Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Slicer

Designed to create thin, uniform slices of everything from roast meats to smoked salmon, this precision knife is equally proficient at cutting fruits and vegetables. Hollow ovals ground into the blade reduce friction and prevent bits of food from sticking to the knife. VG-MAX "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Indentations along the blade reduce friction and keep slices from sticking. Exceedingly sharp cutting edge is long lasting and easy to maintain. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. Available in right- and left-handed versions. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. 9"-long blade, 5"-long handle; 6.8 oz. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Slicer
Review 1 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OneShot
,Clear Lake City (Houston)
,TX
February 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the Best Knives on Earth.
February 2, 2012
I had also purchased my first "Shun - Ken Onion" and fell in love with the grip, size, angle, etc... of the handle and returned this "Shun - Classic" to exchange it for several more "Shun - Ken Onion" knives, etc... They are incredible for those of us that have "Arthritis", the "Ken Onion" series requires little hand strength to hold and use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, arthritis friendly
Review 2 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAB0317
Ellicott City, Maryland
November 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Slicer on the Market
November 12, 2010
I was originally given a Shun knife as a gift and from that moment on I was hooked. They are by far the best knifes I have ever used and I am constantly in the kitchen cutting and chopping. They are pricey but well worth the price. It has taken me two years to get all the knives from the set but I don't regret one dollar spent. They stay sharp and are easy to use. You will not be disappointed.
Review 3 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SpringFever
Penn Valley, CA
May 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Slice of Your Life
May 22, 2009
We have lots of cutlery of German and French origin. All require frequent attention and it is difficult to maintain superior edges on most of them. When Williams-Sonoma offered the Shun Classic for an exceptional price there was no hesitation in ordering along with a companion Shun 9" slicer. What outstanding pieces they both are! No buyers remorse here; they both are so superior to any other cutlery that you quickly realize the price/value. My wife sliced ripe tomato's with the Santoku like a hot knife through butter. I sliced servings of flank steak with the slicer with similar results. Pricey? Yes. Worth it? Absolutely! This 9" slicer will be the best slicer you have ever owned.
Review 4 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jsnoek
Toronto, Canada
March 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Fish
March 23, 2009
I use this knife mainly for filleting fish and have found that this knife does the job excellently. It is very well balanced and pretty light considering its length. Weighs just about the same I would say as my Shun classic 6 inch chef's knife. It handles very easily and seems to hold its edge for a pretty long time. The blade is pretty rigid and not very flexible, so for certain fish you might want a flexible slicer. This knife is great for most fish, and for slicing other proteins as well. I've used it from large fish like salmon and trout to small dover sole and have been very pleased. It produces nice clean fillets with not too much effort. Considering the price, if you are not going to do a lot of filleting of fish, you might want to skip this knife and find something more versatile. I can recommend any Shun knife as all the ones I own stand up very well in my kitchen at home as well as my kitchen at culinary school. They are great knives.