Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver

In Asian kitchens, cleavers like this one function as chef's knives for chopping and slicing vegetables and boneless meat and then transferring food to the pot. Made in Japan and developed exclusively for us by Shun, it merges new technology and centuries-old handcrafting traditions. VG-MAX "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Wide blade efficiently chops and slices, then aids in transferring food to the pot or bowl. Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. 7"-long blade, 3 1/2"-long handle; 12 oz. Made in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
2 of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
Review 1 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
memr
,nj
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Blade Chips
December 27, 2013
I used this knife only on vegetables and the blade chipped within 6 months. The knife does a great job chopping soft vegetables, but you can't use it on any hard vegetables. I am sure the chipped pieces wound up in our food.
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 2 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PapaChef
,Taylors
,SC
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite knife!
January 3, 2013
This knife is my personal favorite. I use it as a Chinese Chef's knife, since having seen it used that way by Chen Kenichi on Iron Chef Japan. I have owned mine for close to 10 years, and use it all the time. It is amazingly sharp, durable and holds its edge. It is incredibly versatile for a large knife, and cuts effortlessly. It is large and heavy enough to handle big tasks, yet sharp and manuverable enough for small garnishes. It will easily dice tomatoes w/o crushing them! For everyday use, I have this knife and a Shun Classic paring knife. That is all I need.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick7895
December 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Vegatable Clever
December 13, 2012
Understand this is NOT a clever used to chop through bones. It's meant for vegetables. It slices through vegetables with accuracy and easily. I love using this knife when I have a lot of prep work. The large surface area means I can scoop up a lot of food and transport it.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 4 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shortagee
,Bermuda
,Na
November 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not what I expected.
November 6, 2012
I own numerous classic shun knives. Most of which have been fantastic. I was however utterly disappointed with the cleaver as the durability just isn't there. The blade is far too brittle and chips easily.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: High-Maintenance, Fragile