Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife

Equipped with an ultrasharp scalloped blade, this multitalented knife cuts effortlessly through crusty breads, meats, cheeses and vegetables - making it the ultimate sandwich slicer. It's crafted by Japan's leading blade manufacturer for a lifetime of service in the kitchen. VG-10 "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Sharp scalloped blade cuts cleanly and efficiently through a multitude of foods. Wide rounded tip is handy for spreading condiments. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
63 of 68(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
Review 1 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
miguele3
,San Leandro
,CA
November 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A favorite knife
November 16, 2013
Shun is a high quality knife company. The Utility knife is an affordable knife. You use it as they describe. I tend not to use if for slicing vegetables because I like chef knives for this purpose due to length and for using proper chopping technique. I do like it a lot for cutting through baguettes and general cutting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: cutting all the way through at times
Review 2 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TxGirl212
,Dallas
,Tx
September 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite knife
September 22, 2013
This is the best knife! Love it for bread, tomatoes, and cheese. Cuts like a pro.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 3 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aussielovesshun
,Brisbane, Australia
,QD
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great All Round Knife
February 28, 2013
Great all round knife for bread, tomatoes, veggies. Mostly use it for dinner to cut the French bread. Cuts beautifully, no tearing or ripping of the bread, even fresh loaves of bread. This is the second one to purchase as gift for my mother. Have purchased other Shun knives & am happy with all these knives.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cookingdo0f
,San Jose
,CA
San Jose, CA
December 15, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
if you are rough on your stuff reconsider...
December 15, 2012
I got this as a gift; it's a gorgeous knife for sophisticated cooking hands; I however, am not sophsticated=) I've had it less than a year and I dented the tips..doh. I learned the hard way that I should use it for things like fruits, veggies (not butternut squash like in the picture, I almost bent it) but it gets skins off pineapples, jicama, kohlrabi, squash well, and big fruits or veggies. Really great for making sandwiches, spreading condiments, and cutting crusts all in one shot (I love the Cutco spatula spreader more for this though). I like that it's also very, very sharp, but for rough/clumsy hands like mine, and novice cooks, reconsider something less dainty.
Pros: Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 5 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
faircook
,Ruidoso
,NM
Cloudcrodt, NM
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile Knife
June 26, 2012
This is a very versatile knife. Cuts Bread, Tomatos, Veggies and fruit with ease. I use this knife more than any other and at least once a day. This is my second I have purchased. One for our home and one for the RV.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 6 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
,TX
Texas
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very handy for sandwich making
April 22, 2012
I was given this knife as a gift and I simply love it. It is perfect for sandwich making and loaf slicing. As all good knives, it should be treated with care as the edges are delicate due to their sharpness.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 7 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Markthevol
,Winnetka
,IL
Winnetka, IL
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great gift
January 4, 2012
Purchased for my sister; who is a gourmet chef. She loves it. Versatile, wicked sharp, and balanced weight make this a must for yor kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape
Cons: Cost
Review 8 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EliseH
November 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My expensive knife chipped...
November 19, 2011
And they can't fix it. We use this knife exactly as recommended. I have worked retail and know to foliow directions. The knife chipped and the people at Shun didn't fix it. Disappointed we spent $100 on a brittle, fragile knife that can't be repaired. Won't buy Shun again.
Cons: High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 9 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WestTXgirl
Odessa, TX
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knife
August 4, 2011
I bought my son this knife first because he mentioned he wanted it. He loved it! So I decided to give it a try & bought one for myself. I love the way you can slice tomatoes paper thin. I have arthritus in my hands & I feel I can control the knife better. I like that it has no point! I use it all the time to make salads & sandwiches! Great knife! Great for small hands also.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 10 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Author
Dallas, TX
June 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Attractive but flimsy
June 25, 2011
I have several Kaji knives and two Bob Kramer knives. I purchased this knife but gave it to a friend with implicit instructions to use it on vegetables, fruits and softer breads.
It cuts very well but the blade lacks heft and should not be used on thick, hard breads as the blade, while very sharp, is difficult to keep on course like other Shun and Kramer knives with heavier and thicker blades.
This is perfect for tomatoes and soft breads and any food in which considerable pressure isn't required. Pushing down on the blade when cutting may cause it to veer off course.
