Shun Classic Serrated Utility Knife

Produced by Japan's leading blade manufacturer, this serrated knife cuts cleanly through tomatoes and other delicate fruits and vegetables without tearing them. The knife is also excellent for bagels, sandwiches and small slicing jobs. VG-10 "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Slim, serrated blade cuts cleanly and efficiently without tearing or squashing delicate foods like tomatoes and baked goods. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Serrated Utility Knife
Review 1 for Shun Classic Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awright
,Virginia Beach
,VA
November 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Deserted Island Knife
November 10, 2013
This is the knife I'd pick if I were shipwrecked. It's my go-to knife and a real work horse.Stays sharp for a long time before you have to send it back to Shun for sharpening.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Classic Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kimball
,Blaine
,MN
Blaine, MN
August 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Indispensable Knife
August 3, 2012
I was very reluctant to spend over $100 on a single knife. After buying this knife and using it many times already, my only regret is that I didn't buy it years ago! This tool is definitely worth the expense. It slices through red peppers like butter. if you chop a lot of vegetables, this knife is indispensable! The 6" blade works for me as I don't like working with huge, scary knives. You won't regret this purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Classic Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BHS516
Bethesda, MD
February 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Effortless
February 9, 2011
A real sharp addition to any collection... lives up to the Shun reputation!
Review 4 for Shun Classic Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WorkingWoman
Woodbridge, VA
September 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptional Product
September 9, 2010
Shun cutlery is wonderful. I've been using their knives for years and this was just one more piece I've added to my cutlery. it is worth every cent. Shun is the one thing everyone should have in the kitchen
Review 5 for Shun Classic Serrated Utility Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bloomie50
Washington, DC
August 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Tomato Knife
August 9, 2010
Like other Shun Classic knives, this one is lightweight, comfortable to hold, and super sharp. The blade is a bit smaller than your typical 6" utility knife (Shun seems to have a habit of calling their unique knives in the 5" to 8" range "utility" knives for want of a better term) but it's a terrific tomato knife and for other soft foods requiring slicing with a serrated blade this would be an excellent choice.
Review 6 for Shun Classic Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mirette
Fairfax Station, VA
March 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptional Quality
March 3, 2010
This is the most amazing knife I've ever used. It is worth every penny. It goes through meat as if it were butter and still slices a ripe tomatoe in less than a second. I like chopping vegetables finely & this knife allows me to do so before I could blink & with such precision & everything comes our evenly & the same size. If there is only one knife you need in the kitchen, this would be it.
Review 7 for Shun Classic Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChuckGGa
Atlanta, Ga
December 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible knives
December 13, 2009
I have used multiple brands of knives over the years, and recently discovered the Shun brand. I have multiple knives in the series, and this is one of the most commonly used in my collection. Fruits, vegetables, etc... very good all purpose / multi-use knife. I would highly recommend this knife to anyone looking to add another to their collection.
Review 8 for Shun Classic Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jimnkara
South Dakota
October 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome knives!
October 9, 2009
Beautiful and well balanced... hold their edge very well.
Review 9 for Shun Classic Serrated Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheBob
Minneapolis, MN
January 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply the BEST
January 13, 2009
I got this as a gift and have had friends use it in my kitchen and they are blown away by how it slices through fruit, bread, veggies, etc. It's so much MORE than a one job knife. I look for muliple uses and so far, this is my favorite knife: tomatoes; citris, pineapple, buns, baguettes, onions, etc. There is no effort and it stays sharp a very long time. I've even used it to slice partialy frozen meat for stir fry. I just love it!