Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife

Equipped with an ultrasharp scalloped blade, this multitalented knife cuts effortlessly through crusty breads, meats, cheeses and vegetables - making it the ultimate sandwich slicer. It's crafted by Japan's leading blade manufacturer for a lifetime of service in the kitchen. VG-10 "super steel" blades are clad on each side with 69 microthin layers of stainless steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Sharp scalloped blade cuts cleanly and efficiently through a multitude of foods. Wide rounded tip is handy for spreading condiments. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
Review 1 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
miguele3
,San Leandro
,CA
November 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A favorite knife
November 16, 2013
Shun is a high quality knife company. The Utility knife is an affordable knife. You use it as they describe. I tend not to use if for slicing vegetables because I like chef knives for this purpose due to length and for using proper chopping technique. I do like it a lot for cutting through baguettes and general cutting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: cutting all the way through at times
Review 2 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TxGirl212
,Dallas
,Tx
September 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite knife
September 22, 2013
This is the best knife! Love it for bread, tomatoes, and cheese. Cuts like a pro.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 3 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aussielovesshun
,Brisbane, Australia
,QD
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great All Round Knife
February 28, 2013
Great all round knife for bread, tomatoes, veggies. Mostly use it for dinner to cut the French bread. Cuts beautifully, no tearing or ripping of the bread, even fresh loaves of bread. This is the second one to purchase as gift for my mother. Have purchased other Shun knives & am happy with all these knives.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cookingdo0f
,San Jose
,CA
San Jose, CA
December 15, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
if you are rough on your stuff reconsider...
December 15, 2012
I got this as a gift; it's a gorgeous knife for sophisticated cooking hands; I however, am not sophsticated=) I've had it less than a year and I dented the tips..doh. I learned the hard way that I should use it for things like fruits, veggies (not butternut squash like in the picture, I almost bent it) but it gets skins off pineapples, jicama, kohlrabi, squash well, and big fruits or veggies. Really great for making sandwiches, spreading condiments, and cutting crusts all in one shot (I love the Cutco spatula spreader more for this though). I like that it's also very, very sharp, but for rough/clumsy hands like mine, and novice cooks, reconsider something less dainty.
Pros: Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 5 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
faircook
,Ruidoso
,NM
Cloudcrodt, NM
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile Knife
June 26, 2012
This is a very versatile knife. Cuts Bread, Tomatos, Veggies and fruit with ease. I use this knife more than any other and at least once a day. This is my second I have purchased. One for our home and one for the RV.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 6 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
,TX
Texas
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very handy for sandwich making
April 22, 2012
I was given this knife as a gift and I simply love it. It is perfect for sandwich making and loaf slicing. As all good knives, it should be treated with care as the edges are delicate due to their sharpness.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 7 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Markthevol
,Winnetka
,IL
Winnetka, IL
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great gift
January 4, 2012
Purchased for my sister; who is a gourmet chef. She loves it. Versatile, wicked sharp, and balanced weight make this a must for yor kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape
Cons: Cost