Pros: Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Shape
Cons: Weight, Fragile, blade toughness
Review 11 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
casey1
Austin, TX
June 19, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a great knife for small hands
June 19, 2011
Bought these for my professional kitchen and love the quality. The only problem is that they are being used only as a type of paring knife by my staff because the blade is too small to chop comfortably without hitting hands on the chopping board.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Sharpness
Cons: Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LuvGOP
Lubbock, TX
Posted April 21, 2012
Have you considered purchasing the chef's knives for your kitchen staff? A wider bolster is much better suited to chopping than a utility knife.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
folkiefoodie
Chicago, IL
June 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Near-perfect sandwich knife!
June 5, 2011
I return to this knife daily: for almost all sandwich-making tasks that don't require a pointed tip, this puppy does it all: slices the breads and veggies; digs the condiments from most jars and spreads them; then cuts your finished sandwich or panino neatly in half--with only ONE knife to wash, dry and hone. Making a BLT, bagel & lox or panino used to involve my bread knife, tomato knife, and a spreader. No longer: this lazy foodie has fallen in love with this factotum of a knife. But it can't core, pare or trim--so I wish I'd waited for the dual-density model, whose pointed tip can handle those more delicate tasks. (A pointy knife can spread condiments as easily). But for all your cutting tasks except carving, chopping & boning this plus a pointed paring knife is all you need! (Fits in most knife block slots too)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Store, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: no need for rounded tip, would be more functional if pointed
Review 13 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite Shun knife!
March 1, 2011
I have a collection of Shun Classic knives and this one happens to be my favorite. It is amazing!
Review 14 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CosmicIrony
Northborough, MA
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ultimate is right!
March 1, 2011
This utility knife is almost frighteningly sharp and effective! The curvature of the blade, coupled with the serrations, cuts effortlessly and cleanly through even the most tender of heirloom variety tomatoes or the toughest of root vegetables. It is a great complement to our Shun paring knife and santoku.
Review 15 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FreerDC
Washington DC
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic knives
February 3, 2011
I finally convinced my husband to let go of his 17 year old set of dull knives and try something new. I got him the basic Shun Classic set for Christmas and since then we've added several more pieces, including this utility knife. Turns out this knife is my favorite. Having a reputation for cutting myself easily -- and with these knives super sharp -- I find this utility knife very easy to handle and useful for all purposes. Love it!
Review 16 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitchensrus
Long Beach, Ca
January 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great all purpose knife
January 30, 2011
This is a wonderful knife that cuts everything beautifully. It doesn't seem like it would be sharp or functional because, not only is it serrated, the blade isn't even pointy. But even so it works! Chops onions, bread and tomatoes like a dream. An excellent meat slicer. The only limitation I have found is that without a pointy tip it is difficult to take the legs off of a whole roast chicken.
Review 17 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adelaide
RI
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
dream knife
January 28, 2011
I have never used a knife that cuts so smoothly and effortlessly.
Review 18 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FolksingerSandy
Chicago
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Weird looks, wonderful worker
January 25, 2011
Owned this knife for 5 mos. now. Strange-looking but very versatile--the only knife I need for slicing and spreading panini, bagel and baguette sandwiches, and for slicing & serving cake & pie. The only thing it can't do when on sandwich duty is core a tomato--but just use a good paring knife for that. To those who complain about not being able to put it in the dishwasher or soak it in the sink, NEVER SOAK *ANY* FINE KNIFE OR PUT IT IN A DISHWASHER! Never, never, NEVER! Any knife that would survive such abuse is a dull piece of junk that would never "cut it" (pun intended) in my kitchen. It WILL fit in a wide knife-block slot or a plastic chef's knife blade sheath or cover .
Scary sharp and easy to keep that way... a sharp knife is not just a safe knife but a joy to use. If I didn't already love my current 8' chef's, boning and roast slicer knives, I'd gladly replace them with Shuns too. (No, I am not affiliated with or invested in Shun in any way; I just love great tools!)
Review 19 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ZIAS
BLOOMSBURG, PA
January 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT KNIFE OH SO SHARP
January 16, 2011
THIS IS THE BEST KNIFE I HAVE EVER PURCHASED. SLICES CLEAN BEWARE-THIS KNIFE IS VERY SHARP SO HANDLE WITH CARE. ALSO, NEVER PUT THIS FINE KNIVE IN A DISHWASHER.
Review 20 for Shun Classic Ultimate Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Calm1954
Oregon
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A very good knife
January 7, 2011
I gave this knife as a gift but I have been able to use it. It lives up to the other good comments. It is very sharp and well balanced. I think I might get myself one!
page1 2 3 4 next