Shun Classic Paring Knives

Produced by Japan's leading blade manufacturer, this paring knife is indispensable for trimming and peeling fruits and vegetables. The ergonomic handle is comfortable and moisture-resistant. VG-MAX "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Small pointed blade offers exceptional precision for delicate tasks like peeling fruits and vegetables, mincing herbs and carving garnishes. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. Available in right- and left-handed versions. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. 3 1/2"-long blade, 4"-long handle; 2.3 oz. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Paring Knives
Review 1 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shasha317
,Washington
,Il
Washington IL
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knife!
July 17, 2013
After my husband accidentally threw my old 4" paring knife away, I searched for a replacement and found this one. It's very sharp so be careful when peeling that potato!! I even told my husband NOT to use it and showed where I was placing it in the knife drawer-so far so good!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
norcal680
,SF
,CA
February 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great little knife
February 8, 2012
I have owned my Shun classic knives for 1-3yrs. My other knives are Henckels & Wustoff's. They all have their uses but I tend to grab one of the Shuns first.
There is nothing like a quality knife. I use the 4" paring knife nearly every day. I have abused it & lightly nicked the blade in a few places but luckily that was able to be repaired when I had it sharpened. It holds an edge very well. I'm apparently a rather clumsy 'chef' and cut myself at times without even feeling it - the blade is *that* sharp. I too have a magnetic strip for my knives as the Shuns are just too pretty to hide away in a block. Their knives just fit amazingly well to my hand.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Shape, pretty :)
Review 3 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OneShot
,Clear Lake City (Houston)
,TX
February 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exchanged for the "Shun - Ken Onion Paring
February 2, 2012
I had also purchased my first "Shun - Ken Onion" and fell in love with the grip, size, angle, etc... of the handle and returned this "Shun - Classic" to exchange it for several more "Shun - Ken Onion" knives, etc... They are incredible for those of us that have "Arthritis", the "Ken Onion" series requires little hand strength to hold and use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, arthritis friendly
Review 4 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smithmw
January 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
another wonderful shun knife
January 11, 2012
if you have a home chef, give 'em one of these... they will thank you!
Review 5 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
karenury
East Jordan, Michigan
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
another exceptional knife
December 31, 2010
I had a very expensive, extensive knife collection and had great pride in it. I purchased a Shun knife for my husband a couple of years ago and have been hooked ever since. I now have 9 in my collection and have given my other set to well deserving family members. I will be a Shun knife lover forever, they are razor sharp, beautiful quality and are conversation pieces when displayed on a magnetic knife bar. I can't get enough of them!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
NatsMom00
Modesto, CA
Posted November 8, 2013
I'm jealous!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CosmicIrony
Northborough, MA
September 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Ultimate Paring Knife
September 8, 2010
My wife and I have had several top-quality paring knives over the years, but this one tops them all. The blade is slightly longer than our previous favorite, which makes it a more maneuverable utility knife for those "in-between" tasks where our go-to utility knife is just a little too long (you may have guessed we like to have the right knife for every job).
The shape of the handle on the Shun is very comfortable and gives excellent control. I find the handle material grips well, even when wet. The blade is extremely sharp and I suspect will take an excellent edge on resharpening as well. Finally, the layered steel is a delight to the eye - this is a very pretty knife as well as being supremely practical.
Review 7 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SPCinABQ
Albuquerque, NM
September 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
September 8, 2010
This knife does so many things, you hardly need any other ones. I do have a half dozen Shun knives, and this one is a great paring knife. It feels good in my hand.
Review 8 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angelapc
Aventura, Fl
June 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Knives
June 28, 2010
I just bought 3 additional Shun Classic knives. They are my favs.
Review 9 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bose
Mundelein, Il
February 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best knife I ever bought
February 17, 2010
This is the best knife I ever bought---
I have several Shun knifes & they are Super . They are very sharp & keep their edge much longer then any brand .I still get excited when I get a new one to add to my collection .
Review 10 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Neenah, Wisconsin
October 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
smaller tasks
October 30, 2009
I have a collection of approximately 40 knives....mostly Henkel Pro-S and Wustof Classic, and, several smaller Shun utility and paring knives. The Shun knives are sharp and easy to use but I don't get the feeling that the Shun knives will be as durable as the Henkel and Wustof knives will be.
Review 11 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
davisdvm
Davis, CA
August 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-11points
5of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
returned within a week
August 26, 2009
Looks beautiful, and it performed beautifully for 4-5 days of very light use. it rapidly became dull, however, and i returned it. my henckels stay sharp for weeks and this one does not compare. it's pretty but just doesn't perform.
Review 12 for Shun Classic Paring Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
colmark
Norman, OK
October 8, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite paring k
October 8, 2008
This is my favorite jobs such as peeling. It is the sharpest knife I have ever used.