Shun Classic Kitchen Shears

These Japanese-made shears are among the most useful tools for the kitchen. Offering one serrated and one straight blade, they're ideal for a multitude of tasks - from trimming meats and slicing dried fruit to shaping parchment for baking pans.Stainless-steel blades: one straight and one serrated.Design features a built-in jar opener, nutcracker and bottle opener.Composite handles are ridged for a secure grip.Halves separate for easy cleaning.Storage pouch included.Crafted by Kershaw, a Japanese company that has produced fine cutlery for more than 90 years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
Review 1 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great scissors
July 28, 2013
This is the backup pair to my shun edo that came with my knife set. I use these almost daily and they still look new after a year.
Review 2 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bettyg444
,Westminster
,MD
April 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Product
April 19, 2013
These shears are sharp and comfortable to hold, even for my husband who has large hands. Great for trimming up that chicken and getting it ready for the grill!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cottageliving
,Carrollton
,GA
March 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect performance
March 19, 2013
The food shears are light weight for trimming chives and scallions yet sturdy enough to debone chicken and create meat strips for stir fry.
Blades separate for cleaning.
A bonus: comes with plastic holder that can be screwed to wall cabinet or magnetic connect to appliances.
A must to have for my retirement cottage. (have had a pair for a dozen years)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, a must-have
Review 4 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chanfrancisco
,SAN FRANCISCO
,Ca
February 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT A GENUINE SHUN PRODUCT
February 4, 2013
These shears appear to be the Kershaw 1120M TaskMaster Kitchen Shears with Magnetic Plastic Sheath. They are fine shears but are not labeled Shun, but are Kershaw brand which I believe are made by Shun.
Reviews of the Kershaw Shears can be found at the website of the largest online retailer. Several reviews by customers report disappointment when it is discovered that the shears are not Shun shears.
The Williams-Sonoma price is the same price as that large retailer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size
Cons: brand
Review 5 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cook99
,Boxford
,Ma
Boxford, Ma
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Shears so far
January 29, 2013
Only had these shears a few weeks but so far so good and the price was right. They are replacing a pair of expensive Henckle stainless shears that I was very disappointed with...the bolt holding the two blades together sheared and cannot be repaired. I was not abusing them just cutting a chicken.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 6 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shampbell
,Austin
,TX
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most Used Kitchen Tool
January 2, 2013
I love these shears! They come apart and can be thoroughly cleaned. I use them to cut fat from bacon and chicken and to open all sorts of food packages. LOVE THEM!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 7 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Edien
,Murrells Onlet
,SC
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great scissors
November 26, 2012
I finally have a Good pair of kitchen scissors! I love the feature that they come apart for cleaning! Should have done this a long time ago!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Strength
Review 8 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
InSedona
,Baltimore
,MD
October 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A light and smooth operator!
October 10, 2012
I used to have a pair of Wusthof shears that was part of the Blackwood Icon set. They were however very disappointing -- heavy, they always fell apart, and not particularly sharp. These ones are night and day different -- light, never fall apart when in use, and cuts like a dream -- smooth and never hesitate. They are also very easy and comfortable to hold (the Wusthof pair was quite a story). The hinges do not come off like the other pair did. All in all, these are great and it is definitely a great purchase. Very happpy with them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 9 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ajcohen
New York, New York
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
does the job
December 30, 2010
great, sharp, easy to handle, comes with a wonderful mounting magnet
Review 10 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TraciL
Livonia, MI
July 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Shears
July 2, 2010
I almost didn't get these because I didn't think I needed to spend that much for a pair of scissors. My boyfriend ended up talking me into it and I'm glad he did. These are excellent shears. They cut through everything (chicken bones, etc) very easily. I've NEVER had a problem with them coming apart and I've had them for 2 years now. My mom was also really impressed by them so I bought her a pair for Chrismas. My sister is about to get a pair for her birthday. I would absolutely recommend these shears to anyone who was looking for some!
Review 11 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zinkrm
Chicago, IL
May 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Shears
May 25, 2010
I have had no problems at all with the shears coming apart during use. While in use, they are a great pair of shears, sturdy and sharp. After use, they do come apart making cleaning easy. I would recommend these to anyone.
Review 12 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mar1214
new york
April 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-12points
0of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Threw mine away
April 8, 2010
They constantly came apart, and one day there was just no putting them back together again. I ended up throwing them away out of frustration.
Review 13 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheBigTexas
Baltimore, MD
January 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Response to the Two-Star review
January 15, 2010
I hope you don't think you were supposed to get a free gift by just purchasing these sheers. If you read the free gift area, you need to order $600 worth of Shun cutlery.
Also, I have these sheers with the Ken Onion 11 piece. They are wonderful. I completely agree with the other 5 star reviews of these, and I am actually purchasing these sheers again to give as a gift to my mother. She just loves them as well.
Review 14 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandmaJane
Small town Oklahoma
December 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sturdy handles
December 24, 2009
The metal in the blades of these scissors extends to the bottom of the handles, making this a very sturdy tool. (I once had the handles of a pair of scissors fall off when I was using them, so this is important to me.)
Also the scissor blades detach from each other for complete cleaning, and the scissors don't have the bothersome spiral pressure thing between the handles.
Review 15 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomW
Yorba Linda, CA
November 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Handy
November 16, 2009
Never having had a good pair of shears in the kitchen, it is a pleasure to have these. really like the easy way the come apart for future sharpening and cleaning. Hopefully the small metal ends will save some of my other kitchen tools when way ware family need to open jars. ( Hate finding bent or broken tips on my knifes.)
Review 16 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Washington, DC
November 19, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
-27points
1of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The free gift offer was a sham
November 19, 2008
I never got my free gift!! Moreover, the shears come apart too easily.
Review 17 for Shun Classic Kitchen Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
megan51
Rhode Island
November 6, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gift Idea
November 6, 2008
We received these as a wedding gift a year ago, and I love them. I've since given them to my sister, and all of us are impressed by their sharpness and how easy they are to clean. Butterflying a chicken has never been so easy.