Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Shun Classic Kitchen Shears

These Japanese-made shears are among the most useful tools for the kitchen. Offering one serrated and one straight blade, they're ideal for a multitude of tasks - from trimming meats and slicing dried fruit to shaping parchment for baking pans. Stainless-steel blades: one straight and one serrated. Design features a built-in jar opener, nutcracker and bottle opener. Composite handles are ridged for a secure grip. Halves separate for easy cleaning. Crafted by Kershaw, a Japanese company that has produced fine cutlery for more than 90 years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
Review 1 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
September 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the price
September 4, 2015
I received these shears for Christmas 2014, and was very excited to use them, as they were replacing a pair of years-old Wusthof shears, just about worn out. My original impression was not-so-great, but decided to give them time. I use them every week, sometimes more than once, and have been disappointed at the decline in quality, I only use them for poultry, and occasionally other meats. Never for anything but cooking. Now, the shears tear the skin rather than cutting through, and they barely have enough zip to cut off wing tips. I thought maybe I was losing my grip, so dug out the old pair, and no, grip is just fine. I love the feel of the shears, and love the way they come apart for cleaning, and not unexpectedly. I just wish they would cut better. I can buy a new pair of Wusthof every few years for what I paid for these. Maybe I got a bad pair...
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Weight, Balance
Cons: Dull, Quality, Sharpness
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
HappyBaker8
Ann Arbor, MI
Posted February 15, 2016
Thank You!
I was about to order these, until I read your experience with them. Thank You for your honesty!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Port Townsend
,WA
Mexico/Washington
April 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Top Deawer Shears
April 17, 2015
Excellent pair of shears, a multi task item,
a great product, highly satisfied.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Northern California
,CA
San Francisco, CA
September 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great tool
September 13, 2014
I bought it for cutting up chickens. It is well made and firm to cut up the backs. The curvy edge helps cut up bones and hard parts. It saves me lot of bandages and pain.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Strength, Sharpness
Review 4 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great scissors
July 28, 2013
This is the backup pair to my shun edo that came with my knife set. I use these almost daily and they still look new after a year.
Review 5 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Westminster
,MD
April 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Product
April 19, 2013
These shears are sharp and comfortable to hold, even for my husband who has large hands. Great for trimming up that chicken and getting it ready for the grill!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 6 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Carrollton
,GA
March 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect performance
March 19, 2013
The food shears are light weight for trimming chives and scallions yet sturdy enough to debone chicken and create meat strips for stir fry.
Blades separate for cleaning.
A bonus: comes with plastic holder that can be screwed to wall cabinet or magnetic connect to appliances.
A must to have for my retirement cottage. (have had a pair for a dozen years)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, a must-have
Review 7 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,SAN FRANCISCO
,Ca
February 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
6of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT A GENUINE SHUN PRODUCT
February 4, 2013
These shears appear to be the Kershaw 1120M TaskMaster Kitchen Shears with Magnetic Plastic Sheath. They are fine shears but are not labeled Shun, but are Kershaw brand which I believe are made by Shun.
Reviews of the Kershaw Shears can be found at the website of the largest online retailer. Several reviews by customers report disappointment when it is discovered that the shears are not Shun shears.
The Williams-Sonoma price is the same price as that large retailer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size
Cons: brand
Review 8 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Boxford
,Ma
Boxford, Ma
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Shears so far
January 29, 2013
Only had these shears a few weeks but so far so good and the price was right. They are replacing a pair of expensive Henckle stainless shears that I was very disappointed with...the bolt holding the two blades together sheared and cannot be repaired. I was not abusing them just cutting a chicken.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 9 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Austin
,TX
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most Used Kitchen Tool
January 2, 2013
I love these shears! They come apart and can be thoroughly cleaned. I use them to cut fat from bacon and chicken and to open all sorts of food packages. LOVE THEM!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 10 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Murrells Onlet
,SC
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great scissors
November 26, 2012
I finally have a Good pair of kitchen scissors! I love the feature that they come apart for cleaning! Should have done this a long time ago!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Strength
Review 11 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Baltimore
,MD
October 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A light and smooth operator!
October 10, 2012
I used to have a pair of Wusthof shears that was part of the Blackwood Icon set. They were however very disappointing -- heavy, they always fell apart, and not particularly sharp. These ones are night and day different -- light, never fall apart when in use, and cuts like a dream -- smooth and never hesitate. They are also very easy and comfortable to hold (the Wusthof pair was quite a story). The hinges do not come off like the other pair did. All in all, these are great and it is definitely a great purchase. Very happpy with them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight