This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver

In Asian kitchens, cleavers like this one function as chef's knives for chopping and slicing vegetables and boneless meat and then transferring food to the pot. Made in Japan and developed exclusively for us by Shun, it merges new technology and centuries-old handcrafting traditions. VG-MAX "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Inspired by centuries-old samurai sword-making techniques, the blade's construction creates a supersharp cutting edge. Wide blade efficiently chops and slices, then aids in transferring food to the pot or bowl. Handle is made of moisture-resistant, resin-infused PakkaWood, shaped for comfort and control. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. 7"-long blade, 3 1/2"-long handle; 12 oz. Made in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
7 of 12(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
Review 1 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
memr
,nj
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Blade Chips
December 27, 2013
I used this knife only on vegetables and the blade chipped within 6 months. The knife does a great job chopping soft vegetables, but you can't use it on any hard vegetables. I am sure the chipped pieces wound up in our food.
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 2 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PapaChef
,Taylors
,SC
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
My favorite knife!
January 3, 2013
This knife is my personal favorite. I use it as a Chinese Chef's knife, since having seen it used that way by Chen Kenichi on Iron Chef Japan. I have owned mine for close to 10 years, and use it all the time. It is amazingly sharp, durable and holds its edge. It is incredibly versatile for a large knife, and cuts effortlessly. It is large and heavy enough to handle big tasks, yet sharp and manuverable enough for small garnishes. It will easily dice tomatoes w/o crushing them! For everyday use, I have this knife and a Shun Classic paring knife. That is all I need.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick7895
December 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great Vegatable Clever
December 13, 2012
Understand this is NOT a clever used to chop through bones. It's meant for vegetables. It slices through vegetables with accuracy and easily. I love using this knife when I have a lot of prep work. The large surface area means I can scoop up a lot of food and transport it.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 4 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shortagee
,Bermuda
,Na
November 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Not what I expected.
November 6, 2012
I own numerous classic shun knives. Most of which have been fantastic. I was however utterly disappointed with the cleaver as the durability just isn't there. The blade is far too brittle and chips easily.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 5 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
docdoc
October 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
This is Chinese chef's knife, not a cleaver
October 18, 2010
So many people are misinformed about the type of knife this is. It is NOT a cleaver so do not use it to chop joints or bones. It is designed to be used for slicing meat and vegetables. So stop abusing your chef's knife and then whining about chips.
This is from Shun's website.
"Contrary to some misconceptions, this is not a meat cleaver. The Shun Classic Vegetable Cleaver is a large squared knife with a very wide blade. "
modern= French or German Chef's knife
Santoku = Japanese Chef's knife
This type= Chinese Chef's knife
Anyway, I really enjoy using mine for cutting and transporting ingresients to bowls. The edge is very sharp and I have not needed to resharpen it yet. I will use my ceramic Shapton stones when it is time. This is knife is my favorite so far out of all my knives. Give it a try.
Review 6 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlueEnamel
New Hampshire
July 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
The Chinese Equivalent of a Chef's Knife
July 20, 2010
This cleaver is a Chinese cleaver and is designed to be used in the same manner as a traditional chef's knife.
It is NOT a traditional cleaver that is designed to cut through bone, or take heavy blows / chops. If you are looking for one of those, look at some of the other brands. This is not the tool for that type of job.
The steel and construction are wonderful. Very sharp and well balanced.
Review 7 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Daniel4v3
Schenectady, NY
June 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Quality very dull
June 7, 2010
I was so disappointed in this rather expensive knife. It was dull out of the box and not easily sharpened. the weight was good, but would not suggest you spend the money. Better values are out there.
Review 8 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Richi
February 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
2of 10found this review helpful.
Chipped blade first time used.
February 14, 2010
Blade chipped when I chopped through the leg joint of a chicken. Very dissapointing.
Spend your money on another type of knife.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Terrius
Los Angeles, CA
Posted April 18, 2013
Although this is called a "Cleaver," it is a Vegetable Cleaver as stated. It is to be used solely on making fast work of chopping down vegetables only. It is not made to use on meat, especially one with bones.
Confusing, I know but what can you do. I only know this because my mom had seperate cleavers, one for veggies and one for meat.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sun1
Houston, TX
December 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
3of 10found this review helpful.
This is a knife posing as a cleaver-don't cleave.
December 21, 2009
A cleaver is designed to chop, to be used with force against bone, cartlidge. You do not seek the joint, you chp where it is supposed to be. Since this is tempered like other Shuns, doing so ruins the edge. You can fix it, of course, with a stone, but it is not suited to cleaving in the first place. A good cleaver requires two or so touch ups a session with a steel. This would need to be re-edged via a stone and then steeled. There are a lot of good Chinese cleavers out there for next to nothing. Get one of those. (I have 12 Shun knives, so I know about chipping. If they come up on a bone it is my fault, so I sharpen.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Terrius
Los Angeles, CA
Posted April 18, 2013
Japanese Vegetable Cleaver, not a Chinese cleaver
I know that to some, Japanese and Chinese generally fall under the umbrella of "Asian" but this is a time when there is a significant difference.
Although this is called a "Cleaver," it is a Vegetable Cleaver as stated, not a Chinese Cleaver used to break down poultry or pork. This is to be used for vegetables only. It is not made to use on meat, especially one with bones.
Confusing, I know, but what can you do. I only know this because my Korean mother had seperate cleavers, a Japanese one for veggies and a Chinese one for meat.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CCYang
Toronto, Canada
May 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The best and last Cleaver I will every buy
May 25, 2009
This is the best knife I have ever purchased! The cleaver has the right weight for my small hands and the chopping/ dicing is so much easier compared to using other cheap knives I have.
I threw away all my old cleavers because all i need is this. Most of all when i hold this cleaver, I feel like a true chef, but this is just me :P
Review 11 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FirehouseFlavors
Kaneohe, Hawaii
January 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The all around Knife
January 15, 2009
This is the knife for all cutting, chopping, mincing, transfering all foods. Its Awesome! Well crafted blade made by the best blacksmiths from Seki Japan. Use with care...this is one BIG sharp knife
Review 12 for Shun Classic 7" Vegetable Cleaver
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NaptownFoodie
Annapolis, MD
November 5, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Single Purpose Cleaver
November 5, 2008
When I got this as a part of a set, I expected (without reading the description) for it to be the classic definition of a cleaver. I assumed it would do the heavy duty job of hacking through meat, chicken bones, etc... But what I got was essentially a light weight, ultra sharp, delicate edged, Chinese vegetable prep knife that would be absolutely ruined if it were used to chop through bones. It's a great knife, but if you're buying a Santoku or a Chef's knife, this one is really unecessary.