Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2

Shun's multitasking prep set is an incredible value. The straight-bladed vegetable knife is great for precise trimming or quick mincing. The mini utility knife has an ultra-sharp scalloped blade that glides through everything from crusty bread to ripe tomatoes. Its rounded tip is just right for spreading condiments. VG-MAX "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Sharp scalloped and straight blades cut cleanly and efficiently through a multitude of foods. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
Review 1 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
forensa
,Key West
,Fl
October 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect addition, a pleasure to use
October 5, 2013
I love Shun knives and am slowly building a good collection. These do everything they are supposed to do and more. Paring, slicing small vegetables & fruit are a pleasure. The price is right for knives I probably use more than any other. Very happy with purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, good looking
Review 2 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jllaroche
June 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun pairing knives
June 24, 2013
I've always had great knives in the kitchen. The Shun pairing knives are unbelievable. The most perfect pairings knives ever!
Review 3 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxdking
,Midland
,TX
May 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knives
May 28, 2013
These are the best knives I have ever owned. They are wonderful to use and stay so very sharp.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lizabet
,Oregon City
,Or
May 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great knives
May 28, 2013
These knives were a gift. The recipient
is delighted..
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 5 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KateZ
,NY
,NY
October 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun Classic Paring Knives
October 23, 2012
Exactly what expected from Shun Knives. Great quality, very comfortable to prep food with. Glad I got them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Sharpness, Shape
Cons: High-Maintenance, make sure the wooden handles are always dried
Review 6 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wdirishrs
,Doylestown
,Pa
October 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Favorite Paring Knives
October 13, 2012
Love these super sharp knives. And I can sharpen them on my whetstone sharpener. Bought as presents for Christmas for relatives!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Review 7 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
scottinoregon
,Salem
,Or
September 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cheap Handle on what used to be a great knife
September 21, 2012
I have many shun classic knives and this set just doesn't match up to their previous quality. I understand the price was good on special but the original price reflects about the same I paid for two pairing knives in the past. These new knives do not include the earlier lifetime sharpening warranty and they don't have the metal end cap on the handle as all my others do. The handle just ends in bare wood and metal that is somewhat sharp and totally unfinished. I actually thought they were defective when I first opened the box. Way to go cheap, cut corners and make an inferior handle.
Pros: Size, Sharpness
Cons: Quality
Review 8 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cavemandog
,montgomery
August 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pair of Shuns, great value
August 9, 2012
These are my 3rd and 4th Shun knives with the paring set. I realized that as good as my other two bigger shuns are, the most used knives in the kitchen are the paring knives. These are on the same classic standard with the excellent VG10 steel. I feel well armed for the cutting board now.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 9 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAEve
,Anaheim Hills
,Ca
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic addition
August 1, 2012
Can't get better paring knives. These add to our growing Shun knife set.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Weight
Review 10 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aknancy
,anchorage
,ak
July 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love shun knives
July 10, 2012
this is my 4th Shun purchase and I could not be happier.
Slicing onions .. the knife went through like butter.
Great deal with the sale price and two knives!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 11 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michele
,Jackson
,CA
Jackson, CA
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My "MY TO GO TO" knives!
June 26, 2012
I loveeeeeee these knives. The feel of both of them is superb. They are considered paring knives true...but they are so useful for so many things. Quick and easy to grab. They are just fantastic. I am sooo glad I purchased them. I love Shun knives,
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 12 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
vxclimber
,AR
April 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
2of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Did not meet expectation
April 23, 2012
I am sorry to say that these knives did not live up to my expectation. These where my first Shun knives and I had high hopes for them based on the reviews. They are sharp, but I can sharpen my much lower priced knives just as sharp. For the price I expected more. I plan to return them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Weight
Cons: Sharpness
Review 13 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RobertMvD
,Williamsburg
,IA
Williamsburg, IA
April 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than expected!
April 4, 2012
I had refrained from purchasing these for quite a while due to the lack of the end cap that all other Shun Classic knives have. I don't know how much money it saves in the manufacturing process, but the lack of an end cap actually helps identify these knives in the knife block. Both knives are well balanced and very sharp and have added additional capabilities to my collection of excellent paring knives.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 14 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rigged
,Springfield
,IL
March 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Shun
March 31, 2012
Great knives! Excellent set for all those little jobs in the kitchen.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 15 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HenryD
,Richmond
,TX
March 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun Makes Fabulous Knives!
March 30, 2012
I bought this set of paring knives after purchasing a Shun 6" serrated utility knife. Since then, I have also purchased a Shun 6 1/2" Nakiri knife. In the past I have used Chicago Cutlery and Calphalon. I preferred the Calphalon knives until I bought these Shuns. They are my go to knives every time!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 16 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plarson57
,Deatsville
,AL
March 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our Favorite Paring Knives
March 28, 2012
We bought these a few weeks ago and just love them. They are both well-balanced, fit our hands well and are very sharp…just as they should be. You won't be disappointed
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Review 17 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mkln333
,Gastonia
,NC
March 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They have become my favorite knives!
March 28, 2012
Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2.
I was very impressed with the WS video
of the product. I was very excited when
the set was offered at a special price. I
will keep my eye on future sales for the Shun products, as I will most definitely order more for myself and gift giving!
Thank you Williams-Sonoma!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 18 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jacksoni
,Northfield
,mn
Northfield, MN
March 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding
March 28, 2012
These knives are simply outstanding. Not only do they feel like they belong in your hand, they simply glide through the material being cut or trimmed. Cutting through carrots, for example, feels like you are cutting through jello.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 19 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KackyK
,League City
,TX
March 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this knife
March 27, 2012
Shun is our new favorite knife brand. We still love our Wustoffs, but I really enjoy the Japanese style knives. They are really sharp and handle well. I bought these on special as I do all my knives, and this was an excellent value.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Review 20 for Shun Classic Paring Knives, Set of 2
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HavingFun
,Reno
,NV
March 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best purchase
March 26, 2012
Best knives I have ever bought they are balanced and easy to grip. Sharp and easy to use whether cutting vegtables or herbs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Strength, Sharpness, Shape