Shun Classic Utility Knife

From Japan's premier producer of cutlery, this versatile knife is useful for cutting tasks that call for precision. The supersharp blade combines the beauty of traditional Damascus steel with modern rust-resistance and durability. VG-MAX "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Designed to provide excellent control for precision tasks as well as all-around chopping and slicing. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. Available in right- and left-handed versions. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. 6"-long blade, 4 1/4"-long handle; 2.8 oz. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Utility Knife
Review 1 for Shun Classic Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tripleL
,Orlando
,FL
FL
September 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Game Changer
September 24, 2011
I have plodded along for years with supermarket knives and hand-me-down warped cutlery. I was always intimidated by the big chef's knives and the price of quality cutlery. I bought the Shun 6" knife, which felt just right in my smallish hands and suddenly prepping food got so much easier. Since then I have purchased a chef's knife, paring knife, bread knife and maple cutting board. Prep is not only easier but my dishes are so much more attractive. If you are like me and unsure if high end cutlery is worth it, this is a great knife to start with.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: you will want more knives!!
Review 2 for Shun Classic Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bordiss
Long Beach, CA
August 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Precision and Craftsmanship
August 9, 2011
My wife and I have been looking into getting 'grown up' knives for the kitchen. After several trips to cutlery stores, we settled on Shun. I LOVE the D shaped handle, and the blade is phenomenal. I would definitely recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Classic Utility Knife
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DPincus
Cambridge, MA
April 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
7of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mediocre knife
April 3, 2010
I received this knife as a wedding present in addition to other individually selected Shun classic knives. I truly love the Shun line - extremely sharp, comfortable to hold, and beautifully crafted. However, although the standard utility knife shares the aesthetics of its brethren, it fails with regards to the comparable "utility." It does not cut well, is clunky to use, and even from its first use seemed no better than a a cheap-o knife. I also have the ultimate utility knife (ovalish w/ serrated edges) which is a dream by comparison. I would not recommend this knife to others and if I could would return what I have.
Review 4 for Shun Classic Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mirette
Fairfax Station, VA
March 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Knife Ever
March 3, 2010
Worth every penny! Exceptional quality, from the handle to the blade, to the performance, & precision, I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to save time in the kitchen while still getting evenly chopped vegetables & finely chopped garnish.
Review 5 for Shun Classic Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
evilsunfire
August 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
sharpest knife in the house
August 10, 2009
The first things that shocked us about this knife were its sharpness and beautiful design. The second round of fun came when we began to cook with it. For the first time we were able to cut like a pro: paper thin slices of onion, deboning chicken, etc. It has been great so far, but I am concerned about how long this razor sharp edge could possibly last. It is very possible that there is a way to get an old knife sharpened. We'll see in a few years.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
nyunixguru
New York
Posted January 23, 2011
Sharpening
You can send the knife back to SHUN USA in Oregon they will sharpen it for free and pick up return postage
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Shun Classic Utility Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NaptownFoodie
Annapolis, MD
November 5, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Multi-purpose Knife
November 5, 2008
If you don't have an unlimited budget, this knife can easily serve as your paring knife and boning knife. As the title suggests, the utility knife can be used for a variety of purposes. And as always it's just like the rest of the Shun line; razor sharp, well balanced, and beautiful to look at with its damascus-like pattern in the steel. Good all around knife for those tasks that are too small or delicate for your Chef's/Santoku knife.