Shun Classic Paring Knives

Produced by Japan's leading blade manufacturer, this paring knife is indispensable for trimming and peeling fruits and vegetables. The ergonomic handle is comfortable and moisture-resistant. VG-MAX "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Small pointed blade offers exceptional precision for delicate tasks like peeling fruits and vegetables, mincing herbs and carving garnishes. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. Available in right- and left-handed versions. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. 3 1/2"-long blade, 4"-long handle; 2.3 oz. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Paring Knives
Review 1 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shasha317
,Washington
,Il
Washington IL
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knife!
July 17, 2013
After my husband accidentally threw my old 4" paring knife away, I searched for a replacement and found this one. It's very sharp so be careful when peeling that potato!! I even told my husband NOT to use it and showed where I was placing it in the knife drawer-so far so good!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
norcal680
,SF
,CA
February 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great little knife
February 8, 2012
I have owned my Shun classic knives for 1-3yrs. My other knives are Henckels & Wustoff's. They all have their uses but I tend to grab one of the Shuns first.
There is nothing like a quality knife. I use the 4" paring knife nearly every day. I have abused it & lightly nicked the blade in a few places but luckily that was able to be repaired when I had it sharpened. It holds an edge very well. I'm apparently a rather clumsy 'chef' and cut myself at times without even feeling it - the blade is *that* sharp. I too have a magnetic strip for my knives as the Shuns are just too pretty to hide away in a block. Their knives just fit amazingly well to my hand.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Shape, pretty :)
Review 3 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OneShot
,Clear Lake City (Houston)
,TX
February 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exchanged for the "Shun - Ken Onion Paring
February 2, 2012
I had also purchased my first "Shun - Ken Onion" and fell in love with the grip, size, angle, etc... of the handle and returned this "Shun - Classic" to exchange it for several more "Shun - Ken Onion" knives, etc... They are incredible for those of us that have "Arthritis", the "Ken Onion" series requires little hand strength to hold and use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, arthritis friendly
Review 4 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smithmw
January 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
another wonderful shun knife
January 11, 2012
if you have a home chef, give 'em one of these... they will thank you!