/4"-long blade, 5"-long handle; 8 oz. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife
Review 1 for Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
August 17, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
edawgs review
August 17, 2016
this knife is terrific. I've never had a better knife. Best knife ever.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 2 for Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Carolina Beach
,NC
January 12, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible blade
January 12, 2016
I had been looking for a great chefs knife at the right price for a while. A knife I could keep for a long time with a good blade which would stay sharp given good care on my part. Over a year ago, I saw the Shun Classic Western Cooks "8 knife in a catalog. I went to a local store to check out knives. I looked at Wustoff, Global, Shun, etc. I was impressed with the good balance but light, nimble feel of the knife in my hand. I knew this was the knife. I I saved pennies, nickels quarters and asked for donations, lol. Unbeknownst to me, my wife and best friend chipped in together and bought the knife for me for a Christmas gift. This knife is awesome. Super sharp out of the box. Used it the day after Christmas. Shun makes a great knife. Well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quality, Size, Weight, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 3 for Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Arlington
,VA
January 31, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile and Durable
January 31, 2015
Having cooked on a line for a few years on and off, I bought this once I started up again last year. Needless to say this knife is the star of the kitchen and it has inspired other knife purchases to rival it. It still stands as the most durable and useful knife there. As long as you treat it right, it will keep an edge for a long time.
Pros: Durable, Size, Versatile, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Jose
,CA
December 14, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic in Every Way
December 14, 2014
My Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife has withstood a year of heavy, daily use, and I love it just as much today as the day I took it out of the box. The handle is comfortable for my small hands, and the knife is remarkably light. The chef's knife also holds its edge much better than any other knife I've owned.
After my bad experience sending the knife to the Kai USA factory for sharpening, I was worried that the knife wouldn't hold its edge, but I've found a great local service to keep my Shun razor sharp.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight, comfortable handle
Review 5 for Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Metro Louisville
,KY
August 7, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beauty and Classic Shun Quality
August 7, 2014
This is my go-to chef's knife for 90% of the cooking I do. Great balance, light weight, well balanced, nimble and holds an edge well. Beyond its usefulness, the fit and finish on this knife are top shelf. A real pleasure to use and to look at. With reasonable care, should be an heirloom.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 6 for Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Boca Raton
,FL
March 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharp Sharp Sharp wow
March 19, 2014
this so far is awesome i love it iv only used it once right out of the box it was perfect ill come back and edit this over the next few weeks and post how i feel about it but had to give this right now its awesome
i love the wester blade nice size in the 8 inch and i love the asian handle perfect for my right hand
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Shape
Cons: Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
nickelname
In a messy apartment
Posted December 5, 2015
Earth to T-Pup
Have you been too busy slicing and dicing to get back and update this review? I am trying whether or not to take the plunge on getting one of these(Shun; not particularly this model, but it might be.) Every bit is data I get, the better choice that I can make. Thanx in advance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Newburgh
,IN
Newburgh, IN
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun Classic Western Chefs Knife
December 10, 2013
We have owned this knife for three years now and it still is my "go to" knife for so many needs. It keeps its edge a very long time and can cut as thin as you like.
Most folks hear about how much knives like this cost and snub their nose and start mentioning cheaper alternatives until they come to my house and use it. I had one friend turn around and purchase an entire set after using this knife.
Great job Shun!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, fit and finish, demascus
Cons: none
Review 8 for Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vancouver, BC
February 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best of both worlds
February 3, 2013
This knife keeps its edge really well as you would expect from Japanese style knifes. Also, it is not as brittle as the other Shun classic knifes since the edge is on a 20 degree angle, ie a thicker blade.
Review 9 for Shun Classic Western Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Montclair
,NJ
February 21, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very versatile, more durable than other Shuns
February 21, 2012
Bought the 8" Shun Classic Chef's Knife an returned it after a month. This was a much better alternative as the deeper belly of the blade prevents knuckles from repeatedly hitting the cutting board. As with any other Shun, I am stunned by how sharp it is every single time I pick it up. My only complaint is that the company doesn't make it in 10"! It would be the perfect knife.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight